Yikes! My cat has diabetes...

Status
Not open for further replies.

cetrax

Member Since 2015
Hello Everyone!
Well I have 3 pets. A indoor/outdoor small dog and two inside cats. The cats are 3.5 yrs and 7 months. The 3.5 yr old male cat "Exxon" named after the gas station I found him at got sick, I took him to the vet, and discovered he has diabetes.

Exxon was at the vet for a week. I got him back yesterday. The vet says I have to give him 2 shots a day. With a u40 needle and need 4.5 units (I pull back between 4 and 5 on the syringe). I gave Exxon his first shot last night. I feel like I did right but he jumped when I pushed the plunger in and jumped this morning as well.

I am very overwhelmed with all of this. Up until now we free fed all 3 animals and have no idea on how to manage this now. I started Exxon on the new diet- The Vet gave me Hill dry food and Hills wet food?? Although I have learned since then people don't recommend Hills so I am not sure why my vet sold it to me? Anyways I caught Exxon last night eating the moist and meaty dog food we sat out for our small dog. Agghhhh...

Any help, advice, or encouragement is greatly appreciated because I am freaking out!

Thanks.
 
Hello and welcome. I'm new at this also so I really can't advise. You will hear from the more experienced people shortly.

You are in the place for guidance.
 
Hello Everyone!
Well I have 3 pets. A indoor/outdoor small dog and two inside cats. The cats are 3.5 yrs and 7 months. The 3.5 yr old male cat "Exxon" named after the gas station I found him at got sick, I took him to the vet, and discovered he has diabetes.

Exxon was at the vet for a week. I got him back yesterday. The vet says I have to give him 2 shots a day. With a u40 needle and need 4.5 units (I pull back between 4 and 5 on the syringe). I gave Exxon his first shot last night. I feel like I did right but he jumped when I pushed the plunger in and jumped this morning as well.

I am very overwhelmed with all of this. Up until now we free fed all 3 animals and have no idea on how to manage this now. I started Exxon on the new diet- The Vet gave me Hill dry food and Hills wet food?? Although I have learned since then people don't recommend Hills so I am not sure why my vet sold it to me? Anyways I caught Exxon last night eating the moist and meaty dog food we sat out for our small dog. Agghhhh...

Any help, advice, or encouragement is greatly appreciated because I am freaking out!

Thanks.

I sent this to a few I know who can help.
 
Hi and welcome to you and Exxon! I'm new too and it is overwhelming, but you've come to the right place. First you should really consider home testing Exxons glucose levels. A human meter is cheap and will work just fine. Many of us use the Relion Confirm or Prime from Walmart. This is the only way to know for sure that you are giving enough, or too much insulin. As for food, the Hills is way to high in carbs. It's also expensive. Most of us use Fancy Feast Classics, Friskies Pate or 9 Lives Pates. If you choose to switch foods, please switch slowly to avoid stomach upset and make sure you are testing Exxons glucose levels, because a change to a low carb food may lower his BG significantly. You should check his glucose before every insulin injection. What kind of insulin is he on? Some insulins may sting. If he continues to jump when you inject, make sure you are injecting under the skin and not in the muscle. Again welcome and please keep us posted!
 
Hi there and welcome. We all know how scared and upset you are with this diagnosis. But the good news is that it is treatable. The first thing is that you are going to want to home test you cat before giving the shots to keep your cat safe. It is mandatory to understand how your kitty is reacting to the insulin and the dose. You will want to test before each shot and some additional test in between the 12 hour cycle. Another reason to home test is to keep your kitty safe. Find a place in your home where you will always perform the test and give lots of hugs before and after testing. There are many videos showing you how to test. Here is a picture of where you test on your kitty. http://s106.photobucket.com/user/chupie_2006/media/testingear/sweetspot.jpg.html

Here is another good link on Home Testing:http://www.felinediabetes.com/bg-home-test.htm

There are many different meters. There is a pet meter called the Alpha Trak2 and human meters. Some use the pet meter because it is what the vets use so the numbers will match up. The meter and strips are expensive though. Most use human meters that can be purchased at any pharmacy. It typically reads a little lower than the pet meter but we have ways of compensating it. Many use Walmart's brand, Relion Micro or Relion Prime, because it only needs a tiny drop of blood. The Prime testing strips are ½ the price of the Micro.

You will want to consider changing your food to wet, low carb food. It is recommended to feed food that is under 10% carbs. Here is a list of cat food to choose from .food chart you will note that the food with fish are lower in carbs however it is recommended that you only give fish once a week due to its mercury content. Many use Fancy Feast, 9 Lives, Friskies, etc. This list can also be found inwww.catinfo.org If you are already giving insulin and you have not transitioned to wet, low carb cat food, be sure to test while you are transitioning. This is because by changing to low carb food, it could decrease your kitty’s number by 100 points or more.

If you have any questions, please ask. I love Exon's name!
 
Hello, and welcome to FDMB, the best place you never wanted to be! A diagnosis of diabetes can be overwhelming and daunting, I know. Hope we can help answer some of your questions!

Let's start with the shot. Before you administer the shot, gently grasp the skin over his shoulder blades and make a "tent" of it (you van practice doing this without giving a shot). At the base of this "tent" should be an area that hollows out a little bit, a pocket, so to speak; feel for that area with a finger. That is where you want his insulin to go. Insert the needle on a very slight angle and push the plunger to administer the dose and...voila! Success! (When I was still learning I would use my knuckle to find that pocket, because I didn't have a free finger) You will want to give his shots as close as possible to 12 hour intervals, and we'll get into more detailed information about that as you start learning to home test for BG.

