Yosh 12/5 pmps 454 increasing tonight

Stressedcatmom

Member Since 2017
I remember his first shot on lantus... Yoshi was at one unit, saw a green and I told my vet off for starting him at a high dose. Whoops.

Here we are. Going to 6. I really think he’s bouncing a bit. My gut has been telling me this, and I think it’s true. He’s probably bouncing from yellows. He hasn’t gone blue based off his trends, much less green. And I’m aiming for green. I still feel like I can get him back into remission as crazy as that sounds.

So, I’m putting faith in all your advice and support, like I did the first time. He was in remission for 2.5 years, and although 6u is terrifying, I MAY :) have come to accept he just needs what he needs to jump start his pancreas, and the longer I wait to increase, the longer it will take for him to heal.

I’m wondering if it would be beneficial for the group to have an “elevated dose” thread for people like me and @Penelope and Mačka, and others who aren’t at “high acro doses”, but a dose that is above average and kinda scary...

It might be good for others that have to keep increasing. It is really hard to do, especially when you work full time and cant test when you want to. I couldn’t do it without you guys. People can search our condos, but it might be nice to have a special place for ease of access.

Just a thought. Not sure how this works. Either way, I am thankful. Thank you all again
 
To be honest, I thought the dental was going to help because his teeth were so BAD, and I got really discouraged after his numbers didn’t move the way I wanted them to. Oh well. Here we are.
 
Good luck with the increase tonight, I hope that this one is just the ticket to, as you said, kickstart his pancreas ( I like that)

Lets see it Yosh! we're cheering you on :D
 
I also look back at Macka's SS a lot, and how his first week on Lantus was (1u too), with numbers that we almost never got back to, later on...
I don't understand why we keep increasing, and the numbers look about the same. Maybe slightly better, but wayyy above normal levels. The higher I shoot, the stresser I get. I feel like one of these days, he's going to crash from such a high dose, although I was told that thankfully, it doesn't work that way.
But also, at the same time, I'm hoping for that green that never comes...
We have to be quicker than glucose toxicity I think. Good job giving 6u. I'm following you, right behind :)
 
I also look back at Macka's SS a lot, and how his first week on Lantus was (1u too), with numbers that we almost never got back to, later on...
I don't understand why we keep increasing, and the numbers look about the same. Maybe slightly better, but wayyy above normal levels. The higher I shoot, the stresser I get. I feel like one of these days, he's going to crash from such a high dose, although I was told that thankfully, it doesn't work that way.
But also, at the same time, I'm hoping for that green that never comes...
We have to be quicker than glucose toxicity I think. Good job giving 6u. I'm following you, right behind :)
Xo. We will get there
 
I don't understand why we keep increasing, and the numbers look about the same.
Short answer, insulin resistance of some sort. Glucose toxicity is a type of insulin resistance, but 6 units and above, we recommend testing kitty for acromegaly, IAA (insulin auto antibodies), and possibly Cushings, though less common,
’m wondering if it would be beneficial for the group to have an “elevated dose” thread for people like me and @Penelope and Mačka, and others who aren’t at “high acro doses”, but a dose that is above average and kinda scary..
We have seen both acrocats and IAA cats on small doses of insulin. For the majority of her diabetic life, Neko was on less than 3 units. Loudogg maxed out a little over 3 (IAA). The study that showed one in four diabetic cats has acromegaly found some on as small as 1 unit. There have even been a couple non diabetic acros out there, But over six units, odds are high that one of the other secondary endocrine conditions is present. Getting a cat tested tells you what you are dealing with. And can adjust dosing strategies, especially if IAA is involved. I saved one of Neko’s canine teeth, because I knew she was acro and dental vet realized issue was due to soft tissue growth in her mouth, not a bad tooth. Knowledge is power.

Above all, remember that a cat needs whatever insulin dose they need. Follow the dosing methods, test, and increase safely, and one day you WILL get there.:bighug: I am glad you are following TR, but you cannot hold a dose too long if there is something causing insulin resistance, or the resistance will get ahead of you.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/yoshi-increase-tomo.222521/#post-2487727

Here’s yesterday’s condo. If he stays in high dose levels you might want to consider Levimar. Here’s hoping he’s about to go in the other direction though.
If 6 doesn’t work I will likely switch
Short answer, insulin resistance of some sort. Glucose toxicity is a type of insulin resistance, but 6 units and above, we recommend testing kitty for acromegaly, IAA (insulin auto antibodies), and possibly Cushings, though less common,

We have seen both acrocats and IAA cats on small doses of insulin. For the majority of her diabetic life, Neko was on less than 3 units. Loudogg maxed out a little over 3 (IAA). The study that showed one in four diabetic cats has acromegaly found some on as small as 1 unit. There have even been a couple non diabetic acros out there, But over six units, odds are high that one of the other secondary endocrine conditions is present. Getting a cat tested tells you what you are dealing with. And can adjust dosing strategies, especially if IAA is involved. I saved one of Neko’s canine teeth, because I knew she was acro and dental vet realized issue was due to soft tissue growth in her mouth, not a bad tooth. Knowledge is power.

Above all, remember that a cat needs whatever insulin dose they need. Follow the dosing methods, test, and increase safely, and one day you WILL get there.:bighug: I am glad you are following TR, but you cannot hold a dose too long if there is something causing insulin resistance, or the resistance will get ahead of you.

I’ve read up a lot on acro. Tons. I can’t think or test for Acro right now. It’s too much to deal with. The vet I want to see is on leave until January. I need to take things one day at a time or I’ll crack.
 
Back
Top