Young Again Zero cat food?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Lion, Oct 7, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    Hello,

    I am still having trouble getting Lion to eat enough. He mostly wants to eat Young Again Zero (link below). Guaranteed Analysis says carbs less than one percent.

    I will be talking to my vet about a dental specialist as his mouth sores have returned. We have established it is probably from having some bottom teeth removed and now he is biting down on the gum. We already did a biopsy and everything came back fine there.

    Does anyone have any experience with Young Again Zero? I am wondering if it is raising his numbers. Thanks!

    Zero Cat Food - Young Again Pet Food
     
  2. Ann & Sister

    Ann & Sister Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    My cats liked Young Again Zero, but it gave me sugar kitty diarrhea. It's pretty rich. I still have half a bag; not really willing to try it again right now.
    I moved on to Dr. Elsey's chick and turk dry stuff. No gastro problems, but each cat is different.
     
  3. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    Hi, do you trust the "Guaranteed Analysis"? It says zero carbs, but I'm not sure if I trust them.
     
  4. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It's not zero carbs but it is low carb. I believe it's 5% or a bit lower. Guaranteed analysis are bases on minimums and/or maximums. You need the "as fed" information in order to gave a more reliable idea of the carbohydrates. My understanding is that the customer service from Young Again is pretty good so they may be willing to provide the "as fed" carbohydrate information.

    To be honest, I think the issue with Lion's numbers have more to do with how you're dosing. I'd encourage you to go back and re-read the guidelines for SLGS. You were holding the 1.75u dose for overly long. I'm not sure I understand why you dropped the dose on 10/1 and 10/5. I'm also not sure why you didn't shoot at AMPS on 10/5. If anything, you could have stalled for a bit. The guideline for posting and asking for help if the pre-shot number is below 200 is only when you're still very new to FD. Given the amount of data you have, you can easily switch to Tight Regulation (the information is in the link I included) which may be a better way to get Lion's numbers into a better range.

    Also, did you shoot 0.75u tonight or was that a typo?
     
  5. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    Hi. I shot .75u.

    On 10/1/21 he had no nadir for 18 hours. At 6pm he was still headed down. I shot 1.50 and he went so low (while I was sleeping) that the Libre could not read it.

    Today was the same situation. 12 hours with no nadir in sight. Still heading down at 6pm. I shot .75 (half of the 10/1/21 dose) to avoid the extreme drop while I sleep.

    ***note he hypo’d off 235 PMPS at 1.5 on 10/1/21***

    We visit the vet Friday and we'll discuss a dental specialist. There are sores in his mouth which may be contributing to the not eating issue. I will definitely call Young Again. Thank you for that information!
     
  6. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    Its +2 and he's dropped from 273 to 98

    I only gave .75
     
  7. Ann & Sister

    Ann & Sister Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    You say Lion is not eating enough. Is he losing weight? When cats get on a high protein diet like Young Again Zero, Elsey's or Epigen 90, plus insulin, they can eat less.
    I continue to be amazed at how little Sister needs to eat since insulin. She even walks away from her food dish leaving some. She used to be a Hoover. And her weight is very close to what it was back in early June.
    Hugs,
     
  8. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Susan -
    If Lion's BG was reading LOW on 10/1, you needed to reduce the dose. I'm not sure why you dropped the dose at that PMPS in the first place. If Lion dropped that low, you needed to reduce from the 1.5 dose to 1.25 at AMPS. You skipped the AM shot and then returned to the 1.75u dose.

    The nadir is the lowest point in the cycle. I can see nadirs on 10/1 and today. The low points in the cycle would likely be more obvious if you weren't getting hourly readings. In addition, Lantus can yield flat "curves." It's better when you're seeing lower range numbers. If you look at the spreadsheets of a cat that's on an OTJ trial, their numbers are typically all green.

    I don't understand why you opted to reduce the dose tonight. With SLGS, the only time you reduce the dose is if the numbers drop below 90.

    One additional point. When you get a low reading, especially a LOW reading, you need to be testing more than once an hour. While this post on handling low numbers was written for TR, it still applies.
     
  9. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    @Ann & Sister - yes, he has lost .2 at the last 3 vet visits over 6 weeks (so .6 over 6 weeks). The vet said she is more concerned about this weight loss than the numbers she sees on the spreadsheet (I am equally concerned about both.).

    So two weeks ago I added Young Again Zero (he used to eat it about a year ago) and I tried Weruva. So over the last two weeks I feel like its even harder to figure out what's going on, because I have been adding other low carb foods.
     
  10. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    @Sienne and Gabby (GA) – basically at 1.50 he has very high flat curves (you can see this at 9/23 – 9/29). Then he went bonkers high on 9/29. This may have been due to cumulative food changes (all LC) but I do not know.

