i understand it's difficult for you to get night cycle tests. sometimes the compromise when a person can't do it - and there are others that can't as well - is to accept overall higher numbers. because so many cats go lower at night, and we've seen that at least sometimes Bailey is one of them, i am just not comfortable saying that you should increase. You can't really look at past cycles where he didn't go low and assume that he won't in the future.
of course, it's up to you, but i wouldn't want to be responsible for suggesting it when we don't know what's happening so much of the time.
i'm really not trying to give you a hard time. i know some people can't get those night tests. i really do understand. it's just that it's very difficult to get rid of the high numbers without also having to prop up low nadir numbers as a result. If you can't catch the low numbers, then accepting the high numbers might be the best option. There's nothing wrong with that. i think the two things go together - if you want to give enough insulin to bring down the highs, you have to make sure you know how low the dose is taking Bailey and be prepared to give him carbs to bring him up if he gets too low.
Can't remember if we talked about adjusting his shot time. is there any possibility of moving his shot time up earlier so that you can get night cycle tests? For example, I shot punkin at 7/7, and i could test him at 11pm and that test would let me know if i could go on to bed or had to set an alarm to keep checking him.
Bailey's not getting terrible numbers. i think this is an ok trade-off in order to keep him safe. It's up to you.
He had a 70 on the 25th - i think it's ok to be holding his dose anyway, although i understand why you're thinking of increasing.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.