YIKES!! New injection site

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
ANy Advice please,
I know you all like a spreadsheet but I do mine manually(trueely hate computers)

Question:
my vet and i decided to change Shakespeares injection site last week,
since then his numbers are all over, it seems the insulin is taking him very high for the first half and then it will drop him

today
preshot 267
+4 - 291
+7 - 313
+12 = 222

this is what has been happeneing since we switched sites, starts low, keeps going high for a long period of time
then he goes low.
he is on 2.5 units and I always did it in the scruff, but we changed to his rite side.

1/12 - night
preshot-275
+2-333
+12-255

1/13 -
preshot 250
+5 135
+6- 124

Any advice would be great
thanks
 
hi there,

cant offer any input, other than do you have any other numbers to share?
like say maybe a period over a week on this dose?

and how long has he been on this dose? what dose did you start at?
have you had a chance to go thru the Lantus stickies (up top) on the protocol we use here?
all about the shed? data ready sticky?
have a look when you can, and hopefully you'll have some answers soon.

linking your health thread in case others want to check your feedback there:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=34553
 
hi again

I noticed you began a new topic, if you could stay in one thread, easier to follow each kitty like that here in this forum, k?
here is the extra thread:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34570

if you have new numbers, you can just edit your main subject line in the first post of this thread
 
Thank but all I really want is for someone to try to help instead of telling me I am not using the board correctly
 
Re: PMPS - 222 - +15 minutes - 245 ??????

the +1 and +2 are very often higher than the preshot...and this will bump your post up...
 
Re: PMPS - 222 - +15 minutes - 245 ??????

probably just means that the first shot has worn off and the new one hasn't kicked in yet. It's pretty normal. Most Lantus cats have onset some time between +2 and +3. My cat (on Levemir) has onset at more like +3 or +4. Some cats are earlier or later than that.
 
hello and welcome to the group! :-D
i've merged your threads so those helping you will have all the needed info in one place.
hope to see you posting often...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top