Hi Deb,
Somebody asked me to stop in and look at your numbers. I've studied a lot of Lantus spreadsheets (as has Sienne) so I wanted to see if I can help see what is going on with Xuxu.
I always look at the spreadsheet first, before reading all the text in the threads. I do that because I want to see the numbers and patterns without being influenced by anyone else's opinions. I did read through this thread quickly though.
First, a couple of questions... 1) when was the last time you gave R? On the spreadsheet it looks like 12/20 in the PM cycle, was that the last time? and 2) if you are diluting the Lantus, are you 1000000% sure you are giving the same dose each time? Others are right, it is not recommended to dilute Lantus and I honestly don't understand why you are doing that, I'm not recommending or condoning that, but for now I'm just trying to find out how consistent the Lantus dose is.
What I see on the spreadsheet is actually not an atypical pattern at all. If your vet is more familiar with PZI, that might explain his/her confusion, but those of us who follow a lot of Lantus cats recognize these patterns right away.
Sienne said:
When a cat's numbers drop into what can even be normal BG range (especially if numbers have been high for a while), your cat's body will react. The pancreas and liver will interpret either the lower numbers or a fast drop as being dangerous and release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. The release of these compounds will cause numbers to spike back up. We refer to this as a "bounce."
These counterregulatory hormones tend to stick around for a while, in some cats for a few hours and in some cats for 3-4 days. Then they will clear out on their own, resulting in the cat's numbers dropping quickly.
Looking at this week as one example (I'm assuming no R use, since it isn't notated on the spreadsheet):
12/22:
PM+5 ~ 48. Body thought "oh no, that's too low!" released those counterregulatory hormones.
+12 ~ 581 <<<<< BOUNCE
12/23
AMPS ~ 581
+2 ~ 371 <<<< bounce is already starting to clear. Normally +2 is about the same as preshot, so the fact that it is lower indicates that the counterregulatory hormones are already starting to clear.
+9 ~ 382 <<<< about the same as +2
+12/PMPS ~ 200 (no shot) <<<<< wow that's a big drop at the end of the cycle, the bounce is clearing FAST now, lots of downward momentum, watch out for even lower numbers.
+8 ~ 157 <<<<< no data to know if or how much he kept dropping after the 200. My "crystal ball" thinks there were some low numbers, based on the fact that he had a lot of momentum at the 200, and based on the fact that what comes next looks like it could be a big bounce.
12/24 (the cycle repeats)
AMPS (+11) ~ 720 <<<<<< this is a probably a combination of two factors: 1) possibly a bounce off of the fast drop and possible low numbers last night, and 2) skipping the shot last night emptied his insulin depot somewhat and left his AMPS higher than usual.
+2 ~ 609 <<<< hmmmm, already dropped over 100 points at a time in the cycle when the insulin usually isn't showing action yet. Watch for numbers to keep dropping rapidly.
+5 ~ 283 <<<<< he has been dropping over 100 points per hour (without R, correct?). This fast a drop can create a bounce all on its own, but again we have the fast momentum as he continues to drop.
+9 ~ he does bump upward a little at the end of the cycle, so momentum might be slowing down.
PMPS ~ 323 (
did you give insulin at +9, or do you just mean that the number is the same as it was at +9?).
+1 ~ 192 <<<< holy kittens! A 100+ point drop at +1 is a lot, I'm REALLY glad you got a +2.
+2 ~ 39 <<<<<< yep, the bounce is gone, this is too low.
Then he bounced high again this morning. Looking back at your spreadsheet, I see a lot of cycles where you caught a very low green number, then he was very high again by the next preshot. It seems logical that some or many of those cycles where you didn't check in the middle of the cycle, but just saw two very high preshot readings, could be the same. It only takes him a couple of hours to get from 50s to 500s so it's easy to see where you could be missing the low numbers.
Based on your data,
assuming that you have not used R since 12/20 and assuming that your insulin dose is consistent, I would say that your Lantus dose of 2.50u is too high. You want to consider how low the dose is taking him, ignoring the highs because they are just bounces and will clear out on their own. I see that you reduced to 2u today and I think that is a very good idea. I would also ask that you consider NOT using R next time he goes high, to see what happens. As you can see, it sure looks like he is able to bring those highs down quickly on his own, without R. Adding a large dose of R to the mix can make him drop even faster, setting him up for even more bouncing. R is useful when ketones are developing, but it can also compound the problem if it is used when it's not really needed. 2u of R is also a pretty big dose for a cat that isn't hospitalized.
I hope this helps.