? Yuki PMPS 87 on Relion, 154 on Alphatrak2 . Dosing help??

Status
Not open for further replies.

JC&Yuki

Member Since 2020
Hello All! I conducted a curve today on Yuki using both the Relion and Alphatrak2. Her PMPS was 87 on Relion and 154 on Alphatrak. On my previous post (see here) I was advised not to shoot if Yuki’s pre shot numbers were under 90 on a human meter. She is in the green on a human meter but in the blue on her Alphatrak. I decided to trust the human meter and did not give her her .25 units of Lantus after meal time. Should I re test and give insulin if her number rises? Or skip her dose for the night completely? Her numbers also dipped below 90 throughout the day, so does this earn her a dose reduction? If so, would I be attempting to draw up half of .25 units? Thank you in advance for any help! Yuki and I so appreciate all of your guidance so far!
 

Attachments

  • 12BE5FF4-78D5-4DD1-A5B4-5E895B485159.jpeg
    12BE5FF4-78D5-4DD1-A5B4-5E895B485159.jpeg
    47.6 KB · Views: 155
This is what Wendy told you on your last post



If you're following SLGS, you need to remember that you give a dose reduction if numbers drop below 90 on a human meter. I think your kitty may need a dose reduction since numbers were at 77 last night.



I will tag her for you, so the curve you did today was using the human meter? @Wendy&Neko
 
This is what Wendy told you on your last post



If you're following SLGS, you need to remember that you give a dose reduction if numbers drop below 90 on a human meter. I think your kitty may need a dose reduction since numbers were at 77 last night.



I will tag her for you, so the curve you did today was using the human meter? @Wendy&Neko
Hi Diane! Yes, I remember Wendy’s advice. I’m more wondering if I should give half a unit of the .25 units I give her? I don’t really know how much smaller of a dose I can give her. I did the curve today using both meters. The first tab of my SS is data from the Relion with some Alphatrak numbers, those are noted on the spreadsheet.
 
One thing you have to stick with one meter or the other. Like we said last night
if you want to stay with the Alpha Trak to do curves to send to your vet that's
fine. I see your notes in the remarks column where you said on 10-22 you used the
Alpha Trak only for +2 I assume that was the morning cycle where it says 121

Then the 1 green number after that was the human meter ? 86 +99 and the PMPS
was 86 human meter?
 
One thing you have to stick with one meter or the other. Like we said last night
if you want to stay with the Alpha Trak to do curves to send to your vet that's
fine. I see your notes in the remarks column where you said on 10-22 you used the
Alpha Trak only for +2 I assume that was the morning cycle where it says 121

Then the 1 green number after that was the human meter ? 86 +99 and the PMPS
was 86 human meter?
Hi Diane. Yes, I’ve explained this in previous posts and have decided I’ll be using the Relion, with the exception of curve days in which I’ll use both human and pet meters so that I have numbers to give to my vet. So that I have numbers that conform to what the majority of people do on this forum as well as numbers to give to my vet (shes adamant about me submitting Alphatrak numbers). My spreadsheet is a little messy right now because I was trying to figure out which meter to use and deciding between advice from this forum and advice from my vet. I apologize for the confusion, but I’m well aware that it would be more convenient if I just used one meter. I’m very new at home testing and was still trying to figure out which meter would be best to use since advice from this forum contradicts advice from my vet. I can go ahead and just delete the old Alphatrak numbers off my spreadsheet to avoid any confusion about past readings. Thank you for the advice!
 
I'm sorry not understanding in your remarks column about the Alpha Trak
where you said


Difference from Alphatrak:66, 43, 51, 42
When were these numbers done +? +? +? +?
Plus there is only 4 BG's listed
I'm sorry not understanding in your remarks column about the Alpha Trak
where you said


Difference from Alphatrak:66, 43, 51, 42
When were these numbers done +? +? +? +?
Plus there is only 4 BG's listed
Please just ignore. Those are notes for myself and my vet so that I can tell her what the difference between my two meters are.
 
Pictorial guide using a U-100 syringe marked with half units:
49823504036_be8b19dcbc_o.jpg

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
Hi Diane, I appreciate you posting again. I still do have access to my old post so I have all of these pictures and advice as reference. I was just asking for confirmation that it was the right move to not dose Yuki at all tonight since her PMPS was under 90. As well as any feedback on what her dose should be tomorrow. I know it has to be reduced but my question is to what. It looks like my only options are some or 0.1. I guess I will go to my vet for advice on dosing, but I appreciate the feedback on my SS. I’ll be sure to keep my personal notes on a separate, private SS to avoid confusion.
 
