? Zeke - Here we go again! Third day in a row, advice please. +13 50

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meridith and Zeke

Member Since 2017
Yesterdays thread

Ok, I can see one day being a fluke, but two days?

Yesterday he was at 39 when we finally just chose to skip his shot. Surprisingly he didn't even really go that high without the shot with his AMPS being only 350. But he has steadily been dropping through the day and his +9 was 100 with his +10 76! What is going on? I reduced his dose this morning from 2.12u to 2u after his low last night. Zeke has done this once before, but it was only once then everything went back to normal, but 2 days in a row? I am confused.

@Kris & Teasel @Chris & China @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Yesterdays thread

Ok, I can see one day being a fluke, but two days?

Yesterday he was at 39 when we finally just chose to skip his shot. Surprisingly he didn't even really go that high without the shot with his AMPS being only 350. But he has steadily been dropping through the day and his +9 was 100 with his +10 76! What is going on? I reduced his dose this morning from 2.12u to 2u after his low last night. Zeke has done this once before, but it was only once then everything went back to normal, but 2 days in a row? I am confused.

@Kris & Teasel @Chris & China @MrWorfMen's Mom
It's possible that his pancreas is sputtering back to life. That's a good thing but it can lead to some stressful ups and downs.
 
Surf safely, Zeke. You have already earned the reduction and made your point. :D
Congrats on the reducie!

yeah, he needs to surf now lol. Testing again in a few minutes. Gave him a small spoon of MC to give a boost since I did do a small shot. Probably should have skipped it tonight again. :banghead:
 
+1.5 49
He is holding, but with the help of MC. Might end up having to pull out the HC. Will know after his +2. Lately his +2 has been higher, more of a food spike then usual it seems, then he would drop down. Not sure how it will be tonight though.
 
Looking at your spreadsheet the past few days, you know what's weird? And I preface this by saying, I have no idea what I'm doing or talking about, this is just an observation of an interesting pattern. But if you look at the past several days and pretend it's one 24 hour cycle, you have a curve where it's high at AMPS and then slowly goes down, the nadir is pretty much PMPS, and then it slowly goes back up. Huh. o_O

Come up a little, Zeke, you've made your point about wanting the reduction already, wish granted. :cat:
 
Yeah, I know what you mean by weird. I really don't post often here since we have been at this dance for awhile now, but Zeke really has thrown me for a loop with the way his numbers have been these last 2 days. Don't think he has ever earned reductions back to back like this ever either.
 
Hi Meredith,

We normally don't recommend back to back reductions, because of the depot, but I think Zeke made it pretty clear that he wants less insulin, and the previous reduction was a pretty small one. I hope he holds this reduction and starts surfing in the blues a little more.
 
Hi Meredith,

We normally don't recommend back to back reductions, because of the depot, but I think Zeke made it pretty clear that he wants less insulin, and the previous reduction was a pretty small one. I hope he holds this reduction and starts surfing in the blues a little more.

I understand on the back to back reductions, but what should I do if he does the same thing again tonight? His amps is 226 this morning so we are starting out even less then yesterday. He actually spent a very good length of time yesterday in blues and lower and he really didn't do much of a bounce this time which is great.
 
We really need to wait until PMPS.....I doubt if I'd suggest taking another reduction so soon though but let's see where he's at a little closer to shot time

Zeke sure is playing by his own rules lately, isn't he??

Yep, Zeke definitely has it own rules lol. His +10 is 62 so got him back out of the limes with a small spoon of HC. Testing again in 10 minutes to see if that is going to hold or if we are going to have to steer early. Could this pen be that much more potent then the last one since this started the day after a new pen?
 
How old was the last pen?
I used to think it was time for a new pen and almost always found out the old one did the same as the new one.
I agree with Chris. Let's see where he is at PMPS time. Maybe you can do a test +11 and we can compare that test to his PMPS test to know whether and how fast he is coming up. I would try to hold off on feeding anymore until +11 and see if he is rising. He should be.
 
How old was the last pen?
I used to think it was time for a new pen and almost always found out the old one did the same as the new one.
I agree with Chris. Let's see where he is at PMPS time. Maybe you can do a test +11 and we can compare that test to his PMPS test to know whether and how fast he is coming up. I would try to hold off on feeding anymore until +11 and see if he is rising. He should be.

His last pen was only 1.5 months old and kept in the fridge. Also very careful about never letting air get into it and I don't put insulin back in it either.

His +10.5 is 72. I wasn't at the house atm but my daughter did give him a small spoon of MC at his +10 test. Not giving him anything this test. Will test again in 30 minutes though since he did drop low earlier tonight then he did the last couple days.
 
When did you start the fresh pen? Normally they don't go bad that quickly. Sometimes a pen can last for months.
I'll be waiting to see what his +11 is.
 
When did you start the fresh pen? Normally they don't go bad that quickly. Sometimes a pen can last for months.
I'll be waiting to see what his +11 is.

The pen we are on now we started on the 1st of this month. The day before he started going all crazy with his numbers.

His +11 is 54 so went ahead and gave some MC since that was almost a 20 point drop in 30 minutes.
 
Okay. I understand giving him some MC because of the drop. How flexible is your shot time? Meaning, if he came up some at +12 and then was up more at +13 without feeding, and you decided to shoot, would your shot time be okay being off by an hour (with the end of DST in consideration)?
 
