Yoshi 10/14 amps 406 +10 397 pmps 411

Stressedcatmom

Member Since 2017
Hi everyone,

It was my birthday weekend, and quite hectic so I took a break from posting. Yoshi is now at 4.5 units and still in the red and pinks. Dental is Wednesday at noon. Waiting to hear from vet on instructions, but will rely mostly on you as far as dosing is concerned.

Once I get my questions answered from the vet, I will post to the main health forum with questions for the board. I asked her if I should skip the am dose, half dose or full dose. I also asked if he could eat past 10pm (the tech told me not to feed after 10p) since he's diabetic. Also asked if she will monitor BG and if he will be prescribed an antibiotic and painkillers.

I really hope he truly needs this and it will help make his numbers go down. He doesn't seem to be in much mouth pain, but I know cats can hide it.
 
A happy belated birthday to you Jennifer! Everything is moving slowly, but it is finally dental week. Cats are notorious for hiding pain. They deal with it a lot better than we do! I'm cheering for your Yoshi, whether the high BGs are dental related or not. Regarding insulin, he needs what he needs:) fits.
Take care of yourself too!
 
Paws crossed here on good dental results. He will feel better with those bad teeth out.

Here is the link to your Feline Health post. Not all of us go over to the Health forum regularly. You will get more comments here.

The link to your last post here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/yoshi-10-9-amps-440.220275/#post-2457824

After the dental, I encourage you to think in terms of 0.5 unit increases. His lowest numbers are still pink. When they are stuck up there, they need larger dose changes to get their attention and move them.
 
Make sure they get x-rays, before and after (if there are extractions). Cats do hide pain well, and there can be a lot going on under the gumline that you'd never know about without x-rays.

My kitties have always recovered immediately from dentals, even the diabetic, even with extractions. Straight to the food bowl as soon as they get out of the carrier! Pain meds and antibiotics are critical if they have extractions, though, so that new problems don't surface a week later.

Good luck to Yoshi! I hope it helps bring his numbers down some. Enough of the pinks and reds.
 
A happy belated birthday to you Jennifer! Everything is moving slowly, but it is finally dental week. Cats are notorious for hiding pain. They deal with it a lot better than we do! I'm cheering for your Yoshi, whether the high BGs are dental related or not. Regarding insulin, he needs what he needs:) fits.
Take care of yourself too!
Thank you!
 
Paws crossed here on good dental results. He will feel better with those bad teeth out.

Here is the link to your Feline Health post. Not all of us go over to the Health forum regularly. You will get more comments here.

The link to your last post here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/yoshi-10-9-amps-440.220275/#post-2457824

After the dental, I encourage you to think in terms of 0.5 unit increases. His lowest numbers are still pink. When they are stuck up there, they need larger dose changes to get their attention and move them.
I don't know why I thought feline health would have more eyes. Anyway, thanks!
 
Phoebe Squeak is having her dental on Thursday, so we are with you and Yoshi in spirit!
Interesting how there seems to be a couple different protocols. I was told to stop food at midnight & that water is OK in am. I was also told to give 1/2 dose in the morning, but I contacted the doctor to explain that because Phoebe Squeak is not regulated, she sometimes has dramatic slides down even with her food, so I'd feel best not giving her any insulin that morning. He agreed to let me skip it.
We will be watching closely for updates from you and we're sending prayers and healing vines to you & Yoshi!
 
Phoebe Squeak is having her dental on Thursday, so we are with you and Yoshi in spirit!
Interesting how there seems to be a couple different protocols. I was told to stop food at midnight & that water is OK in am. I was also told to give 1/2 dose in the morning, but I contacted the doctor to explain that because Phoebe Squeak is not regulated, she sometimes has dramatic slides down even with her food, so I'd feel best not giving her any insulin that morning. He agreed to let me skip it.
We will be watching closely for updates from you and we're sending prayers and healing vines to you & Yoshi!
Thank you so much. I’m so nervous. I have yet to hear from the vet, but I will update when I do, and of course update a lot after the procedure and the days following.

Lots of love to phoebe squeak and papa yosh!!
 
I say play it by ear on the AM dose. Most of the times I gave half dose as suggested (except when I fur shotted, sigh!), but one time I knew she was breaking a bounce so gave her a token 0.1 units. She still got to 72 on the vet’s AT :nailbiting:. But I knew she was getting monitored frequently at the dental specialist.

There are anesthesia feeding protocols for non and diabetics, and older and newer ones. It also depends when the procedure will be, ideally you want first thing, instead of hanging around the clinic with no food in them.
 
I say play it by ear on the AM dose. Most of the times I gave half dose as suggested (except when I fur shotted, sigh!), but one time I knew she was breaking a bounce so gave her a token 0.1 units. She still got to 72 on the vet’s AT :nailbiting:. But I knew she was getting monitored frequently at the dental specialist.

