Yoshi 1/15 +11.5 390 amps 461 pm 365 +8 332

Stressedcatmom

Member Since 2017
Saw yellow last night.

Man does he bounce up quickly on Lev. I didn't see these kind of #'s almost a half hour later on Lantus.

At 11.5 this am, he was screaming for food. I got up and he attacked my legs bad. (He did this a lot when he was a kitten, and sometimes as an "adult" - the biting and scratching out of the blue lessened when I got him a brother). But today he really got me. So I tested him. After I swore at him. 390. Half hour later 461. Perhaps he bounced up in numbers because he tried to kill his mom. It wasn't food influenced. I am mad at your friend Yoshi today. My legs are torn up.

(He was a feral sick babe - found in the alley and dropped off at Anti Cruelty - when I got him, which is why I tolerate the abuse. I have gotten him to be much better now, but he still gets black eyes and looks at my legs like pork chops on occasion)

I'm not sure I like Levimirs "shoot ups" or late nadar. I don't even know the best time to test anymore.

Anyway, @Wendy&Neko, should we increase tonight? I haven't been able to get anything passed a +5 since the switch in pm and can't get am cycles because of wk.
 
I would go up to 6.5 tonight. You are still playing catch up after switching to Lev. Ideally we would have more data on this dose, but there's enough for me to say he needs more. That plus him attacking your poor legs. :arghh:

Levemir numbers will shoot up less once he's closer to a better dose. The +5 is a good time to test, he's onset by then and you can tell if it's an active cycle. Once you can do a bit more testing (this weekend?), you can nail down his onset and better times to test. It could be the +4 is like a Lantus +2 test for Yoshi. It wasn't for Neko but ECID. I liked the later nadir closer to preshot, cause it was less likely I'd be away or asleep during the low points. Any chance you get up at something like PM+10 in the morning? I imagine you are up for an hour or two before heading out the door.
 
I would go up to 6.5 tonight. You are still playing catch up after switching to Lev. Ideally we would have more data on this dose, but there's enough for me to say he needs more. That plus him attacking your poor legs. :arghh:

Levemir numbers will shoot up less once he's closer to a better dose. The +5 is a good time to test, he's onset by then and you can tell if it's an active cycle. Once you can do a bit more testing (this weekend?), you can nail down his onset and better times to test. It could be the +4 is like a Lantus +2 test for Yoshi. It wasn't for Neko but ECID. I liked the later nadir closer to preshot, cause it was less likely I'd be away or asleep during the low points. Any chance you get up at something like PM+10 in the morning? I imagine you are up for an hour or two before heading out the door.

Yes, I can test a bunch this weekend. I could get up at + 10, but that is 5:30am. I get up at his amps which is 730. 5:30 is stretching it, and I'm not good at going back to sleep. Out the door by 9:30. Lantus seemed to wk better with my schedule. Big Sigh. Or maybe I should've used the Prozinc in my fridge. I didn't know Lev was so different. Ugh.
 
OK, so sounds like you could possibly get a +2, which may or may not be good for Lev. ECID of course. It's a good predictor for some Lev kitties. For me, if the +2 was about the same or not much higher, I could tell it would be a more active cycle. Meaning, leave out plenty of food or higher carbs in the feeder if I was away. My AMPS was 7:30 too. :(

By the way, i hated the feeling in the first few weeks of Lev that I was like a newbie again. It will get better. :bighug:
 
Wishing you luck Jen, I hope with a bit of time everything settles down and you like the change over to Lev.
Yoshi, don't attack your Mama bean, she loves you! :kiss:
 
OK, so sounds like you could possibly get a +2, which may or may not be good for Lev. ECID of course. It's a good predictor for some Lev kitties. For me, if the +2 was about the same or not much higher, I could tell it would be a more active cycle. Meaning, leave out plenty of food or higher carbs in the feeder if I was away. My AMPS was 7:30 too. :(

By the way, i hated the feeling in the first few weeks of Lev that I was like a newbie again. It will get better. :bighug:
I am so sad. I don't think I am ever going to catch his nadar during the week. I feel like I can't win. Getting a +2 on Levimir won't help. I can already tell it doesn't hit him till after 3 or 4. Thanks, though. Ugh I should have done Prozinc. I wasn't thinking.
 
Does the squirt bottle (just water) keep him at bay when he's in 'attack mode'? I know some cats will not behave badly when they get squirted with water...and sometimes all you need to do is pick it up...they will stop behaving so badly if they know they're going to get a squirt of water in the face when they're acting up....just something you could try. Worse that will happen is that you'll have a slightly damp cat who won't be very happy with you for a few minutes...he'll go away and lick himself dry - takes the focus off your legs... bad boy Yoshi...:(
 
Does the squirt bottle (just water) keep him at bay when he's in 'attack mode'? I know some cats will not behave badly when they get squirted with water...and sometimes all you need to do is pick it up...they will stop behaving so badly if they know they're going to get a squirt of water in the face when they're acting up....just something you could try. Worse that will happen is that you'll have a slightly damp cat who won't be very happy with you for a few minutes...he'll go away and lick himself dry - takes the focus off your legs... bad boy Yoshi...:(
I totally forgot about the squirt bottle tactic. I used to use it when he was small. I can’t remember How he reacted. It’s been so long since he freaked out. I need to get one to have on hand. Good idea!
 
I'm not sure I like Levimirs "shoot ups" or late nadar. I don't even know the best time to test anymore.
Ming sometimes onsets early at +3 and seems to have 2-3 nadirs a cycle... ECID but I liked Lev in the beginning because it made me really confident about shooting low numbers because I knew he had 3-5 hours to go up (of course, sometimes, he doesn't and then he plummets but yeah... CATS. They make you crazy!!!!)

And yikes! Sorry about your leggies. :( Do you have an autofeeder? Maybe having a lil snack will calm his hangrrs. Lol
 
Ming sometimes onsets early at +3 and seems to have 2-3 nadirs a cycle... ECID but I liked Lev in the beginning because it made me really confident about shooting low numbers because I knew he had 3-5 hours to go up (of course, sometimes, he doesn't and then he plummets but yeah... CATS. They make you crazy!!!!)

And yikes! Sorry about your leggies. :( Do you have an autofeeder? Maybe having a lil snack will calm his hangrrs. Lol
I do have an auto feeder. His brother has been at my moms for a month or so because I was going back and forth for my dad and helping her with him. Seine has HORRIBLE car meows and panic attacks, so I didn't want to keep taking him back and forth.

Maybe Yoshi misses him; although, they are not very kind to eachother. I plan on getting him soon, much to my mother's dismay.

Lord have mercy, two NADARS? I can barely handle one!
 
Back
Top