? Zeke - 8/9 AMPS 273, +1 275, +4 216, +9 140, +11 192, PMPS 181

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meridith and Zeke

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's Condo

It is obvious that Zeke has been feeling better on the Lantus. As long as his numbers don't decide to go all wonky on us, we will be increasing tomorrow morning to 2.25. Seeing how his numbers are leveling out so well, I am excited to see how his numbers start going as we start the increases. :)
 
I know it's hard to shoot lower numbers then your use to like that blue the other night but if you can monitor and have strips, high carb food etc, I'd encourage you to post for help and shoot the full dose. Lantus craves consistancy and shooting lower can help create nice flat cycles.

I'm not criticizing, it's nerve racking to start shooting lower but the results can be amazing. Hopefully no surprises and good luck with the increase tomorrow if need be .
 
I know it's hard to shoot lower numbers then your use to like that blue the other night but if you can monitor and have strips, high carb food etc, I'd encourage you to post for help and shoot the full dose. Lantus craves consistency and shooting lower can help create nice flat cycles.

I'm not criticizing, it's nerve racking to start shooting lower but the results can be amazing. Hopefully no surprises and good luck with the increase tomorrow if need be .

Actually, I did post. But don't think there was many on at that time, got some responses but nothing really clear. So an hour after normal shot time, I did his shot for the dose I thought appropriate at the time. Our feeding and dose time is already later so didn't want to get too off of schedule. 8am and 8pm.
 
You did a good job and sorry no one was around. One thing for sure is there is always a next time with FD.

I'm guilty of not being on the board consistently since the loss of my Doodles 5 months ago. Feel free to tag me if needed, I usually check a few times a day but don't always post.
 
Sorry for your loss. :(

For me, it is learning on the low shooting. I came from Novolin so it is a bit different then the Lantus. I am just happy right now that he is leveling out. The past several months have felt like a roller coaster with his numbers. Had even thought about shooting 3 times a day if that would help and someone mentioned some Lantus on the supply closet so checked on that and ended up ordering it. :)
 
Actually, I did post. But don't think there was many on at that time, got some responses but nothing really clear. So an hour after normal shot time, I did his shot for the dose I thought appropriate at the time.
something to keep in mind with Lantus is that when you shoot a reduced dose, the effect will likely not be seen on that same cycle, but rather the one following the reduced dose. Also, when you shoot late and need to get back on schedule, since you have a way to go before you "know thy cat" on Lantus, for safety, take back no more than 15 mins per cycle or 30 mins every 24 hours. Otherwise you could encounter unexpected lows.

When it comes to shooting low, becoming "data ready" is the first step.
Once you are data ready, it's much easier to make a decision on shooting.

Know Thy Cat :cool:
 
something to keep in mind with Lantus is that when you shoot a reduced dose, the effect will likely not be seen on that same cycle, but rather the one following the reduced dose. Also, when you shoot late and need to get back on schedule, since you have a way to go before you "know thy cat" on Lantus, for safety, take back no more than 15 mins per cycle or 30 mins every 24 hours. Otherwise you could encounter unexpected lows.

When it comes to shooting low, becoming "data ready" is the first step.
Once you are data ready, it's much easier to make a decision on shooting.

Know Thy Cat :cool:

Trying to learn him on Lantus. :) Trying to not test him too much since he does start getting irritable when he is tested a lot, but enough to start getting some good data.

I probably went back to normal time a little quick then. I shot at about 9pm that night, then the next morning I tested and shot about 8:30 and that evening at about 8pm.
 
Trying to learn him on Lantus
Keeping posting and asking questions, it's how we all learned. The stickies are very helpful. This is one of my favorite links that also provides a wealth of information.
Where Can I Find

Looks like he might be trying to avoid an increase...nice and easy now Zeke. After a reduced dose it could take the depot 6 cycles to refill. Today is cycle 5...tonight being cycle 6...might be a little active....or not.
 
Trying to learn him on Lantus. :)
The greatest challenge is to forget Novolin.
Trying to not test him too much since he does start getting irritable when he is tested a lot,
you are doing a great job testing. The one area that needs more data is PM+ 9, PM+10 and PM+11. Try and sprinkle a few tests throughout that area. One night
a+10, another night a +11, another night a +9... enough to break up the wide open space of white on his ss. knowing where his BG has been before AMPS is a huge help when faced with a number that is lower than you have ever shot.
 
Looks like he might be trying to avoid an increase...nice and easy now Zeke. After a reduced dose it could take the depot 6 cycles to refill. Today is cycle 5...tonight being cycle 6...might be a little active....or not.

Yep, if his numbers stay good, will be increasing to 2.25u in the morning.

The greatest challenge is to forget Novolin.

Yeah, it is almost like learning bad habits lol.

The one area that needs more data is PM+ 9, PM+10 and PM+11.

Have actually planned a +9 for tonight. Each morning I have been sitting down and figuring out when I want to test through the day and was looking at the someone bare spots on the ss this morning to start hitting them a little more. :) Of course if we suddenly get a wonky number in there testing times could change as needed.
 
