01/28 BaileyUK AMPS 373 / +5 178 / PMPS 272 - bouncing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaileyUK

Member Since 2013
Hi all

Another pink start today I am 99% this is another bounce would y'all agree?

Seems that he is keeping us on our toes with bounces for the last 2 weeks (give and take) are we to just wait this out? We're pleased to see some more greens and I think he's good on the current dose but we just need to clear these bounces! If that's what they are.

Thanks for any input!

B&B


01/24 BaileyUK AMPS 211 +6 121 PMPS 310
 
No, I think the bounce has already cleared and if Bailey was bouncing that would've been within the first couple to few days of the new dose, give or take. It could be that perhaps he found some contraband, or he may need more juice to help his pancreas out. As I don't have dosing advice to give to others, please wait for the others on here to look at Bailey's SS, and advise you on what to do next. Good luck!
 
Have just got before bed bg test on Bailey, +5 was. 9.4. Hope this will shed some light on B's plans for during night,is he bouncing,or does he need a dose increase? Many thanks Diane & Bailey
 
it's just so hard to know what's going on. i'm sorry - i don't really think it's bouncing either, but without more night cycle tests i don't know exactly. i don't want to encourage you to increase without a better picture. i think i'd just hold the dose for now and try to get more tests in here and there at different times.
 
Thanks Angela & Julie,
It is very difficult for me to get any tests through the night after 11pm. Do you think if I increased his dose slightly,(looking at the data we have on his past nadirs) he would be safe from going too low? I would just like to get rid of these pinks,which seem to be escalating, while still keeping him out of hypo territory. Any thoughts would be most welcome. Many thanks D& B
 
i understand it's difficult for you to get night cycle tests. sometimes the compromise when a person can't do it - and there are others that can't as well - is to accept overall higher numbers. because so many cats go lower at night, and we've seen that at least sometimes Bailey is one of them, i am just not comfortable saying that you should increase. You can't really look at past cycles where he didn't go low and assume that he won't in the future.

of course, it's up to you, but i wouldn't want to be responsible for suggesting it when we don't know what's happening so much of the time.

i'm really not trying to give you a hard time. i know some people can't get those night tests. i really do understand. it's just that it's very difficult to get rid of the high numbers without also having to prop up low nadir numbers as a result. If you can't catch the low numbers, then accepting the high numbers might be the best option. There's nothing wrong with that. i think the two things go together - if you want to give enough insulin to bring down the highs, you have to make sure you know how low the dose is taking Bailey and be prepared to give him carbs to bring him up if he gets too low.

Can't remember if we talked about adjusting his shot time. is there any possibility of moving his shot time up earlier so that you can get night cycle tests? For example, I shot punkin at 7/7, and i could test him at 11pm and that test would let me know if i could go on to bed or had to set an alarm to keep checking him.

Bailey's not getting terrible numbers. i think this is an ok trade-off in order to keep him safe. It's up to you.

He had a 70 on the 25th - i think it's ok to be holding his dose anyway, although i understand why you're thinking of increasing.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Thanks Julie

(Barnes jumping back in here) we fully understand what you're saying and it makes perfect sense.

I think mum just needs to hear that these numbers are not bad and so long as we're keeping him safe then we should hold him on the current dose.

We REALLY appreciate all your help and guidance I personally feel like I understand this a lot more now and do think we should keep him on the current dose as we're not going to be able to get all the data we need to start taking a chance by upping him.

All the very best to you.

Barnes, Diane and Bailey

:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top