01/14 Spacey PMPS=284 and syringe problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spacey & Ella

Member Since 2009
Wednesday, 13th of January 2010

Well, she is a bit higher again. But those ps's are nowhere near the ps's she has had with Caninsulin. At least the last day's.

I have the idea that she is feeling crappy though.
Her breathing is a bit restless. But she is responsive, very well even to noice. And tired I guess.
And I didn't take the food away. Stupid me, found vomit this morning, not a lot. I guess she sneaked to the food bowl when I went to bed last night.

Checked also her ketone = 0.

Should I stay on 1 or rather go to 0.5 since she is a bit sick and I'm unable to check her today?

She had anesthesia yesterday with her dental (0.2 ml of ketamine).

*Edited to put link
 
Re: 01/14 Spacey AMPS=347, Stay @ 1IE or go to 0.5 ??

the anesthesia should be out of her system by now, but if you can't check her today it might be a good idea to go with 0.5u in case her tummy is still upset.
 
Re: 01/14 Spacey AMPS=347, Stay @ 1IE or go to 0.5 ??

She is eating as we speak/write. and likes her food.

Okay... go to 0.5
shoot now
 
Re: 01/14 Spacey AMPS=347, Stay @ 1IE or go to 0.5 ??

you may find you'll have to go back up to 1u bid, but since you found some vomit and you'll be out today... 0.5u sounds like a safer way to go for today.
 
Re: 01/14 Spacey AMPS=347, Stay @ 1IE or go to 0.5 ??

Ella:

No one probably mentioned that we try to link the previous day's condo in our first post of the day. It helps if we need to go back and check on something. If you could remember to cut and past the link that would be great!
 
Re: 01/14 Spacey AMPS=347, Stay @ 1IE or go to 0.5 ??

Sienne and Gabby said:
Ella:

No one probably mentioned that we try to link the previous day's condo in our first post of the day. It helps if we need to go back and check on something. If you could remember to cut and past the link that would be great!

Oh.. okay. Have to get used to all of this. Caninsulin board is so much easier.
 
Re: 01/14 Spacey AMPS=347, Stay @ 1IE or go to 0.5 ??

Spacey & Ella said:
Oh.. okay. Have to get used to all of this. Caninsulin board is so much easier.

You'll get the hang of it. There are so many more kitties here in Lantus Land that we need the additional link to help give sound advice. Soon it will be second nature to you. :smile:
 
Re: 01/14 Spacey AMPS=347, Stay @ 1IE or go to 0.5 ??

Do I understand things correctly when I'm saying that I have to stick to the 0.5 for the next 3 day's?
And then go up 0.25 to 0.75, stick again 3 day's
And then go up 0.25 to 1, etc. etc...

I do understand that the current numbers can get up again and that 0.5 is absolutely to low for her.
But when do I increase??
Sunday morning.. yes?
 
Re: 01/14 Spacey AMPS=347, Stay @ 1IE or go to 0.5 ??

Spacey & Ella said:
Do I understand things correctly when I'm saying that I have to stick to the 0.5 for the next 3 day's?
And then go up 0.25 to 0.75, stick again 3 day's
And then go up 0.25 to 1, etc. etc...

I do understand that the current numbers can get up again and that 0.5 is absolutely to low for her.
But when do I increase??
Sunday morning.. yes?

shooting 0.5u may be starting spacey on too low of a dose. it just sounded like a good thing to do today because of a possible upset tummy and the fact you will not be able to monitor. *usually* we hold the starting dose for a minimum of 5 days (unless the numbers tell us otherwise). let's keep an eye on the numbers over the next day or two. we may want to think about increasing the dose sooner...
 
Re: 01/14 Spacey AMPS=347, Stay @ 1IE or go to 0.5 ??

Thanks Jill.

I'm already relieved that I wont have to worry about a hypo.
Going off to work now with a good feeling.
thanks. :mrgreen:
 
Is it right to continue with the thread and just change the title? Or is it preferred to have a thread for mornings and one for evenings?

Okay.. syringe problems.
Or rather I have problems getting the insulin out of the pens I've got.
It took me +/- 10 min and 5 syringes to get some drops out. :sad:

I stick the needle of the syringe into the rubber head of the pen and pull. But what I get is a lot of air. Mostly air.
I pull out the syringe and look whether there is enough insulin in it. Not so much. So I throw the syringe away because I know I can't stick it again into the pen, so I take a new one to repeat the whole procedure. And again, big fail.

Did anyone else have the same troubles.. Does anyone have any hints? Cause this way I'm going through syringes very, very fast. :sad:
 
Hello!