PM+ 9, PM+10 and PM+11

Was just thinking, are you meaning the times that are in the wee hours of the morning? I can sometimes do a test at those times, but generally, everyone is asleep at those times. My daughter stays up later then me so she can at least get up to the nadir but in bed after that. I have to take sleeping pills etc for me to sleep so I have to be in bed earlier. So that time range isn't going to get tests done as much as during the am cycle. We do what we can. On the days that I wake up early enough to do a +11 or even a +10 (if it was a bad night for me) I will do those extra tests.
 
We just got a blue! +9 140
Was hoping you'd grab another test :) Might be helpful for you to grab a +11 this way you know if he's rising or falling at PMPS time. In the beginning it makes deciding to shoot a little easier. He did see green on this dose so being conservative with the increase until at least tomorrow morning (hey, he might ask for a reduction instead) or Friday morning is OK too depending on what he does. Sometimes we do have to wait each cycle out before making those decisions.

Do you have HC and plenty of strips with the ability to monitor? This is a common question we ask;) I suspect he's going to be at least blue at PMPS (could be wrong of course). I'll be around tonight and will check in around your PMPS in case you have any questions.

Some kitties react more to reduced dose then others. Considering Zeke is so new to Lantus this is all good data gathering for you.
 
Was hoping you'd grab another test :) Might be helpful for you to grab a +11 this way you know if he's rising or falling at PMPS time. In the beginning it makes deciding to shoot a little easier. He did see green on this dose so being conservative with the increase until at least tomorrow morning (hey, he might ask for a reduction instead) or Friday morning is OK too depending on what he does. Sometimes we do have to wait each cycle out before making those decisions.

Do you have HC and plenty of strips with the ability to monitor? This is a common question we ask;) I suspect he's going to be at least blue at PMPS (could be wrong of course). I'll be around tonight and will check in around your PMPS in case you have any questions.

Some kitties react more to reduced dose then others. Considering Zeke is so new to Lantus this is all good data gathering for you.

Plenty of strips and some HC on hand. With him getting that number, won't increase him til at least Friday morning so incase he doesn't need the increase. Would rather make sure I know where he is heading first since his numbers are still changing. Will do the +11 to know better for his shot.
 
Thanks @Doodles & Karen

His +11 is 192. With the difference in that short time, hopefully that doesn't mean the starting of a bounce. So looks like a normal shoot tonight but I would say better to not increase in the morning. Gonna see how he goes through tomorrow and see.
 
Good shooting! Think you ok with starting with a +2 and going from there. We'll usually say get a +1 &+2 when shooting lower than before but I'm not a fan of over testing and there is enough buffer IMO with the data you have to wait until +2. It's always your call of course. I'll check in later but paws crossed for a nice surf and no bouncing.
 
Good shooting! Think you ok with starting with a +2 and going from there. We'll usually say get a +1 &+2 when shooting lower than before but I'm not a fan of over testing and there is enough buffer IMO with the data you have to wait until +2. It's always your call of course. I'll check in later but paws crossed for a nice surf and no bouncing.

I am gonna do a +2. Now that I can sit down again for a few minutes reading on the links you posted just earlier. :)
 
Not to be annoying but I know there is a load of information on the board. Have you seen the "typical" Lantus curve example in the The Basics New To the Group Sticky ? It's about 1/2 way down. I'm pointing it out in case you see any "double dipping" which some kitties get. You'll see the comment on the chart by the +11 example. My Doodles was notorious for it when on Lantus :rolleyes: You mentioned earlier about wanting to learn/ understand Lantus. Knowing your cat is most important but these resources here are priceless for getting educated.

That's all for today! :p:p Keep asking questions...everyone is here to help.
 
Yes, I had read that one. :) Last week trying to get ready for starting Lantus probably read some of those stickies several times lol. Been trying to sprinkle the tests all through the cycle til can have a better idea of how Mr Zeke runs with the juice. Gonna do his +2 and if all looks good, heading to bed and let my daughter finish testing for the night. If looks like he is gonna keep dropping some, then will stay up awhile for testing myself. I really did like the post on shooting low. Helped it make more sense on why to do it and how it is actually a good thing. Thanks!
 
@Doodles & Karen

His +2 is 273, so looks like his lower numbers sent him on a bounce. I know my notes for him being higher at +2 say pokey break, but I think I will have my daughter still test at +4 and +7. Since I didn't get a nadir test today, makes me wonder how low he actually went. Also, after reading on the myths page, should I go ahead and increase him by .25u in the morning since I know he is bouncing? Or wait a day? Post #17 says to go ahead and increase if nadir's are greater then 200, which he normally is, other then today when he possibly might have been lower. Being able to monitor isn't an issue. I work from home so I am home 24/7.
 
I'm on my phone so short post here. Yes I would increase tomorrow. You watch him close enough. It was a nice cycle today but green is the goal. If he's still rising at +4 I'd give him a pokey break with the +7. Good job shooting and get some sleep
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top