? Young Again = no dose increase?

Sarah Gamm

Member Since 2020
My Young Again cat food came yesterday, so as of today Charlie is on 100% Young Again. Saturday’s are usually dose-increase day. Should I hold off on a dose increase and see how he changes with the food?
 
So Charlie threw me for a loop this morning and his blood sugar was 9.6 (aka 172). I retested and it was 9.1 (aka 164)!

So it’s a no shoot morning! I will watch him throughout the day, but if he starts increasing I don’t give him anything until pmps, correct?
 
Depending on how much of the YA you were feeding Charlie, you may not need to wait more than a day to adjust the dose.

Also, you've been monitoring Charlie's BG since September. While this is the first blue pre-shot, It was likely fine to shoot. You might have considered stalling (don't feed your kitty, wait for 20 min or so, then retest and see if numbers are rising -- you can repeat if necessary). The options (i.e., stalling, shooting a slightly lowered dose, skipping) are explained in the dosing methods sticky.

Ultimately, you want to be able to shoot progressively lower numbers. With Lantus, when you shoot lower numbers, you may see a flat cycle. If you look at some of the spreadsheets where members are shooting low pre-shot numbers, you'll typically see great numbers. The basic idea is "shoot low to stay low."
 
Depending on how much of the YA you were feeding Charlie, you may not need to wait more than a day to adjust the dose.

Also, you've been monitoring Charlie's BG since September. While this is the first blue pre-shot, It was likely fine to shoot. You might have considered stalling (don't feed your kitty, wait for 20 min or so, then retest and see if numbers are rising -- you can repeat if necessary). The options (i.e., stalling, shooting a slightly lowered dose, skipping) are explained in the dosing methods sticky.

Ultimately, you want to be able to shoot progressively lower numbers. With Lantus, when you shoot lower numbers, you may see a flat cycle. If you look at some of the spreadsheets where members are shooting low pre-shot numbers, you'll typically see great numbers. The basic idea is "shoot low to stay low."
So with that in mind, should I shoot 3u at the spam shot? He’s increasing as the day goes on
 
You are seeing nice blues today. I don’t think 3 units will be his dose. Let’s see the rest of the day and the pmps.
 
I’m thinking 2.5 which is lower than the previous dose. Let’s see what others think. Do get a PMPS to see where he’s at and post it.
 
I’m thinking 2.5 which is lower than the previous dose. Let’s see what others think. Do get a PMPS to see where he’s at and post it.
Pmps is 21.5

I’m thinking 2.5 units. We were on three units before we switched over exclusively to young again food
 
Back
Top