Stick with one thread, one thread/condo per kitty per day,,,if u have a question , go to your first post in this thread and hit EDIT then u can add QUESTION to the SUBJECT LINE in ur first post in this thread
same goes for HELP and DOSE ADVISE stuff like that you need an answer to, if u have an emergency use the 911 smiley, but use it wisely. :)

Anytime someone replies in ur condo ur thread gets bumped to the top, same goes for if u post updates.
 
Spacey & Ella said:
Is it right to continue with the thread and just change the title? Or is it preferred to have a thread for mornings and one for evenings?

Okay.. syringe problems.
Or rather I have problems getting the insulin out of the pens I've got.
It took me +/- 10 min and 5 syringes to get some drops out. :sad:

I stick the needle of the syringe into the rubber head of the pen and pull. But what I get is a lot of air. Mostly air.
I pull out the syringe and look whether there is enough insulin in it. Not so much. So I throw the syringe away because I know I can't stick it again into the pen, so I take a new one to repeat the whole procedure. And again, big fail.

Did anyone else have the same troubles.. Does anyone have any hints? Cause this way I'm going through syringes very, very fast. :sad:


What I normally do is press down on the plunger of the syringe and keep it pressed down as I insert the syringe into pen, then pull back on the plunger slowly more than what my dose is (around 4 units, my current dose is 0.1u). Then I remove the needle from the pen and I draw up 3 more units of air and I point the syringe upwards and tap the syringe to get all of the air bubbles towards the needle. Then I press down on the plungers while twisting it and "dial in' my correct dose. If you don't get all of your bubbles out on the first press/twist then you have more insulin to work with before tossing the syringe (but I have been known to draw up more insulin into the same syringe before as long as the tip of the syringe has not come in contact with anything other than the stopper at the end of the pen of insulin).
 
Welcome Spacey and Ella!

I use to have the same difficulty with the syringes... Heather gave you some great advice!
I also pull and push the plunger a couple times, and then keep plunger pushed in before drawing up insulin (just as Heather had said). Works like a charm!

Glad that kitty likes her food! And, hope she continues to feel better.. :-D
 
MJ+Donovan said:
this may be a stupid question, but are you poking the right end?

I was wondering the same thing as I can't see how you could get almost all air...there isn't any air in the cartridge, although I've not seen the pen. Here's a picture:
 

Attachments

  • breakout1.jpg
    breakout1.jpg
    14.5 KB · Views: 1,626
I stick through the rubber seal. But maybe I'm just not used to these tiny needles. They are soooo small en short.
But really, it's kind of annoying. I also tried holding the pen upside down in vertical position, lying it on the table. Stick in the middle of the rubber, stick from a bit aside the center ..
whaaa...

Well, I'll give that twisting thing a try tomorrow morning. Thanks! :mrgreen:
 
MJ+Donovan said:
this may be a stupid question, but are you poking the right end?

This question together with the photo of your cat is really making me smile big time.... :lol:
But yeah... I think I poke the right end.
 
Ronnie & Luna said:
Hello!

Stick with one thread, one thread/condo per kitty per day,,,if u have a question , go to your first post in this thread and hit EDIT then u can add QUESTION to the SUBJECT LINE in ur first post in this thread
same goes for HELP and DOSE ADVISE stuff like that you need an answer to, if u have an emergency use the 911 smiley, but use it wisely. :)

Anytime someone replies in ur condo ur thread gets bumped to the top, same goes for if u post updates.

Thanks for the explanation Ronnie. Appreciate it!
 
Spacey & Ella said:
MJ+Donovan said:
this may be a stupid question, but are you poking the right end?

This question together with the photo of your cat is really making me smile big time.... :lol:
But yeah... I think I poke the right end.

Hey, after the other day when a newbie shot 5 units instead of .5 none of us are taking anything for granted anymore.... :? :o :razz:
 
WOw! We are on a dose of 0.75U and we draw out about 1 to 1.5 units total. We usually have very little difficulty with bubbles since we have learned to draw in extra air after drawing in the Lantus. That was a very helpful tip I read here.

Also, this is just my opinion, but I would not throw away a syringe after simply putting it into the Lantus cartridge. It was in the air before you put it in, and if it picked up any contamination, it would be from the rubber seal, which a new syringe will pick up also. I mean, if you touched it to anything else, that would be different, in my mind.

Good luck. I'm sure you will get this figured out soon. It's all a little overwhelming at first. Now, we are no longer OVER whlemed, but simply a little whelmed. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top