Yoshi 9/2 amps 362 pmps 391? Discouraged

I know it's hard. Once we're sure that the depot has filled and you're getting a true picture of what this dose is doing for him, you can increase if needed. It does take a little time, but it will start to take effect. For an example of what it can look like when things finally do get going, check out Blaze's progress today: Help?? 9/2/19- Blaze AMPS 351, +3 284, +5 252, +7 227, +10 182, PMPS 118. He was on a different insulin and just started Lantus on Saturday.
 
I know it's hard. Once we're sure that the depot has filled and you're getting a true picture of what this dose is doing for him, you can increase if needed. It does take a little time, but it will start to take effect. For an example of what it can look like when things finally do get going, check out Blaze's progress today: Help?? 9/2/19- Blaze AMPS 351, +3 284, +5 252, +7 227, +10 182, PMPS 118. He was on a different insulin and just started Lantus on Saturday.
Thank you for your reassurance. Gah. I hope I don't have to increase. Yoshi started Lantus on Saturday as well. Tell Blaze to send him good cat vibes!! Those are awesome numbers!
 
Glad your SS is up!!

Have you decided what protocol/method to follow?

It takes about 6 cycles for the depot to fill and Yoshi might have been in high numbers for a while so you may see some insulin resistance at first.
 
Don’t be discouraged, you can do this! :bighug: And don’t worry if you have to increase. The second time around a cat may need as much or more insulin as they did the first time. Almost everyone on here has to increase to find the fitting dose. Blaze is not a good example to compare Yoshi with, as he is a very newly diagnosed diabetic. Remember, every cat is different.
 
Please don't get overly focused on the amount of insulin. your cat is getting. Your cat needs whatever the amount is that gets him in good numbers.

@Crista & Ming - when a kitty is starting on Lantus or Lev, it takes 5 - 7 days for the depot to become establishes. Once the depot has formed, it takes approximately 3 days to adjust to a dose change.
 
Please don't get discouraged...shall I send you the patience pants? You guys are just getting started...look around at some other kitties SS's - especially in the beginning...many don't show any progress for quite some time...and this is a waiting game...just keep making adjustments according to protocol...when you get to the sweet spot, he'll respond.

As I was told way back when, this is a marathon, not a sprint. Hang in there!:bighug:
 
Please don't get overly focused on the amount of insulin. your cat is getting. Your cat needs whatever the amount is that gets him in good numbers.

@Crista & Ming - when a kitty is starting on Lantus or Lev, it takes 5 - 7 days for the depot to become establishes. Once the depot has formed, it takes approximately 3 days to adjust to a dose change.
I think it’s pretty clear that I will give my cat whatever he needs. this is just really frustrating. He reacted way way better on prozinc. I am mad at my vet for not knowing about this depot. I am scared of keytones
 
Does Yoshi have a history of ketones or DKA? If not, I'd be less concerned. The "recipe" for ketones is the presence of an infection/inflammation + not eating + not enough insulin. It looks like Yoshi is eating which doesn't usually happen if a kitty isn't feeling well.

Please keep in mind that for most of us, we didn't know exactly when our cat actually became diabetic or why. There are many of us, myself included, who had a cat with DKA and switched from a shorter acting insulin to Lantus. I never had a problem with a DKA kitty and the switch.
 
upload_2019-9-3_13-52-25.jpeg
 
Back
Top