Yoshi 10/23 am 383 +10 452 pmps 450 +3.5 224 +6 67

Stressedcatmom

Member Since 2017
Hi, I am updating at wk and can't remember his exact number this am. I am assuming he is bouncing as he for sure reached blue last night (was on the cusp at +5.45). I set the alarm for 1:30 am and saw a 201 (alpha track). I wish I could have stayed up to see how low he went, but I couldn't.

Also, he seems to respond better to the insulin since I started to use the longer needles with 1U markings. The .5 needles were too short for us. He has a lot of skin, so I never really knew if it was getting all the way "in" and I had some pretty wonky shooting area placement sometimes. I feel much more comfortable with the longer needle.

Hope everyone has a great day!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/yosh-10-22-am-362-2-5-355-pmps-282-5-45-201.220740/
 
Yay - it's really great that he is starting to respond - but why do the lower numbers always come at inconvenient times (ie 1 am)?
It's good you are more comfortable with the longer needles - i am just the opposite - the long needles freak me out
 
With TR you can increase after 6 cycles without seeing a greenie.

However if you can't monitor until Friday, perhaps the thing to do is give him an increase on Thursday night. It may take him a while to adjust to his new dose.
 
With TR you can increase after 6 cycles without seeing a greenie.

However if you can't monitor until Friday, perhaps the thing to do is give him an increase on Thursday night. It may take him a while to adjust to his new dose.
I feel comfortable with that. Thank you. I shot 4.5 and will check BG before bed
 
Yes, the 66 (AT) earned him a reduction. New dose is 4.25u.

I see a recent dental. Any antibiotics come home with him?
The got the cornevia (sp) shot. I know many people don’t like it, but he hadn’t had a problem with it before. He had quite a bit of dental work. His teeth were pretty bad. I had a feeling he would drop after he healed a bit. Going to test again
 
The got the cornevia (sp) shot. I know many people don’t like it, but he hadn’t had a problem with it before. He had quite a bit of dental work. His teeth were pretty bad. I had a feeling he would drop after he healed a bit. Going to test again
After his first major dental (8 or so extractions) we came home with antibiotics. It seemed like one he finished the antibiotics it was “fasten your seatbelts” time.
 
Oh I know.
He had the dental on 12/08/2008 and finished the antibiotics on 12/14/2008. If you look at his ss from a small distance by the end of December the red is gone and we are down from 13u to 9u.

That was one heck of a drop Yoshi had tonight. Completely out of pattern.

What’s the WCR?
All Ps in place?
 
He had the dental on 12/08/2008 and finished the antibiotics on 12/14/2008. If you look at his ss from a small distance by the end of December the red is gone and we are down from 13u to 9u.

That was one heck of a drop Yoshi had tonight. Completely out of pattern.

What’s the WCR?
All Ps in place?
Wow. Thank you for sharing your story. It is one heck of a drop. Since his dental I’ve been scared about him dropping (I’ve read that many cats go hypo after a dental heals), so I’ve been setting my alarm at 1 or 130 to try and catch something. Tonight he woke me up before the alarm.

He seems fine. Pooing and peeing and purring. Talkative, alert. He’s not too playful today. He’s kind of surly, but that’s kind of who he is. The only weird thing is that he’s drinking water like he’s in the higher numbers (drinking right now). I tested for keytones and the strip seems to be low to trace. I will test keytones again in am.

Going to test in a few min
 
He had the dental on 12/08/2008 and finished the antibiotics on 12/14/2008. If you look at his ss from a small distance by the end of December the red is gone and we are down from 13u to 9u.

That was one heck of a drop Yoshi had tonight. Completely out of pattern.

What’s the WCR?
All Ps in place?
He’s 86. I think we are out of the woods. Should I leave some lc or hc food down so he doesn’t bounce off the charts? I have wk in the am and need like 3 hours sleep. I hope you don’t have to get up early :/

Thank you so much for helping us!!! So nice meeting you! I’m sure I will talk to you soon :bighug:
 
He’s 86. I think we are out of the woods. Should I leave some lc or hc food down so he doesn’t bounce off the charts? I have wk in the am and need like 3 hours sleep. I hope you don’t have to get up early :/

Thank you so much for helping us!!! So nice meeting you! I’m sure I will talk to you soon :bighug:
Yes, leave some food out. Maybe half lc/ half HC.
Ill look for you tomorrow :cool:

Oh and please update the ss so folks know what transpired ;)
 
Waw! What a night you two had! :bighug: Congrats on the reducie! Hope you will see better numbers from now on! You did a great job kipping him safe.
 
Congratulations on the reduction. My kitty used to drink water when he was low too.
Hopefully the dental is helping him reduce his insulin needs. Fingers crossed.
I used the syringes with 1/2 unit marks and the long needles. Can you find those for better accuracy?
 
I don’t think so. His brothers dish is high up in a place that he can’t get to. There was literally one piece on the floor that his brother could’ve kicked down and he found it
Are you sure??
I speak from experience, we have some outdoor farm cats that got abandonded here, I fed (note the past tense) them kibble placed it high up on a window sill in our courtyard, thinking BFG, my 20 year old arthritic cat, would not be able to get up there ( I haven't seen him jump up on anything higher than a chair or sofa in years), we were on vacation, and my petsitter let him out into the courtyard, unsupervised, that night he was in the the high yellows with the FS lite meter(red with my usual meter), she stopped letting him out and within 24 -48 hrs he was getting back to normal BG, thankfully still OTJ.
anyways, now even the outdoor cats get a LC wet:rolleyes:
 

I can try. My civvy is on ID digestive care cuz sensitive stomach. Sometimes wet food gives him diarrhea and prefers dry. I suppose I can put a probiotic in the wet for him.
I want to share the story of Scooter, a diabetic kitty who lived with non diabetic kitties. His CG was pretty sure he was not getting into the other kitties kibble. On 02/18/2014 all kibble was removed from the house. To say the results were dramatic is an understatement.

Food for thought :cool:

507B7BBA-15AE-4781-8A6E-BDF5D026A370.jpeg
 
Back
Top