There are anesthesia feeding protocols for non and diabetics, and older and newer ones. It also depends when the procedure will be, ideally you want first thing, instead of hanging around the clinic with no food in them.
His procedure is at noon and I drop him off at 8. I think there are set times that they do dentals. I couldn’t get anything earlier. The thought of him in a cage w no food makes me want to cry
 
I’m starting to question how much insulin is getting in him. I moved to the smaller needles because of half unit markings and I always second guess if it went in. :banghead:
 
I say play it by ear on the AM dose. Most of the times I gave half dose as suggested (except when I fur shotted, sigh!), but one time I knew she was breaking a bounce so gave her a token 0.1 units. She still got to 72 on the vet’s AT :nailbiting:. But I knew she was getting monitored frequently at the dental specialist.

There are anesthesia feeding protocols for non and diabetics, and older and newer ones. It also depends when the procedure will be, ideally you want first thing, instead of hanging around the clinic with no food in them.
 

Attachments

  • E09AB681-4F8A-4397-A735-7B9082B058CB.png
    E09AB681-4F8A-4397-A735-7B9082B058CB.png
    166.5 KB · Views: 110
Simbadol is buprenorphine, a good one for pain. Onsior is an anti inflammatory, and should be given a max of three days. Here is the manufacturers website. Onsior isn't my favourite, as it is an NSAID. No mention of antibiotic or what anesthesia drug. Which they won't usually tell you unless you ask.
 
She just got back to me and said if she checked his BG before and after surgery she would charge 45$ And that if I wanted a shot of Cornevia (sp), she would give it (additional fee).

It sounds like she wasn’t going to check his blood glucose or prescribe an antibiotic unless I asked for it. This woman is seriously working my nerves. I cannot wait to be done with the dental and switch vets.

I actually overheard her in the back last I was there saying that she didn’t like dealing with diabetics. She didn’t know I was in the room.

She told me to skip the am dose, and to be honest I think I feel more comfortable with that because I don’t trust that she will be as diligent as I hoped she would be.

She said he can’t eat after midnight.
 
Last edited:
I wish for days of true healthcare and common decency coming before money. That burns me up over charging so much to test BG twice. My vet would likely charge something similar.
Did she say anything about blood glucose over a certain number preventing surgery? Just curious - sometimes that is done with humans.
I have to find a new vet too.
 
I wish for days of true healthcare and common decency coming before money. That burns me up over charging so much to test BG twice. My vet would likely charge something similar.
Did she say anything about blood glucose over a certain number preventing surgery? Just curious - sometimes that is done with humans.
I have to find a new vet too.
Amen. I’m still shaking after her email.

Well, if any of us are looking for work we can test BG for $25 a pop! We can do a fire sale initially: Two tests for $40! Unreal.
 
I wish for days of true healthcare and common decency coming before money. That burns me up over charging so much to test BG twice. My vet would likely charge something similar.
Did she say anything about blood glucose over a certain number preventing surgery? Just curious - sometimes that is done with humans.
I have to find a new vet too.
She didn’t mention a number. She said she had to check him before surgery for safety.

Watch him be too high or low for the procedure. :/
 
And that if I wanted a shot of Cornevia (sp), she would give it (additional fee).
Convenia is an antibiotic best for skin conditions. A lot of vets use it because it's a shot, hence caregivers don't need to keep giving pills or liquid daily. Unless Yoshi has had Convenia before, you might want to ask for a different AB.
Watch him be too high or low for the procedure. :/
Neko was 72 on the AT (reduction point 68) just before one dentals and in the high 400's before another dental. Don't think you need to worry about that.
 
Why wouldn’t she check BG.... we check BG before, during, and after dentals with diabetic patients. They sometimes go lower during anesthesia.

I hope you’re able to find another vet after this as well. Have you been shopping or know a vet you want yet?
 
Yeah, I'd skip the Convenia as well, and just see if Yoshi needs extractions before thinking about antibiotics. He likely won't need them if they just do a cleaning, and if he does need them, there are better ones for this kind of thing.
 
Yeah, I'd skip the Convenia as well, and just see if Yoshi needs extractions before thinking about antibiotics. He likely won't need them if they just do a cleaning, and if he does need them, there are better ones for this kind of thing.
It’s pretty likely he will need at least three. Do you have any suggestions for an antibiotic?
 
Why wouldn’t she check BG.... we check BG before, during, and after dentals with diabetic patients. They sometimes go lower during anesthesia.

I hope you’re able to find another vet after this as well. Have you been shopping or know a vet you want yet?
I’m going to go back to my old vet. They had a fire, so I started going to this one. Primarily because they are open late and on the weekends. The old vet is up and running again
 
Back
Top