Vyktors Mum
Member Since 2011
When I came home at lunchtime yesterday Vyktor came to the door to greet me (like he used to pretty much everyday pre diabetes) but he was licking his lips so I think he just happened to be up eating when I got there. However, when I got home from work last night (a bit later than usual) there he was at the door with purry greetings
Big change from where we were earlier in the week!
I'm thinking that Vyktor's due a 0.25 increase sometime very soon. Probably you're all sleeping so I won't get an answer in time for tonight's shot but maybe we're not quite due anyway.
As far as the QLD protocoI is concerned I think he's in the nadirs below 200 but peaks greater than 200 category now which calls for a 0.25 dose increase after 5-7 days. I may be wrong even about him belonging in that catergory because he's had more nadirs over 200 than under but I'm thinking the safest approach is to look at the lowest results - is that correct?
So if he falls into that catogory we have now been 7 days on this dose and it's time for an increase. However we had one occasion (PMPS on 01/17) where his PS was below 200 (it was 109) and I did a BCS of 2.0 instead of 2.25 so should I in fact be waiting until 5-7 days from that before increasing?
Those thoughts are based on the increasing the dose phase but I see that in phase 3 of that protocol, the holding the dose phase, the protocol just says to increase by 0.25 if nadirs are above 200 but doesn't given any advice about if they're sometimes over and sometimes under or how long you should wait since a prior increase.
I am also looking at the modified version general guidelines which say, in reference to increasing the dose, just to hold the dose for 3-5 days if nadirs are less than 200 but to increase after 3 days if nadirs are more than 200 but less than 300.
We had a very nasty bounce starting PM of 01/18 followed by a flat pink cycle (does that cycle still count as part of the bounce?) So if I start my counting from that point we are only 2-2 1/2 days.
I am trying very hard to work it out for myself (although I imagine I'll still be seeking confirmation for the foreseeable future even if I do think I know the answer!) and I'm guessing that following either protocol is fine at any particular point in time but I'm still confused about what the answer is :? . I'm thinking that it's clear that he needs 0.25 more juice just not sure about when this should be added.
Also we had a possible partial fur shot last night, just to confuse the issue a bit further!
Advice most appreciated and please feel free to tell me if any of my thinking is not right, I'm not a sensitive petal about such things and the only way I'm going to learn is if people tell me when I've got it wrong.
My other question is about fur shots. Again tonight when I petted him after his shot and rubbed up and down his side (where I had shot) I fancied I could feel a little wetness I had buried my face in the spot straight after the shot and couldn't smell the insulin (probably I don't have the best sense of smell since I smoke) but I could definitely smell it on my hand after I had rubbed him (so could he because he drew back when I offered him his treat with that hand). Unlike last night there was no twisting from him and I watched the shot and am pretty confident it all went in. I'm wondering whether that does mean I've done a partial fur shot or whether there is another explanation, e.g. there was a drip on the end of the needle that went on his skin before the needle went in or a drop expelled itself back out of the shot hole or something???
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61542
I'm thinking that Vyktor's due a 0.25 increase sometime very soon. Probably you're all sleeping so I won't get an answer in time for tonight's shot but maybe we're not quite due anyway.
As far as the QLD protocoI is concerned I think he's in the nadirs below 200 but peaks greater than 200 category now which calls for a 0.25 dose increase after 5-7 days. I may be wrong even about him belonging in that catergory because he's had more nadirs over 200 than under but I'm thinking the safest approach is to look at the lowest results - is that correct?
So if he falls into that catogory we have now been 7 days on this dose and it's time for an increase. However we had one occasion (PMPS on 01/17) where his PS was below 200 (it was 109) and I did a BCS of 2.0 instead of 2.25 so should I in fact be waiting until 5-7 days from that before increasing?
Those thoughts are based on the increasing the dose phase but I see that in phase 3 of that protocol, the holding the dose phase, the protocol just says to increase by 0.25 if nadirs are above 200 but doesn't given any advice about if they're sometimes over and sometimes under or how long you should wait since a prior increase.
I am also looking at the modified version general guidelines which say, in reference to increasing the dose, just to hold the dose for 3-5 days if nadirs are less than 200 but to increase after 3 days if nadirs are more than 200 but less than 300.
We had a very nasty bounce starting PM of 01/18 followed by a flat pink cycle (does that cycle still count as part of the bounce?) So if I start my counting from that point we are only 2-2 1/2 days.
I am trying very hard to work it out for myself (although I imagine I'll still be seeking confirmation for the foreseeable future even if I do think I know the answer!) and I'm guessing that following either protocol is fine at any particular point in time but I'm still confused about what the answer is :? . I'm thinking that it's clear that he needs 0.25 more juice just not sure about when this should be added.
Also we had a possible partial fur shot last night, just to confuse the issue a bit further!
Advice most appreciated and please feel free to tell me if any of my thinking is not right, I'm not a sensitive petal about such things and the only way I'm going to learn is if people tell me when I've got it wrong.
My other question is about fur shots. Again tonight when I petted him after his shot and rubbed up and down his side (where I had shot) I fancied I could feel a little wetness I had buried my face in the spot straight after the shot and couldn't smell the insulin (probably I don't have the best sense of smell since I smoke) but I could definitely smell it on my hand after I had rubbed him (so could he because he drew back when I offered him his treat with that hand). Unlike last night there was no twisting from him and I watched the shot and am pretty confident it all went in. I'm wondering whether that does mean I've done a partial fur shot or whether there is another explanation, e.g. there was a drip on the end of the needle that went on his skin before the needle went in or a drop expelled itself back out of the shot hole or something???
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61542