Sarah Gamm
Member Since 2020
My Young Again cat food came yesterday, so as of today Charlie is on 100% Young Again. Saturday’s are usually dose-increase day. Should I hold off on a dose increase and see how he changes with the food?
Thankfully he’s doing so much betterHere’s your previous post for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dose-increase.237937/#post-2671546
Ok that’s what I thought. I’ll give it a couple days maybeI would give the food change a few cycles to see what it does beforeincreasing.
So with that in mind, should I shoot 3u at the spam shot? He’s increasing as the day goes onDepending on how much of the YA you were feeding Charlie, you may not need to wait more than a day to adjust the dose.
Also, you've been monitoring Charlie's BG since September. While this is the first blue pre-shot, It was likely fine to shoot. You might have considered stalling (don't feed your kitty, wait for 20 min or so, then retest and see if numbers are rising -- you can repeat if necessary). The options (i.e., stalling, shooting a slightly lowered dose, skipping) are explained in the dosing methods sticky.
Ultimately, you want to be able to shoot progressively lower numbers. With Lantus, when you shoot lower numbers, you may see a flat cycle. If you look at some of the spreadsheets where members are shooting low pre-shot numbers, you'll typically see great numbers. The basic idea is "shoot low to stay low."
You are seeing nice blues today. I don’t think 3 units will be his dose. Let’s see the rest of the day and the pmps.
Pmps is 21.5I’m thinking 2.5 which is lower than the previous dose. Let’s see what others think. Do get a PMPS to see where he’s at and post it.
Ok 2.5 it is. Thank youTry it. It can be adjusted as needed.