+11.5 67

Okay. I understand giving him some MC because of the drop. How flexible is your shot time? Meaning, if he came up some at +12 and then was up more at +13 without feeding, and you decided to shoot, would your shot time be okay being off by an hour (with the end of DST in consideration)?

Yeah, we could actually do that easily tonight if needed and it wouldn't throw us off.
 
Since he's coming up, how about if you don't feed and test again in 1 hour at +12.5 and post his number. Or test again at his regular PMPS if that's what you choose.
Think about what number and what dose you would be comfortable shooting. Let's say, if he is 99 at +12.5, and he is eating fine, would you feel comfortable shooting 1.75 or 2.00 or 1.50? Think about it. Have you already adjusted your shot schedule for the time change? Because your next shot will be 12 actual hours after you shoot tonight.
 
Since he's coming up, how about if you don't feed and test again in 1 hour at +12.5 and post his number. Or test again at his regular PMPS if that's what you choose.
Think about what number and what dose you would be comfortable shooting. Let's say, if he is 99 at +12.5, and he is eating fine, would you feel comfortable shooting 1.75 or 2.00 or 1.50? Think about it. Have you already adjusted your shot schedule for the time change? Because your next shot will be 12 actual hours after you shoot tonight.

We were just going to figure in the extra hour tonight, but since we got that hour to play with I am perfectly fine with stalling and seeing how he is doing at +13 before making a shot decision. His +12 is 60 so atm looks like he might be trying to hold. I have shot as low as 60's before, so the number itself isn't an issue. Would just rather know that he is actually working on coming back up before shooting so it isn't a struggle to steer because dropping too low. If he does start coming up, will probably go with the 1.75u like I shot this morning.
 
Yeah, that's a good idea.....good thing the time change is working FOR you tonight!! It's usually such a pain!!

If you've got plenty of supplies and don't need to sleep, I'd probably go with the 1.75 again.....his depot is still draining from the 2.12 and 2U doses
 
While you are waiting the time change delay, could you help me understand your dosing. You are doing SLGS?
A number in the 30's, like two days ago, means a full 0.25 unit reduction even on TR, much less SLGS. Why the smaller reduction? That can allow the depot to get ahead of you.
 
+12.5 60

Yeah, that's a good idea.....good thing the time change is working FOR you tonight!! It's usually such a pain!!

If you've got plenty of supplies and don't need to sleep, I'd probably go with the 1.75 again.....his depot is still draining from the 2.12 and 2U doses

I just restocked supplies and sleep happens when it happens lol. He seems to be trying to hold his number now but still hoping to see it come up a little with the next test which is when I need to shoot so we can stay on schedule.

While you are waiting the time change delay, could you help me understand your dosing. You are doing SLGS?
A number in the 30's, like two days ago, means a full 0.25 unit reduction even on TR, much less SLGS. Why the smaller reduction? That can allow the depot to get ahead of you.

I am actually following TR mostly, but we are holding doses longer since Zeke has been showing me that he needs more time on a dose before changing. With the way he did that first night with this drop, wasn't really sure if it was just a fluke since he has been really low at a ps before in the past but then was right back to normal after. Your right in that it probably should have been the full .25u reduction, he just has me so confused right now with the way he is doing. It is almost like he has decided that he wants a 24 hour cycle instead of a 12 hour one and his PMPS is his new nadir.
 
Can you stall another 20-30 minutes?

If you'd rather not, I think I'd try the 1U dose.....the last time you skipped he ended up pink by the last part if the cycle, so I don't think skipping is the best idea

We need to find a dose we can safely give twice a day....whatever is going on with Zeke, besides being frustrating, it's kind of exciting too!
 
Can you stall another 20-30 minutes?

If you'd rather not, I think I'd try the 1U dose.....the last time you skipped he ended up pink by the last part if the cycle, so I don't think skipping is the best idea

We need to find a dose we can safely give twice a day....whatever is going on with Zeke, besides being frustrating, it's kind of exciting too!

He is eating good, so I think 1u will be ok.

Should I try a lower dose in the morning also you think? Maybe 1.5u instead of 1.75u? Or give it some time for the depot to drain a little more?
 
Goodness, I hope Zeke gives you a bit of sleep and a break soon! I had three of those nights in a row, and it was exhausting!! I definitely feel for you, and I hope things level out soon!
 
Goodness, I hope Zeke gives you a bit of sleep and a break soon! I had three of those nights in a row, and it was exhausting!! I definitely feel for you, and I hope things level out soon!

Thankfully my daughter, Zeke's momma, takes over after a certain time. I do stay up though until he is finally starting to come up. Luckily I have my own business I do from home and Zeke right now is more normal during the morning time so I can catch up then on sleep lol.

+2 54
 
Yo Zeke!! Dat's some excellent surfing skilz but maybe you can come a little closer to da beach?? You iz awfully close to da sharks out der!! ~ LagoonMeisterin China

I iz tryn, but them fins look awful funz to play wifs!

+2.5 61
Up a little, but did give him a touch of MC last test. None this time. Want him to stay low so trying to now steer too much.
 
You know how it shows the little anonymous critters at the top of our ss when people are looking? I see an anonymous rabbit and anonymous python and my first thought is the bunny better watch out so the python don't eat it! lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top