    When I try to move to 1.75 his number just go bonkers as a whole.

    I reduced the dose tonight because I believe he would have hypo’d while I slept.

    I understand I should be checking numbers more than once an hour when he starts to go low but at some point I have to go sleep.

    So in summary, at 1.50 I have very high curves (first half of day) and at 1.75 I start having 18 hour nadirs.
     
  11. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    I will start over again, but it seems I am trapped in a pattern. 1.50 very high curves, 1.75 I get 18 hour nadirs. And Lion has been losing weight for the last 6 weeks.
     
  12. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I mentioned in your previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-5-lion-nadirs-at-18-hours.253860/ that 1.75 units was too much insulin because of that Lo reading. I see you shot 1.75 units this morning. You meed to reduce to at least 1.5 units and stick with it for at least a week, or unless he goes under 90 again. His high numbers after the reduction were just him bouncing. It can take six cycles for bounces to resolve. Plus you skipped the morning of the 5th causing the depot to deplete. Hopefully with shooting a lower dose, you won't have to skip as many shots.

    You weren't seeing 18 hours nadirs, just the typical wobbling around of numbers you see during a bounce and some later nadirs when the bounce resolves.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  13. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    Hi @Wendy&Neko - Okay, I will do 1.50 for 7 days. What happens at the end of 7 days when all we see are pink and yellow numbers in the first half of the day? (And the 2nd half of the days shows blue numbers)?

    This is exactly what happened 9/23 to 9/29. I held at 1.50 for 7 days. Pink and yellow first half of the day and blue the second half of the day.

    Then on 9/30 and 10/1 I moved to 1.75 and he dropped very low into hypo numbers.

    Thank you
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2021
  14. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    If numbers are not below 90, you would either increase the dose or hold the dose. I would suggest asking for help when you're trying to make a decision.

    I would also strongly encourage you to post on the Lantus/Lev board. It's a very active board and there is much more expertise with regard to using Lantus there than on the Health board.
     
  15. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    Hi, I understand what the SLGS protocol says.

    What I am saying is if I hold at 1.50 his numbers stay very high and if I move 1.75 they drop too low.

    I completely understand what the SLGS protocol says.

    I was not asking for dosing information. I was trying to get information on Young Again Zero cat food.

    I understand the dosing protocol. There are only so many times I can say, "1.50 his numbers stay very high and if I move 1.75 they drop too low."
     
  16. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I believe I answered your question about the cat food.

    Numbers can vary. The dose that works this week may not work next week. Insulin is a hormone and its effectiveness varies depending on any number of factors.
     
  17. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    Thank you. I will call Young Again today.
     
  18. Ann & Sister

    Ann & Sister Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    I know it is so frustrating.
    Sending you hugs today.
    I am just now starting to understand how insulin works in the body sometimes, causing these fluctuations.
    What I think is that when the pancreas kicks in with sufficient insulin, and you have given Lantus, you get a specific BG reading.
    Then when the pancreas fails to kick in sufficiently, and you give Lantus, you see another BG number.
    I used to think that the Lantus was the only player on the field. It isn't. The cat's entire system is contributing.
    And Lion's pancreas is healing itself.
    So I think I better comprehend (now) what Sienne and Gabby is saying.
    And losing weight is of concern, of course.
    Have you tried breaking up the dry kibble into smaller, manageable bites? I did that at first (crushing it inside a baggy), worried about Sister's teeth.
    I also floated kibble in water to soften, and she liked that until she didn't.
    I trust the ingredient percentages.

    Ann & Sis
     
  19. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    Hi Ann,

    We just came back from the vet. He maintained. I can’t tell you the amount of work that took on my part! Lion eats a bit. If I pick up the bowl and move it one foot he forgets he just ate and eats again. We can do that dance 5 times each morning!

    He doesn’t otherwise seem to have a bad memory and otherwise acts normally!

    He is eating the Young Again Zero right now. Hopefully that will continue. I’m also leaving the Friskies out. I called YA and they confirmed the carbs are 1%. So that seems okay.

    What you are saying makes perfect sense. Sometimes I can shoot 300 and there is no change all day and sometimes I can shoot 300 and he nose dives. The vet also confirmed today the appetite stimulant does not have sugar in it. So – hopefully if I can keep all the foods and appetite stimulant and Lantus stable, I may be able to get to 1.75.

    But! One of the sores in his mouth was confirmed to be larger. It sounds like dental surgery is on the horizon. We think he is biting down on the gum. So that definitely won’t help stabilize things – at least in the short term.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page