Update: I found a supplier who has d zero range. Hv ordered.I read from this forum that young again cat food is good for diabetic cats. I can only find YA mature food. Is dat ok? They don't carry the zero range here. Plse let me know asap so I can order asap. Thanks!
Thanks for your reply! I'm thinking of letting him graze on this when I'm at work and at night. Will still giv him wet food before the shots.@JanetNJ I'm not sure if you saw the question about adjusting the dose.
I don't have experience with vetsulin but I think you need to monitor carefully when cutting out all carbs. If you're just adding it to graze on during the day you might get away with testing like you have been. I'm sure Janet will chime in if she hasn't already answered your question in another thread.
Honestly the numbers haven't really come down yet so I think k it's OK to just stick to the scale for now. I like your idea of wet at preshots. That's what I did too.Hi Janet, do I need to adjust the insulin dose before I give him the food? Just stick to ur scale ?
Ya I kept staring at the numbers and hoping and praying for better numbers each time I tested him. Sigh! Looks like I Hv to increase dose soon.Honestly the numbers haven't really come down yet so I think k it's OK to just stick to the scale for now. I like your idea of wet at preshots. That's what I did too.
Wait until after the food change for any BIG dose increases, but I think it's worth a try to raise everything a tad bit. ... So if you'd normally give a 3, go to 3.25, ect.Ya I kept staring at the numbers and hoping and praying for better numbers each time I tested him. Sigh! Looks like I Hv to increase dose soon.
I was so happy when he gobbled up YA yesterday. But he's not interested today. I grind them n sprinkled into his wet food. Smart boy knew it n stayed away from eating.I'm a huge fan of the YAZC kibble.
Don't give it for a few days and see. Maybe he ate a lot that first day and it gave him a tummy ache.I was so happy when he gobbled up YA yesterday. But he's not interested today. I grind them n sprinkled into his wet food. Smart boy knew it n stayed away from eating.
U think so? His stool today is a bit soft but similar when he was on all wet. Same stinky smellDon't give it for a few days and see. Maybe he ate a lot that first day and it gave him a tummy ache.
If the preshots are mid pink, yes I would up it. We want to see him closer to 100 at nadir.U think so? His stool today is a bit soft but similar when he was on all wet. Same stinky smell
So he's back in pink for Pmps. U think I shld up to 3.2u from tmr? I can do a curve every 3 hrs tmr.
If he has soft stools, have you tried adding FortiFlora to his food? It's a probiotic. It's been helping one of my cats this week who is prone to bouts of diarrhea.U think so? His stool today is a bit soft but similar when he was on all wet. Same stinky smell
So he's back in pink for Pmps. U think I shld up to 3.2u from tmr? I can do a curve every 3 hrs tmr.
I don't Hv fortiflora but I do have H2opro which I bought from states. I can try that.If he has soft stools, have you tried adding FortiFlora to his food? It's a probiotic. It's been helping one of my cats this week who is prone to bouts of diarrhea.
Ok so maybe check hours amps, 5, 6, 7, pmpsI don't Hv fortiflora but I do have H2opro which I bought from states. I can try that.
Ok tmr I'll up to 3.2 n c wats d reading at nadir. I thk do every 3 hrs wld suffice? His lowest I noticed is at +6.
Hi hi, I got 2 blues today at +7 n +9!Ok so maybe check hours amps, 5, 6, 7, pmps
That's great! Had he gone back to eating the young again? What did he eat at +3? That probably kept him in the yellows, then when the food wore off he dropped into the blues.Hi hi, I got 2 blues today at +7 n +9!
Dats a bit unusual don't u thk?
I sprinkled a tablespoon of YA at +3.5 n after +7. But d meal after that (after +7) was without YA. After +10 test, he was rubbing the YA package so I gave him some n he ate! But he still asked for wet so I mixed with Ground YA n he finished it. Phew! He's getting used to it. It's really bringing down the numbers, doesn't it?That's great! Had he gone back to eating the young again? What did he eat at +3? That probably kept him in the yellows, then when the food wore off he dropped into the blues.
Seems to be.... Glad he gave it another try. If you look at my spreadsheet you can see it really made a difference. I put a black bar indicating when I started it.I sprinkled a tablespoon of YA at +3.5 n after +7. But d meal after that (after +7) was without YA. After +10 test, he was rubbing the YA package so I gave him some n he ate! But he still asked for wet so I mixed with Ground YA n he finished it. Phew! He's getting used to it. It's really bringing down the numbers, doesn't it?
Yes I checked yours! And I figured the food is giving me the figures even tho I only gave a little. Can't imagine if he has more of YA. Do u think I shld stick with 2.8u if his pmps hits low 300? I'll b adding more YA to his meals. I'm thinking even going 2.4u. Wat do u think?Seems to be.... Glad he gave it another try. If you look at my spreadsheet you can see it really made a difference. I put a black bar indicating when I started it.
In 40 minutes' time.When is the pmps?
I would stick to the 2.8 if it's the high 200's and 3 if in the 300's's.... The blues you got are nice but not low enough yet....we want to see numbers that are around 80-110.Yes I checked yours! And I figured the food is giving me the figures even tho I only gave a little. Can't imagine if he has more of YA. Do u think I shld stick with 2.8u if his pmps hits low 300? I'll b adding more YA to his meals. I'm thinking even going 2.4u. Wat do u think?
Ok! Will do that later. But I wouldn't want to see a blue n then he bounces the whole night. He'll become restless n keep us up whole night. But tmr I'll be out whole day so I'll b very conservative n lower d dosage.I would stick to the 2.8 if it's the high 200's and 3 if in the 300's's.... The blues you got are nice but not low enough yet....we want to see numbers that are around 80-110.
I doubt it will be significantly lower than the numbers now that it causes bouncing.... Well let's see what happensOk! Will do that later. But I wouldn't want to see a blue n then he bounces the whole night. He'll become restless n keep us up whole night. But tmr I'll be out whole day so I'll b very conservative n lower d dosage.
Yup it's 331. I'm just learning to navigate thru 200 n 300's. Lower numbers scare me.I doubt it will be significantly lower than the numbers now that it causes bouncing.... Well let's see what happens
Don't be scared.... It's what you want to see. Glad you stayed with 3.Yup it's 331. I'm just learning to navigate thru 200 n 300's. Lower numbers scare me.