Yoshi amps 447 +5 374 pmps259

Stressedcatmom

Member Since 2017
I realized when I got home last night that I only had three testing strips. Amazon is late on delivering my strips for the Alpha track2 meter. Won’t be in till tomorrow.

I was reading that you can use free style light or something strips in the alpha 2 if you kept the cat code (my meter is set at 38) can anyone advise on which strips to get? Hopefully my Walmart carries them. I have a call into my vet to see if she can give me some of her alpha 2 strips till tomo

Thank you
 
Well shocker my vet won’t sell me any. Here is what my Walmart has
 

Attachments

  • 756739CF-EB5C-4CF6-B826-3A00FEB37CD5.jpeg
    756739CF-EB5C-4CF6-B826-3A00FEB37CD5.jpeg
    80.5 KB · Views: 116
@MrWorfMen's Mom sorry to bother you again but I saw u posted about this a while ago. Do I just ask for the freestyle light strips at my pharmacy? I can go back to the alpha track two strips once I get them
 
I just called a few places and freestyle lite test strips are ranging between 80-100$.... that’s more than alpha track 2. Unless there is another brand?
 
Pffft. Well, for that price, you'd be better off just getting a cheap (human) meter and using the strips that come with it to tide you over for the next day. The numbers won't be comparable to your other numbers, but at least you'd be able to keep Yoshi safe in a pinch (our cats read their condos, and they always know to go low when you are running low on strips!). Then you'd have something as a backup, too.
 
Pffft. Well, for that price, you'd be better off just getting a cheap (human) meter and using the strips that come with it to tide you over for the next day. The numbers won't be comparable to your other numbers, but at least you'd be able to keep Yoshi safe in a pinch (our cats read their condos, and they always know to go low when you are running low on strips!). Then you'd have something as a backup, too.
The regular freestyle strips are way cheaper. I’m just not sure if they are using those or freestyle lite.

I’ll wait a bit to hear back from someone. Yoshi totally knows I now have one strip left.
 
There are people who do use them.
Is there another Walmart close to you that has FreeStyle Lite strips in stock? If so, call them so you are not driving around like a crazy cat person. The Walmart website shows FreeStyle Lite strips much cheaper than $100.
It would be good to have a back-up meter. You never know when/if you will need one.
There are deals/places where you get a free meter if you buy strips.
Here is a map of places that sell FreeStyle Lite products. https://www.myfreestyle.com/where-to-buy
 
"The AT2 meter is modeled on the old Freestyle Freedom Lite meter that required coding. It is made by Abbott and marketed as a specialty pet product by Zoetis who bought back the marketing rights to the meter from Abbott when Abbott closed their Animal division. The strips for the Freestyle meter and the AT2 meter are the same strips however the strips marketed as AT2 strips have been batched tested to determine which cat or dog code on the AT2 meter will elicit the most pet lab accurate results. Without the correct code for the specific batch of strips, your results will generally be in the ballpark but not as accurate as is possible with the correct code. There are at least 8 cat codes for the AT2 meter." From Post #15 here
 
The Freestyle Lite strips are the right ones and available at the pharmacy and I assume you have to ask for them as we so here. The problem is that the branding and packaging in the US can be different from that here in Canada. You want the strips that work in the Freestyle Lite, Freestyle Freedom Lite meters. In Canada, the Insulinx meter strips are not packaged separately as they are the same strips but you may be able to find those at lower cost in the US.

As far as coding is concerned, just leave the AT2 meter code the same as it currently is. While the results won't be as accurate as it possible, they will be in the ballpark.
Interestingly, I've seen folks from the US report paying more for Freestyle Lite strips than we pay here in Canada. Seems to depend on where you are located. The only deals seem to be online although they are still cheaper to some degree than the AT2 strips.
 
The Freestyle Lite strips are the right ones and available at the pharmacy and I assume you have to ask for them as we so here. The problem is that the branding and packaging in the US can be different from that here in Canada. You want the strips that work in the Freestyle Lite, Freestyle Freedom Lite meters. In Canada, the Insulinx meter strips are not packaged separately as they are the same strips but you may be able to find those at lower cost in the US.

As far as coding is concerned, just leave the AT2 meter code the same as it currently is. While the results won't be as accurate as it possible, they will be in the ballpark.
Interestingly, I've seen folks from the US report paying more for Freestyle Lite strips than we pay here in Canada. Seems to depend on where you are located. The only deals seem to be online although they are still cheaper to some degree than the AT2 strips.
Yet another reason to move to Canada....

Everything I am seeing instore in the states for insulinx and freestyle lite is 99$ for 50. I called my Walmart and that is why they quoted me. I will call cvs now. They are cheaper online, but I need them now.

I could go get a relion prime meter and strips but I am scared I will freak out with the numbers. Is that meter ok?
 
Well I just called around. I have no choice they’re all $99 or something. I guess I’ll just have to bite the bullet and get a human meter and use it until my strips come in.

Is relion prime ok? I’m gonna need help w dosing tonight. I’ll save my one alpha track strip for the am since I have to go to wk
 
The Relion Prime is fine although it takes a slightly larger blood sample. You may freak out at the numbers initially but you'll come to enjoy them with time. ;)
 
The Relion Prime is fine although it takes a slightly larger blood sample. You may freak out at the numbers initially but you'll come to enjoy them with time. ;)
Any other suggestions for a cheap human meter? If not we will just have a poking party.

I think I’m just gonna use the human meter for now because I’m desperate and go back to the alpha track once I get my strips. My vet and I are on SUPER thin ice (Especially because she just told me that she didn’t have enough alpha track strips to lend me a few). I have his dental scheduled for 16 October so I have to play my cards right until then. If I switch to a human meter she would totally break up with me.
 
It is always good to have a backup meter. I have read funny stories of the meter being microwaved instead of the rice sock, in the middle of the night, or kitty using a tail to flick the meter into a water fountain. OK, funny to me maybe, :p not to the caregivers who had no open stores at the time.

Our dosing methods are written with numbers from human meters. You use the spreadsheet, not your vet. Your choice. Try searching for meters with smaller blood drop. Check out this post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...r-ratings-comparisons-recommendations.156388/
 
If I switch to a human meter she would totally break up with me.
LOL! I broke up with my vet(s) a long time ago. I only consult with a vet for other things...and minimally discuss her diabetes...and use a top quality human meter...all of the meters at Walmart are as good as the next as long as the strips are in stock that match the meter. I have several in the back up drawer - just in case.

I think you'll like the human meter, especially if you get one of them that requires a smaller drop - it's certainly liberating to be able to test as often as you like without worrying about the cost of those darn strips :)
 
I think @JanetNJ also uses an AT2 and has used the Freestyle strips-- she might be able to advise here. I know that the strips do work in the AT2, but I don't know how the coding works.
I have an alpha and use freestyle insulinx strips. They are usually available on amazon and I often but them on eBay.

I ran out of strips once and after that made sure I always had a few back up boxes. Right now I have 11 vials of 50 extra. Down from 24 boxes. Lolol. Maybe that's excessive. Haha.

The insulinx strips I've found to be accurate and I keep the code on 38
 
Back
Top