? Zoey all over the place

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zoey & Carol

Member Since 2015
Can someone look at Zoey's spreadsheet and give me some advice. I had been trying the sliding dose of ProZinc (1.6 if between 200-300 and 1.8 if over 300), but she started becoming even more bouncy. I was unable to give her several doses at +12 and had to wait some time for her numbers to rise.

For the last 3 days I have been sticking with the 1.6 and she seems to have more consistent green numbers. Should I stick with the 1.6 for a while or continue with the sliding scale?

And I have to say, she is an absolute angel getting her blood tested and her shots. She doesn't even need any treats, just hugs and kisses. In fact my civvie Maine Coon cat must think that her shot table (on top of my dryer)is such a happy place because he has begun sleeping on it!
 
What a great job you've done with testing! It looks to me like you need to reduce a little but I'm not sure. The previous cycles looked like 1.6 might have been too high for a yellow or a pink by the lower greens and the bounce you got after .

Could you get some mid cycle numbers this weekend so we can see how low she is going. Maybe try 1.4 for the yellow and pink pre shots and 1.6 for the red ranges and see what you get. Then we'd have an idea what is working and what's too much. In general, she is responding well and looking good. You are both doing great!
 
Thanks so much! I'll try that this weekend. I just tested her on my lunch hour and her +6 number was 88! I'm happy! Now if I can just get her to stay there.
 
How is Zoey? I have had the same problem as you bouncing all over the place. I think I am finally making progress this weekend thanks to Sue & Oliver.
 
Zoey is feeling fine. I'm amazed by how easy it is to check her blood and give her shots. She also seems happy and not starving all of the time. But I still can't seem to get her regulated, even though I'm seeing fewer really high numbers. I just wonder how long to stay on this protocol before trying something new. There is only another week or so left of the ProZinc. I don't know whether to refill that or try another insulin.
 
The regulation is tough and every cat being different makes it worse. We just started our 2nd bottle of Prozinc. We had amazing numbers this weekend. Then yesterday I had to work when I got home about 5:15 he was at 45 on the Alphatrak meter (probably about 15 on a human meter). I freaked out. I probably overfed at the time. Instead of giving him the recommended few teaspoons I gave his normal 2.25 oz of dinner food. This shot him to over 600 in 20 minutes. I have not been able to get him back to a normal number since. I think I will stay on the prozinc at least through this next bottle. I just hope to find the magic amount to give him.
 
If you want to try Lantus or Levemir, the least expensive place to get it if you're from the US, is from Canada, from Mark's Marine. You'll want to read over the sticky posts in that forum, as depot insulins are very different from non-depot insulins. No adjusting based on pre-shots. Pretty strict 12 hour shooting schedule.

Vetsulin/Caninsulin generally lasts only 8-10 hours in the cat (it was developed for dogs, which have slower metabolisms). You may need to dose every 8 hours to get reasonable control.

Humulin or Novolin NPH generally lasts only 6-8 hours in the cat, and is very harsh, dropping the glucose steeply, then wearing off abruptly. You may need to dose every 8 hours to get reasonable control.
 
If you want to try Lantus or Levemir, the least expensive place to get it if you're from the US, is from Canada, from Mark's Marine. You'll want to read over the sticky posts in that forum, as depot insulins are very different from non-depot insulins. No adjusting based on pre-shots. Pretty strict 12 hour shooting schedule.

Vetsulin/Caninsulin generally lasts only 8-10 hours in the cat (it was developed for dogs, which have slower metabolisms). You may need to dose every 8 hours to get reasonable control.

Humulin or Novolin NPH generally lasts only 6-8 hours in the cat, and is very harsh, dropping the glucose steeply, then wearing off abruptly. You may need to dose every 8 hours to get reasonable control.
Thank you for sharing. The prices on this site are great. I just paid about the same for the 10ml vile of Prozinc.
 
I think I'll keep using the ProZinc for one more bottle. It does seem easier to use than the Lantus or Levemir, and with both my husband and myself traveling a lot with our jobs, we need the extra flexibility of moving shot times a few minutes either way. Also, she seems to be feeling good and is her sweet loving self. I don't want to throw her off again. Thanks for all of your advice!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top