Yosh is at 134 preshot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stressedcatmom

Member Since 2017
Hi everyone, again, unfortunately

Yoshi is at 152 30 min before his eve preshot reading. He's eating now. Any advice as to whether I give him the full two units in a half hour? Or test again before the shot? But I just gave him food cuz I think he needed it. Should I stall?
 
When you have a lower than usual PS reading, you would want to stall. This means wait 20 minutes without feeding and take another reading. I don't see any AMPS for him today.
 
Hi everyone, again, unfortunately

Yoshi is at 152 30 min before his eve preshot reading. He's eating now. Any advice as to whether I give him the full two units in a half hour? Or test again before the shot? But I just gave him food cuz I think he needed it. Should I stall?
The stalling technique involves not feeding so you can see if the BG is rising high enough on its own. He's already eating so that won't work. You can give him a much reduced dose instead of skipping insulin, say 1 u. When you have a minute could you update your SS?
 
When you have a lower than usual PS reading, you would want to stall. This means wait 20 minutes without feeding and take another reading. I don't see any AMPS for him today.
I didn't am preshot. I was low on lancets and his ear is so poked and it's so obvious cuz he's so light. I feel bad. I'm trying
 
The stalling technique involves not feeding so you can see if the BG is rising high enough on its own. He's already eating so that won't work. You can give him a much reduced dose instead of skipping insulin, say 1 u. When you have a minute could you update your SS?
Yes I will
 
How long will you be able to monitor tonight? Are you firmly holding his ear for a few seconds after testing and putting a little neosporin on his ears?
 
I didn't am preshot. I was low on lancets and his ear is so poked and it's so obvious cuz he's so light. I feel bad. I'm trying
Those pre shot tests are the most important so you don't accidentally give too much insulin for the BG level. Why not stock up on several boxes of lancets. No need to buy the AlphaTrak version. Try other brands in your AT trigger device or use them freehand.
 
Those pre shot tests are the most important so you don't accidentally give too much insulin for the BG level. Why not stock up on several boxes of lancets. No need to buy the AlphaTrak version. Try other brands in your AT trigger device or use them freehand.
Amazon is delivering 100 tomo
 
I feel like I can't test for two hours cuz I fed him 20 min ago. I'm just wondering about the insulin shot he's supposed to get in 25 min
 
It's ok, was your first time. Now you know what to do next time :). Don't need to test again, his number will be food influenced. Will you be able to get another test tonight?
 
I think I maybe did the right thing by feeding him. He's now way more chill now and less neuropathy now that he has food in his belly. I don't know anymore, but I'm not giving up
 
Ok. So testing again preshot will be futile cuz my dumb ass gave him some food? Probably. Ugh.
Save his ear. A test now won't give any useful info. Don't be too hard on yourself. You haven't been at this long, there's a lot to learn and it can be very confusing at first. It gets easier over time and your confidence will grow. The most important steps are to set up a testing routine to keep him safe, log all data in your spreadsheet and post here whenever you have a question. :)
 
Save his ear. A test now won't give any useful info. Don't be too hard on yourself. You haven't been at this long, there's a lot to learn and it can be very confusing at first. It gets easier over time and your confidence will grow. The most important steps are to set up a testing routine to keep him safe, log all data in your spreadsheet and post here whenever you have a question. :)
I can't thank all of you enough. I think I'll give 2 temptations and 1.5? Or is everyone saying 1? That's low for him. 2 has been good thus far
 
No more than 1U. At least test again in +2.
2U has only worked when he's over 200. Giving him full dose on 152 may put him in dangerous territory.
 
1 unit should be more than fine. That's half his dose and with food in him, you know he'll have that to stop from dropping too fast. Then getting a test as the food starts to wear off will tell you if he's dropping fast or gently...prozinc is an in and out insulin so you can change the dose when needed and not worry that there will still be insulin from previous shots.
 
I even put 3 temptations in the mix so we could all sleep well tonight. He's ok. No more food or insulin. I'll test in am for sure.

Love you guys. Thanks so much
 
He's at 142. Should I feed him? Ideas on shot? Ugh this is good I think but nerve wracking
Stall 20 minutes without feeding and retest. Post here when get the result. You can repeat this for up to an hour of stalling if you have the time to spare. You might be looking at another 50% dose reduction or a no shot depending on the stall numbers. Great news, but nerve-wracking!
 
He's at 142. Should I feed him? Ideas on shot? Ugh this is good I think but nerve wracking
wow great preshot! Those in between numbers do make it hard to decide what to shoot though, eh? I agree with kris... stall wihtout feeding and lets see if the numbers are going up or not.
 
Omg you guys I just fed him ugh
haha i did the same thing the first time cc had a preshot under 200... I fed her then came on here and they said don't feed her yet... and I was like , um, too late. lol well I would say jut give a little token dose of like .25 or you can skip.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top