01/28 Chronos PMPS 160

Still following SLGS, won’t do a reduction if back to back ones aren’t ideal. He got food at +4. I intended to check him at +5 but fell asleep. Will be doing his AMPS shortly and will start a new condo with that.
Rather than mix and match dosing methods, you might want to look at a reduction point of 70 with SLGS. Once you get comfortable, you can switch to TR

Great to see green again. :-)
 
Oh I didn't think we were mixing them? Only increased 7 days after not ideal nadirs, we did try the one reduction on the 8th since we went up the day before and he went below 90 during the AM cycle, someone else said he earned the reduction. But 7 days back on the 1.5 at that time didn't help, so then back to 1.75 then 2, and the recent reduction. I did panic reduce him on the 24th since he had greens the night before below 90 and then the blue AMPS which he never had before. But went back to 2 the PM cycle.

But yes I have been taking your advice and thinking of a lower reduction point, I keep going between 70 or 75, but either way he has only had the one time below that which was recently and why we are at 1.75 now.
 
There is no concept of back-to-back reductions in SLGS. Every drop below the reduction point is a reduction. And you hold the reduced dose for 7 days even if the reduction fails. It is not ideal but it has all these extra precautions because CGs who follow SLGS do not test much beyond a preshot test.

The reason I have been pushing for TR or a lower reduction point is for this very reason. So you can keep him on a dose where he sees good numbers :-) With a reduction point of 70, he does not earn a reduction from 1.75U to 1.5U and you can hold the 1.75U longer :-)
 
I'm confused, the SLGS protocol on the forum says:

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.

That was why I was asking if we would reduce right away, back to back even.
 
Sorry to have confused you. With SLGS every drop below the reduction point earns a reduction. Even if it is consecutive cycles and the higher depot is still at play. With TR you would not reduce back to back. Even if he dips below 50. You would wait 4 cycles for the depot to adjust. There are of course, some exceptions where back to back reductions are taken in TR also since ECID.

If you were to set his SLGS reduction point at 70 he has nor earned a reduction with that dip to 74 the other night but he would have if you are following the original SLGS with the reduction point at 90.

I hope this clarifies?
 
Ok thats what I thought, that was why I was wondering about a reduction from last night since was 76, well that is if we were sticking with anything below 90 for SLGS. Guess have to really just pick a number at this point, think anything below 75 will be our reduction point since he has only had that once so far and we reduced.

PMPS was 160, see how he does tonight bit of a bounce up.
 
Back
Top