01/06 Chronos PMPS 242

Dan and Marc

Member Since 2019
Previous

Still higher pre shot and didn't see drops from last nights check like we normally have. Any insight about these numbers?

We will be changing the food slowly over this week or so, he will eventually be switched from 3.5 cans of RC + Weruva to 2.25 Cans of RC and 1.25 Cans of Weruva (same calories) so not sure how much that might change his numbers or how long it will take.

Should we still increase his dose to 1.75 tonight since this would be the 7th day he has been on the 1.5 dose?
 
Last edited:
Yes, I think you can take him up to 1.75U. Considering how much you monitor and the slow food transition, you can always reduce as and when he earns a reduction.
 
Hmm didn't expect a blue, assuming he will bounce but debating the dose increase now since he has had nadirs between 90-150 on this dose. Will see what his PMPS is but curious what others think?
 
With SLGS you still have room for increase unless he drops much. You don't just want the stray nadir in the 90-150 range. And his nadirs have been over 150 in the last 4-5 days and it's been enough days since the 90 on 1/1 to clear any bounce. See what he does for the rest of the cycle.

There is no harm in holding the dose considering the food change. Especially if the aim is to transition him to 100% low carb within a week. You are 3 days or so away from that?

Btw, the PM+4 cell on 1/1 would be coloured green on account of that 90.
 
He won't be on 100% low carb with this change at least until we see how the proteins affect his kidney values, we are aiming for half his calories from Royal Canin and half from the BFF which is low carb. His old diet was 80% of the calories coming from Royal Canin and 20% from the Weruva.

So moving forward it'll be 50/50, but yea I think we will be there within 3 days or less. Today he is fully off the old Weruva (wasn't his favorite and higher phosphorus) to the new Weruva BFF and some of the RC swapped out (70% RC/30% BFF). Will probably keep this for tomorrow then reduce more, so yea 3 days sounds about right.

I also don't know if he went lower on the 3rd since I went to sleep after getting that 184 at +4. Based on the past few days numbers I was assuming he did go lower and that was the bounce from then, not the one from the 1st.

Will see what his PMPS is.
 
If you cannot stay up late tonight, you could hold the dose and increase tomorrow morning. Some cats react to the increase in the very first cycle.
 
Another factor to consider is that he has gone from 18.1 lbs (8.22KG) up to 18.4 lbs(8.38KG) since starting the insulin 3 weeks ago. No calorie change. We plan to reduce the RC from 3.25 to 3 cans tomorrow, its good to know he can gain weight but he really doesn't need to be heavier and should lose weight overall.
 
Back
Top