01/20 Bayley amps 238

Status
Not open for further replies.

Me and Bayley

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3194&p=31196#p31196

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=3280&p=31680#p31680

I just spoke to vet - her Somatomedin number was 233 so she is acro. Was really hoping for another answer even though in my head I have suspected all along.

Thanks to all for the support - may need it for a bit while it all sinks in...
We are okay though - hit some blue last night.

WCR for today - nothing out of the ordinary today - she was happy and doing her usual dramatics begging for breakfast - lol Can be such a little drama queen sometimes :) haha
 
(((Leslie))) There are lots of wonderful acrokitty moms here that will help you to understand what this means. But Bayley doesn't care if she is an acrocat as long as she has you to snuggle.

Nice numbers to start the day for the breakfast drama queen!
 
((((Leslie)))) I know that you have been assuming that Bayley was acro for a while, but it still much be very different, and upsetting, to have the actual diagnosis in hand. The good news is that you are already way ahead of most new acro moms in that you already have a good knowledge of how to work the insulin around Bayley's changing needs. You also have a great support system here and in the HD group. It will be ok.
 
Sorry about the diagnosis, Leslie, but it doesn't change who Bayley is. You can help her better when armed with this knowledge
(((((Leslie & Bayley)))))
 
well? yu just keep doing hon.we are here for yu.if yu need any help yu just shout out and us acro moms will be here for uou.dont lose faith.dont give up hope.yu will be in good hands...we will see to that(((((hugs)))
 
I'm sorry you had to receive this diagnosis. I know you will keep on doing what you have been doing - loving her and giving her the best care.
 
Aww, Leslie, I'm so sorry. Nothing really changes, though, and you're really quite good at taking care of Ms. Bayley, look how much better she's been doing.
 
Thanks - I know we are doing well - I picked up her results and there was a vet there - not mine though - but he decided to chat with me and make mention of the fact that vet studies say they only usualy live about 20-22 months with acro and "wow- she has likely already been at least a year!" I am sure he meant no harm and actually was trying to imply that I am doing a good job with her - but it came out in an upsetting way - I'm not sure I accept that number anyway.... i am sure that there are some on here who have lived much longer - am I right with that?
 
yes - several have made it 3 years after DIAGNOSiS - so start your count NOW -- not back a year. And actually, with the Lantus protocol, here at FDMB we are catching it VERY EARLY - probably more than 3 years is possible.

Based on Norton's physical characteristics, I think he probably had it for 5 or 6 years -- possibly even more. He was a round muscular cat with big feet for years before he became diabetic. We suspected he had acromegaly about a year later (after coming here to FDMB) but didn't get the test done until nearly 2 years after his diabetes dx. He ended up with an aggressive inoperable cancer in his intestines that had nothing to do with the Acromegaly.

Keep up your spirits and try to make every day a good day with happiness.
 
Thank you :) That has helped ease my mind/heart :)

Want to talk to Jojo about Lev - she mentioned switching may help... want to hear more about this possibility - if anyone is in contact with her :)

Thank you everyone for grounding me again :) Your support is so appreciated!!!
 
(((Leslie))) I know you were hoping for another dx, however I do need to echo what everyone else is saying...Bayley doesn't care if she's an acro cat, she's just Bayley...nothing has changed about that! And you have been treating her as tho she was an acro cat and you know about acro, so you have one hell of a head start here.
Just keep on keepin on!
 
(((leslie)))
phoebe's right... because of the lantus and levemir protocol we're using we're "catching" acromegaly in kitties earlier than ever. you're already doing a fantastic job with bayley. you have the support of all the acro moms here in LL and in the HD group! just keep on, keepin' on...
 
I am sorry to see the acro dx. If it is any consolation Chika has displayed physical characteristics of acro for years, large from early adulthood, big paws and claws and she has been snoring since she was around 3 years old. I plan on keeping her around for a number of years yet cat_pet_icon

Knowledge is power and now you have it. (((Leslie and Bayley)))
 
Welcome to the club you did not "want" to join but the one you will be a very proud member of. Pay no attention to that prediction....I bet they were not looking at acros who were being managed so well and diligently. Wasn't acro that got my dear boy...as my vet says I keep all my cats alive long enough that their kidneys eventually fail. Getting the diagnosis for us was just license to treat....and oh how far we went.....

:) Jen
 
Thanks Jen :) I will gladly take any advice , instruction or tips from any of you experienced acro moms to help us stay together a long time :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top