Here Leo goes again! Bounce break![]()
Looking good so farMy brain is so accustomed to feed at +1, that's what I did with LC. I forgot I was going to test at +1, and provide a higher % carb.
So, tested at +1.2. 208 so up 31 points.
Looking good so far, a little food bump, hoping Leo won’t be overly dramatic at +2.

It looks like Joni mentioned it as that it was almost the trace level a couple of days ago. The ketostix have to be read at exactly the time recommended on the package, which is usually 15 seconds. If one reads/compares the strip to the colour bars after that time it can appear higher, since the strip colour continues to darken.
That said anything above a trace reading is cause for concern. Joni if you don’t mind adding ketone tests into your SS that would be a good idea. And keep checking for ketones.
And Joni, you won't have to go through all of that (what you listed on my old post you've had to do to currently with the stix) to check for ketones once you have the meter. The meter will be more relaxing for you both. Until you are able to get one, the Stix will have to do.
I'm hopeful Leo is feeling better today. I'm glad to read he is eating.
I have found that pricing has steadily been increasing on Amazon and often times you can get items cheaper outside the site, the opposite of how it was when Amazon first started up. My strips are cheaper from a 3rd party on Amazon currently, but I check each site for prices before placing an order.
I'm glad he has no history of them and that you are aware this can change.
With the 2 meters I listed above, they do require more blood than our glucose meters (human). I'm assuming the one you are looking at will be the same. Each meter tells you the required amount of blood. I've never struggled to get the required amount though.

You are very welcome.
When you have spare time, this is an interesting read.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ositive-for-ketones-need-help.99426/#p1062829
I found that post listed at the bottom of this link. Wanted to share with you in case there's info here that wasnt with the first link I shared. I love all the examples and links with this one.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...oacidosis-dka-and-blood-ketone-meters.135952/
If it is hard for you, maybe get a meter for ketones. I had to because basic is sneaky.
Good job stalking Leo to the LB. This bounce break is looking like you’ll have a later nadir than last time, check around +8? When was his last snack?
Good job stalking Leo to the LB
Leo is such a stunner. I love the book title next to him in his photo. My cat would definitely have that in his library.
Where is he at now, Joni? Did the LC flatten him out?

Remember to get a +1![]()
+2 will help to see. Might need to test further in the first part of cycle and/or set an alarm for a later cycle test.Thank you, @Christie & Maverick.
+1=117
Could it get crazy after this? He sure is eating more than before.
+2 will help to see. Might need to test further in the first part of cycle and/or set an alarm for a later cycle test.
I’d look for +2 being the same and certainly if 20% lower than preshot, then I’d probably go to your 15% if it is, since that seems to help slow those drops, otherwise stick with LC. Again if he’s much lower at +2 I’d check again at +3 and go from there. If he’s higher at +2 like last night, it would be a good sign he’s not up to any shenanigans.
They can change their patterns sometimes, I used to go regularly to higher LC like 6-9% but occasionally I would need to grab a 12-14% when it was apparent my usual go to wasn’t working.
Might need to test further in the first part of cycle and/or set an alarm for a later cycle test.
Still flat, I think I would see either +3 or +4 if you are still up, since +2 is just about the same, so he’ll likely come down to nadir, just can’t tell for sure how fast, otherwise if you are ready for bed, set an alarm for somewhere around +6.
set an alarm for somewhere around +6.
Wonderful, looks like Leo decided to do a nice slow decent into nadir.+6=102
Feeding LC... he's lapping it up! Going back to sleep for five hours. Goodnight (again).