Hi Diane, I appreciate you posting again. I still do have access to my old post so I have all of these pictures and advice as reference. I was just asking for confirmation that it was the right move to not dose Yuki at all tonight since her PMPS was under 90. As well as any feedback on what her dose should be tomorrow. I know it has to be reduced but my question is to what. It looks like my only options are some or 0.1. I guess I will go to my vet for advice on dosing, but I appreciate the feedback on my SS. I’ll be sure to keep my personal notes on a separate, private SS to avoid confusion.
Yes it was correct that you skipped the dose tonight,
and yes you would shoot 0.1 for tomorrow morning .
 
Hi Diane. Yes, I’ve explained this in previous posts and have decided I’ll be using the Relion, with the exception of curve days in which I’ll use both human and pet meters so that I have numbers to give to my vet. So that I have numbers that conform to what the majority of people do on this forum as well as numbers to give to my vet (shes adamant about me submitting Alphatrak numbers). My spreadsheet is a little messy right now because I was trying to figure out which meter to use and deciding between advice from this forum and advice from my vet. I apologize for the confusion, but I’m well aware that it would be more convenient if I just used one meter. I’m very new at home testing and was still trying to figure out which meter would be best to use since advice from this forum contradicts advice from my vet. I can go ahead and just delete the old Alphatrak numbers off my spreadsheet to avoid any confusion about past readings. Thank you for the advice!
I see you have both meters listed on top of your SS
One for human meter and the other for the Alpha Trak for your vet when you
do curves. That's fine
 
advice from this forum contradicts advice from my vet.

You're going to see this a lot here. The sad truth is that vets get about 5 hours of formal education in school. Vet schools have to cram a lot of stuff into a few years so they teach a tiny bit about everything. They don't have time to go into depth about each disease and the different treatments possible. Once they're in practice, they don't have the time to stay up to date on the latest treatments for every disease in every type of animal they see. They'd never have time to see any patients if they tried! That's why places like this board are such a valuable tool. The people here deal with nothing but feline diabetes and the complications that tend to come with it. They live and breathe it. They deal with it 24/7/365, some for many years so they know what works....and what doesn't. We also have the time to try to search for new breakthroughs in treatments that might benefit our cats or some in the future. Your vet might be a fantastic and caring person...but they just can't spend the kind of time they'd need to to be able to learn it all.

I don't want to give her the wrong info about reducing her dose to 0.1 for
tomorrow morning

Yes, below 90 on either human or pet meter is the reduction point on SLGS
 
You're going to see this a lot here. The sad truth is that vets get about 5 hours of formal education in school. Vet schools have to cram a lot of stuff into a few years so they teach a tiny bit about everything. They don't have time to go into depth about each disease and the different treatments possible. Once they're in practice, they don't have the time to stay up to date on the latest treatments for every disease in every type of animal they see. They'd never have time to see any patients if they tried! That's why places like this board are such a valuable tool. The people here deal with nothing but feline diabetes and the complications that tend to come with it. They live and breathe it. They deal with it 24/7/365, some for many years so they know what works....and what doesn't. We also have the time to try to search for new breakthroughs in treatments that might benefit our cats or some in the future. Your vet might be a fantastic and caring person...but they just can't spend the kind of time they'd need to to be able to learn it all.



Yes, below 90 on either human or pet meter is the reduction point on SLGS
Thank you for the confirmation! I definitely do trust the expertise on this forum, so I hope my use of the word “contradicts” wasn’t taken the wrong way. I’m just trying to strike a balance between what my vet is advising and what the forum is advising as I do feel it’s still necessary to be on the same page as my vet. I will give her 0.1 units tomorrow and continue testing. Thank you for the insight!
 
You're going to see this a lot here. The sad truth is that vets get about 5 hours of formal education in school. Vet schools have to cram a lot of stuff into a few years so they teach a tiny bit about everything. They don't have time to go into depth about each disease and the different treatments possible. Once they're in practice, they don't have the time to stay up to date on the latest treatments for every disease in every type of animal they see. They'd never have time to see any patients if they tried! That's why places like this board are such a valuable tool. The people here deal with nothing but feline diabetes and the complications that tend to come with it. They live and breathe it. They deal with it 24/7/365, some for many years so they know what works....and what doesn't. We also have the time to try to search for new breakthroughs in treatments that might benefit our cats or some in the future. Your vet might be a fantastic and caring person...but they just can't spend the kind of time they'd need to to be able to learn it all.



Yes, below 90 on either human or pet meter is the reduction point on SLGS

@Chris & China (GA)
Thanks so much Chris I was sweating bullets lol, just wanted to make sure I gave her the correct advice to reduce the dose tomorrow morning to 0.1
Thank you :bighug::cat:
 
Thank you for the confirmation! I definitely do trust the expertise on this forum, so I hope my use of the word “contradicts” wasn’t taken the wrong way. I’m just trying to strike a balance between what my vet is advising and what the forum is advising as I do feel it’s still necessary to be on the same page as my vet. I will give her 0.1 units tomorrow and continue testing. Thank you for the insight!
Great, good luck with the reduction, Yuki is looking good :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top