01/16 Butters PMPS 94/+2 88/+4 79

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday shenanigans resulting in a reduction.

Today, just some depot action I think. There is nothing for her to prove right now, so I'm being liberal in my usage of syrup. I keep waiting for the sugar rush to kick in, but so far there has been no change to her usual activity level, which is just slightly higher than that of a throw pillow.

Have a great day, all.
 
just slightly higher than that of a throw pillow
lol. Please do share all of the levels. I always giggle when you compare Butters to a throw pillow (mostly because it's a great description for Jax too :p).

Surf safely, Butters. Mama may want to get out of the house or perhaps do something for herself.

Have a wonderful day, Lyla :bighug:
 
Hi Lyla, wanted to visit you for a change. Butters is doing so beautifully. Wishing you both a happy Saturday and hope Butters stays safe and you get some much needed rest from all the excitement from reduction(s). Surf safely Butters. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
How do you do this? Not just function on no sleep :confused: but shoot with such low numbers (which I know you have to but still :nailbiting:) What is your secret? How do you stay calm or do you?
Hi,
Yes, I feel 100% confident and calm about shooting such low numbers. I was terrified in the beginning. Proof: The very first time I was faced with a 50 pre-shot, I actually chickened out and shot a half-dose instead. That was on 09/09/2020 if you want to have a look and see what happened as a result (hint: butters' numbers went higher, although she may also have bounced a little). I vowed I wouldn't balk at shooting a low number again and I haven't. "Shoot low to stay low" is a phrase often used on the board, and it's true.

I had/have a lot of support from a great many people on the board to get to this point, as will you. And once I did it a few times and saw how it kept butters' numbers flat, I became excited about shooting low numbers! And now I encourage others to do it.

In addition to looking at other kitties' spreadsheets to learn what happened when other caregivers would shoot low numbers, I found that these two posts, becoming ready to shoot lower numbers and why you want to shoot a low number, were particularly helpful in working up the nerve.

I've been contemplating TR but looking at Butters spreadsheet I don't know if I can keep up to that. Is this a typical looking spreadsheet for Butters and have you been doing this since May 2020.? You're amazing Butters soooo lucky to have you on her side. :bighug:
check out her 2020 spreadsheet when you have time. It took around four months before she became tightly regulated (around 09/09/2020). Then she got a pancreatitis attack in mid-October and that deregulated her until very recently, around 12/20/2020, when she became more tightly regulated again. So she and I haven't been doing this tight regulation for very long at all.

I suggest that butters' spreadsheet isn't the one you should be looking at. Check out @JaxBenji Susanne's spreadsheet for Jax. He has beautiful, flat lantus cycles. Or even @Diane Tyler's Mom Diane's spreadsheet for Tyler. He is doing an OTJ trial right now and had beautiful, flat lantus cycles as well. I personally think their cats' cycles are more indicative of what it is like to do TR with a cat once they are used to being tightly regulated. But Every Cat is Different (ECID). I had to chase butters up the dosing ladder a lot after her hospital stay and lately she has been on a tear down the ladder, so I believe it is a bit different for us.

So keep thinking about what you want to do, but I'd like to offer you one piece of advice: try it before you decide you can't do it. There is no shame at all in giving it a go and deciding later on that it isn't for you and Missy.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yesterday shenanigans resulting in a reduction.

Today, just some depot action I think. There is nothing for her to prove right now, so I'm being liberal in my usage of syrup. I keep waiting for the sugar rush to kick in, but so far there has been no change to her usual activity level, which is just slightly higher than that of a throw pillow.

Have a great day, all.
Can Tyler be the third throw pillow along with Butters and @JaxBenji
he would fit right in . Just ate and now back in the couch :p
 
Easy does it Butters! What a green SS she has!

Have a wonderful day Lyla! (PS, you may want to write in big bold letters on your sig and SS) - something about DOSING FOR BUTTERS - DO NOT COPY...

You and Butters do have a unique thang going on there... :)
 
She kept me too busy today. I was fighting her numbers because of the depot. Kept on adding syrup in her raw food just so I could try to get a little more time between tests. I told her over and over she has nothing to prove but she didn't want to listen.

I'm tired. It was a tiring day.

65 @AMPS fed 12 grams pork
65 @+2.25 fed 6 grams pork + syrup
56 @+3.5 fed 8 grams pork + extra syrup
79 @+4.25 no food
67 @+5 fed 6 grams pork (@+5.25)
56 @+6 fed 5 grams pork + extra syrup
70 @+6.75 no food
56 @+7.25 fed 7 grams pork + extra syrup
92 @+8.25 no food
59 @+ 10 fed 10 grams bison @+10
 
She kept me too busy today. I was fighting her numbers because of the depot. Kept on adding syrup in her raw food just so I could try to get a little more time between tests. I told her over and over she has nothing to prove but she didn't want to listen.

I'm tired. It was a tiring day.

65 @AMPS fed 12 grams pork
65 @+2.25 fed 6 grams pork + syrup
56 @+3.5 fed 8 grams pork + extra syrup
79 @+4.25 no food
67 @+5 fed 6 grams pork (@+5.25)
56 @+6 fed 5 grams pork + extra syrup
70 @+6.75 no food
56 @+7.25 fed 7 grams pork + extra syrup
92 @+8.25 no food
59 @+ 10 fed 10 grams bison @+10
It makes me tired just reading all those dips. I hope you are able to get some rest. Tell Butters Dolly said to behave and to give her mom a break. :cat: :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Come on now Butters enough of these shenanigans :joyful:
Mama needs a break tonight. But those greens are so beautiful.
Your Mama has worked her butt off , she's one awesome Mama ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:. I hope you get some sleep tonight Lyla :bighug::bighug:
 
Butters, please play nice! Your mama is exhausted.
She read half of your post. She just made me play with her for 15 minutes and still wants to keep playing. Something I haven't seen her do in many months. I need to sleep now though. Looks like she will surf tonight with lots of auto feeder snacks.
Be good Butters :cat:

Curious...do you use a scale for food?
Yes! I use this one which I bought when I was on vaca in Vancouver and happened to see it in a kitchen store:). It was an excellent purchase. Five years in with heavy use and it still works! I weigh everything for Butters and always have.
 
She read half of your post. She just made me play with her for 15 minutes and still wants to keep playing. Something I haven't seen her do in many months. I need to sleep now though. Looks like she will surf tonight with lots of auto feeder snacks.

Yes! I use this one which I bought when I was on vaca in Vancouver and happened to see it in a kitchen store:). It was an excellent purchase. Five years in with heavy use and it still works! I weigh everything for Butters and always have.
Now she wants to keep playing , oh my lord, Butters go to sleep , you need your beauty rest and so does Mama , Surf safely you little scooch :p
Good night Lyla , I hope you can get to bed :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top