01/03 Leo♡ PMPS 111 +1 117 +2 122 +4 114 +6 102

I thought you had the meter. Sorry. Now I understand the numbers. So, trace means he has some ketones. I'm not sure if anyone that's been helping you knows this unless I've missed that convo. His numbers being high, not really eating or drinking is concerning on top of the trace levels of ketones. I'm going to tag some people for you. I know this isn't your most recent post either. Maybe I'll copy this convo over to your newest post and tag some people.

Good luck on collecting. You've got this. If it is hard for you, maybe get a meter for ketones. I had to because basic is sneaky.

@Marje and Gracie @Christie & Maverick @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Wendy&Neko

What should Joni for for Leo who is showing a trace of ketones amd displaying signs of ketones.

Edited to add:
I moved this convo to Leo's most recent post.
 
These are the 2 meters I've seen on the forum, but there may be more. I'm not sure. I use the first one. NOVA max. These strips are expensive, but not as expensive as a cat with ketones that we are unaware of. They average a little over a $1 a strip.


https://www.totaldiabetessupply.com...bo-meter-kit-ketone-strips-and-glucose-strips

DSS Precision Xtra Blood Glucose Meter Kit, Results in 5 seconds, Strips Not Included (1 Kit) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00JIK6CIW?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

We also have this linked on the forum:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...and-diabetic-cats-a-primer-on-ketones.239971/
 
It looks like Joni mentioned it as that it was almost the trace level a couple of days ago. The ketostix have to be read at exactly the time recommended on the package, which is usually 15 seconds. If one reads/compares the strip to the colour bars after that time it can appear higher, since the strip colour continues to darken.

That said anything above a trace reading is cause for concern. Joni if you don’t mind adding ketone tests into your SS that would be a good idea. And keep checking for ketones.
 
I loved the ketostix in the beginning, but I would have to go outside in natural lighting to see the true results. It made me a little uneasy. I didn't always catch Base either especially once he started feeling better. While I hate how expensive the strips are for the ketone meter, I'm grateful I have it. It helps me relax regarding ketone levels because it takes the guessing out of it. The true level is displayed.
 
And Joni, you won't have to go through all of that (what you listed on my old post you've had to do to currently with the stix) to check for ketones once you have the meter. The meter will be more relaxing for you both. Until you are able to get one, the Stix will have to do.

I'm hopeful Leo is feeling better today. I'm glad to read he is eating.
 
It looks like Joni mentioned it as that it was almost the trace level a couple of days ago. The ketostix have to be read at exactly the time recommended on the package, which is usually 15 seconds. If one reads/compares the strip to the colour bars after that time it can appear higher, since the strip colour continues to darken.

That said anything above a trace reading is cause for concern. Joni if you don’t mind adding ketone tests into your SS that would be a good idea. And keep checking for ketones.

The last one a few days ago was in the scant range.
Considering KetoMojo....
 
And Joni, you won't have to go through all of that (what you listed on my old post you've had to do to currently with the stix) to check for ketones once you have the meter. The meter will be more relaxing for you both. Until you are able to get one, the Stix will have to do.

I'm hopeful Leo is feeling better today. I'm glad to read he is eating.

Thank you very much.
I agree the meter will be easier and more timely.
He still hasn't head towards his box yet, unless he went earlier when we were not up yet.

Looking at a KetoMojo meter. The strips are actually less on the manufacturer site than Amazon.

I forgot to say that Leo does not have a history of ketones, but I know that can change!
 
I have found that pricing has steadily been increasing on Amazon and often times you can get items cheaper outside the site, the opposite of how it was when Amazon first started up. My strips are cheaper from a 3rd party on Amazon currently, but I check each site for prices before placing an order.

I'm glad he has no history of them and that you are aware this can change.

With the 2 meters I listed above, they do require more blood than our glucose meters (human). I'm assuming the one you are looking at will be the same. Each meter tells you the required amount of blood. I've never struggled to get the required amount though.
 
I have found that pricing has steadily been increasing on Amazon and often times you can get items cheaper outside the site, the opposite of how it was when Amazon first started up. My strips are cheaper from a 3rd party on Amazon currently, but I check each site for prices before placing an order.

