? Yoshi 1/22 amps 285 +2 298 +11 232

Stressedcatmom

Member Since 2017
Hi everyone,

Yoshi is finally seeing some yellows on Lev! It’s so nice to see him feeling better. He’s just been laying around for over a week in the pinks and reds. He is way more alert and active and currently meowing and searching for food. I have to wait an hour til preshot.

Posting this here to give some hope to anyone switching to Lev. A couple of acro questions:

68 is the take action number for AT2, is the take action number higher now since he is acro? I found a Acro fb page, and a lady told me it should be higher because he is high dose, and that acros usually have a more difficult time coming up after low numbers?

Cab order is filled, but I’m hesitant to start because I’m at work all day, and if cab works for him, I am scared he will go hypo when I’m at wk. my only other choice is to wait until April when I go on summer break, but I fear that will be too long of a wait... I ordered the liquid and it is 100mcg/ml (what is mcg?) and it says to give .75ml once a day.

@Wendy&Neko @Olive & Paula @Pamela & Amethyst and anyone else...

Also, What number is too low to shoot at ps for an acro?

THANK YOU
 
Last edited:
For Ollie, caber didn't start to have an effect until 10 days as far as seeing green numbers, HOWEVER, the greens could have also been because dosecrease she had just received.

I don't think you have to worry to much. If you are monitoring, you will be fine. There might come a time or 2 when all of a sudden and with no warning you will have a cycle or 2 that goes crazy. You will skip shots, do large reducies. Remember you are dealing with a tumor that will do what it wants to when it wants to. The point of caber is to hopefully inhibit some of its activity. There will be times caber is holding the tumor steady and then revv up and times it decides to quit for awhile.

Don't wait to start. Keep monitoring. Pay attention to Yoshi symptoms and if they decrease. Ollie started at a lower dose. I

Another tip. When you get the caber. Look at the markings on the side of bottle. When you get to 1 1/2 lines from bottom of bottle, it's time to call for a refill. Or 3 weeks from starting it.

My reducie number is 60. For no shoot number I really don't have one. But I did not shoot a 54 that she had. I have shot 87. It depends if I'm home and what previous cycles were like. Look at Ollie's ss from 12/18/19 through Christmas. It was a wild ride. Went down 1+ units fast. It might have been scary, tiring but the good news less insulin overall. It doesn't happen often but when it does it's a good thing.
 
Last edited:
I found a Acro fb page, and a lady told me it should be higher because he is high dose
Garbage.
that acros usually have a more difficult time coming up after low numbers?
More garbage.

I can tell you the name of the FB person and the history behind it. She used to post here ages ago and was scared of greens, resulting in a lot of time over renal threshold. She told a lot of things that just plain aren't true and haven't been observed here. We have have many acrocats follow TR. I will say that extra caution is warranted if dose is dropping as can happen after acro treatments or if IAA is breaking. I used 70 instead of 50 on my human meter as the reduction point when Neko was reducing quickly, to give me a little cushion, and took it back down to 50 when she slowed down. I also was fine to do back to back reductions.

As far as the HC, that is an ECID thing, not each acro thing. As for the person in consideration, she once had to give a whole can of HC to her cat. Then the story grew to 2 cans, then 3 cans. :rolleyes: Neko came up fine with a tsp of 16-17% HC. I used a drop of karo on top if she was in the 30's. Neko was fairly carb sensitive. Some aren't. Same can be said of every other diabetic cat. You experiment to learn how carb sensitive Yoshi is. Start by being heavy handed on carbs when needed, then back off to what you needed. The idea is that adding carbs gives them a 30-40 point boost. I tried 21% carbs for a while, found it was too much.

As for no shoot number for an acro, I never shot below 51 on the human meter. ;) Again, doesn't matter if cat is acro or not. With Lev, there is a very good chance you will be shooting lower numbers at some point. Just keep in mind your ability to monitor and supply of HC and strips. With a larger depot, you can get away with the odd skip if you need to.

Cabergoline seems to take 7-10 days before it starts having an effect. I have seen both gradual and fairly quick dose changes, example a couple changes a week. Nat was working when Marvin did the first cabergoline experiment and went OTJ fairly quickly. She did a fair number of skips, half doses or extra large reductions as needed. You can always go back up if needed.

Looks like Yoshi might have been flirting with blue today. :cool:

I did get your tags on the cabergoline dosing. Never used it, but will take a look at it later. Just got home after a couple days skiing, and my mind can't think right now.
 
Last edited:
To add to Wendy's post above. 6% food use to bring Ollie right up. Now 20% or gravy doesn't seem to bring her up, I have to use honey now with the higher carb. At the same time, once she has 2 numbers in a row that have risen, she then just stays there another couple of hrs regardless. If she jumps on her chair and grooms, I know she is fine even if numbers are low in our standards. But I don't leave her alone, I tuck her behind my knees and I doze on the couch. I can feel her if she moves. It's one of those ECID things. Something that took awhile for me to understand and believe.
 
Back
Top