I'm glad he has no history of them and that you are aware this can change.

With the 2 meters I listed above, they do require more blood than our glucose meters (human). I'm assuming the one you are looking at will be the same. Each meter tells you the required amount of blood. I've never struggled to get the required amount though.

Thank you! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
You are very welcome.

When you have spare time, this is an interesting read.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ositive-for-ketones-need-help.99426/#p1062829

I found that post listed at the bottom of this link. Wanted to share with you in case there's info here that wasnt with the first link I shared. I love all the examples and links with this one.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...oacidosis-dka-and-blood-ketone-meters.135952/

What a great post! Vaguely remember reading it two years ago, but with Leo not having ketones, and I was focusing on how to do a BG, give insulin shots, keep an SS.... there's a lot to learn!
It IS good to read again. Thank you.
Meter and extra ketone strips ordered.
 
Good job stalking Leo to the LB. This bounce break is looking like you’ll have a later nadir than last time, check around +8? When was his last snack?

I was thinking that (later nadir)... test now or a little later? A +8 will allow me to shower, so I'll be back.

He ate some kitty soup (water downed LC) right before BG and afterwards. Trying to get him off the tuna water and eating food and drinking water. He's an addict for tuna water.
 
Last edited:
The meter will bring you much peace.

Yes, a lot to learn and RETAIN. Comprehension is much easier than retention for my brain. Luckily, we can save all the links that are important to us and revisit as we need to. The search feature is also a close friend of mine.

Leo is such a stunner. I love the book title next to him in his photo. My cat would definitely have that in his library.
 
Leo is such a stunner. I love the book title next to him in his photo. My cat would definitely have that in his library.

Thank you! My husband took this picture when we moved in 2012. I can never get Leo's eye color in a photograph like that. Guess the lighting was just perfect. The cookbooks in the box he decided to inhabit is funny to me, too. I was asking my daughter if she wanted these books.
 
Yes, you sure can mix if you need to get an “average” higher high carb but so far I think what you have been trying with the 15% is working. You could even mix the 10% with the 15% and get a nice lower medium carb ;). Edit to add: It is a bit of splitting hairs, but I always considered under 10% to be LC, 10-15% MC and 16% and above to be HC (depending on how carb sensitive the cat is).
 
Last edited:
+2 will help to see. Might need to test further in the first part of cycle and/or set an alarm for a later cycle test.

The +1 BG and LC is working. :)
If +2 is __ lower than +1, what is the recommended higher carb %? One or two tsp? I must have absorbed prior methods incorrectly or Leo was reacting to insulin & carbs differently.

Later like today at +8 or earlier?
 
I’d look for +2 being the same and certainly if 20% lower than preshot, then I’d probably go to your 15% if it is, since that seems to help slow those drops, otherwise stick with LC. Again if he’s much lower at +2 I’d check again at +3 and go from there. If he’s higher at +2 like last night, it would be a good sign he’s not up to any shenanigans.

They can change their patterns sometimes, I used to go regularly to higher LC like 6-9% but occasionally I would need to grab a 12-14% when it was apparent my usual go to wasn’t working.
 
I’d look for +2 being the same and certainly if 20% lower than preshot, then I’d probably go to your 15% if it is, since that seems to help slow those drops, otherwise stick with LC. Again if he’s much lower at +2 I’d check again at +3 and go from there. If he’s higher at +2 like last night, it would be a good sign he’s not up to any shenanigans.

They can change their patterns sometimes, I used to go regularly to higher LC like 6-9% but occasionally I would need to grab a 12-14% when it was apparent my usual go to wasn’t working.

BIG
thanks, Christie!
Almost time to test.
Bye!
 
Still flat, I think I would see either +3 or +4 if you are still up, since +2 is just about the same, so he’ll likely come down to nadir, just can’t tell for sure how fast, otherwise if you are ready for bed, set an alarm for somewhere around +6.

+4=114
Feeding LC. Recommendations for anything different for food or a later test?
 
Back
Top