As for food: sadly, most vets get very little education about feline nutrition and the nutritional needs of diabetic cats. What they get instead are wonderful sales pitches from companies who assure the vets that their foods are the best ones for his or her clients. In most cases this is not true. Diabetic kitties need to be on a low carbohydrate canned/wet food diet. Almost all dry food is too low in moisture and quite high in carbs, with the exception of Evo and Young Again Zero Carb, but they can be very pricey. Hill's is definitely not recommended as both the dry and canned formulas have very high carbohydrates. Here is a link to a great article, written by a vet, about feline nutrition. After you read it, go back and click on the link to Cat Food Composition. It will give you a list of most of the available canned cat foods and their carb percentages. For diabetic cats the carbs should be under 10%. Any change in diet should be done gradually, and home testing is a must in this circumstance; it is vital that you monitor kitty's blood glucose as you change to a low carb diet; this can cause his BG to drop dramatically and he will likely require a dose reduction. And definitely no stealing the dog's food, lol! :)

Bobbie and Bubba are spot-on about home testing your cat. I can't stress enough how important this is. It could possibly save your kitty's life some day. We have a spreadsheet that we use here for recording your test results and other information. It's great for helping you to see patterns in his progress that you might not otherwise notice, and it's extremely helpful to others to view when you need advice on BG #s, dosing, etc.

Did your vet tell you any of the blood glucose numbers he got for you cat during his week there? It would be good to know that as a starting point.

I hope some of this has been helpful to you. Don't ever hesitate to ask question here, everybody at this site is more than willing to offer help and advice, or just to lend an ear if you need to talk to people who understand what you are dealing with now. Feeling overwhelmed when you get that diagnosis is something all of us have been through, and sometimes still experience! But it does get better, just hang in there! :)

Please keep us posted!

Lucy

ETA: link to article:www.catinfo.org
 
Last edited:
Hi, there & welcome to FDMB! (Sorry I'm late to the party; stormy here & internet was down.) Good advice from all above!:)
I have a couple of questions:
Did the vet diagnose Exxon with any other health conditions in addition to diabetes?
Did the vet weight your kitty - and was he underweight, overweight --- or did the vet think his weight was good?

P.S. I cannot agree strongly enough with my fellow members who responded above re: the importance of home-testing your kitty's blood glucose before every dose of insulin. Please get started on that as soon as possible; we've all been through that nervous feeling during first few tests & we're all here to help you.:bighug:
 
Last edited:
Thanks so much!! I have had cats all my life and up until this happened I had no idea dry food was bad for cats. lol. If I would have known this I would have always had my cats on wet food.

I asked the Vet yesterday about home bg testing and she said no. I told her I did some research and saw the ear thing online and she said that was the first she had heard of that? -frown-. She said I don't have to home test and set up an appointment for Exxon to come back in Thursday morning to get his levels tested. Basically all she told me was to do the shot twice a day, 12 hours apart, and make sure he eats something first. She also showed me how to give the shot of course. Oh and she also said if he acts woosy, lethargic, and unresponsive that means his sugar is low and to rub some syrup on his gums. lol.

I don't remember Exxon's exact weight but the vet said he is not under or over weight. He's definitely not overweight though.
While he was sick (he's still a little sick) and in the vet hospital they said his level was a little over 400.
The Vet recommended and sold me VETSULIN (procine insulin zinc suspension) U-40 10ml vial. Draw back to 4 and half on the syringe and dispense twice daily.
I will definitely get a bg meter in the morning. I'm reading up on the bg curve and it all seems very complicated but I'll give it a go. Can't do it until Saturday when I have the whole day off.

The vet says he needs to eat right before I give him the shot. This worked last night and this morning because I took all food away (cat & dog food) between these times. With another cat and dog in the house that may not always be possible. If it's shot time and he won't eat the low carb food what do I do? (I use to give him Temptations cat treats every night) should I give him a couple of those so he doesn't miss his shot? How much food does he need to eat before I give him a shot?

Thanks again everyone. I really appreciate your support!!!
 
If you aren't testing Exxons glucose, don't yet change to the wet food. You are giving a relatively high dose at 4.5 u and he's on a high carb food -Hills. If you change to the low carb food all at once his BG may drop drastically and then the 4.5 u will be too much and you risk a hypo episode. Get the meter, learn to test then make the switch. Not all cats show the classic signs of a hypo episode, that's why testing is so important!
 
If you aren't testing Exxons glucose, don't yet change to the wet food. You are giving a relatively high dose at 4.5 u and he's on a high carb food -Hills. If you change to the low carb food all at once his BG may drop drastically and then the 4.5 u will be too much and you risk a hypo episode. Get the meter, learn to test then make the switch. Not all cats show the classic signs of a hypo episode, that's why testing is so important!
My Squallie has had a few episodes, and he NEVER shows any symptoms. You absolutely must be testing before you make a diet change, or you risk potentially fatal harm to your kitty!
 
Any help, advice, or encouragement is greatly appreciated because I am freaking out!
I asked the Vet yesterday about home bg testing and she said no. I told her I did some research and saw the ear thing online and she said that was the first she had heard of that? -frown-. She said I don't have to home test and set up an appointment for Exxon to come back in Thursday morning to get his levels tested.
Ok, I don't want to overwhelm you here, but I'm going to go out on a limb and just speak frankly: 4.5 units of Vetsulin is a lot of insulin to be giving a kitty without testing blood glucose FIRST, period.

My own vet is very on-board and thrilled that I am home-testing blood glucose; had he advised me against it, I would have found a different vet who is better educated. I feel compelled to say this: Any vet who would would advise against testing your cat's blood glucose @ home before you administer a dose of insulin is putting your kitty at risk for a serious hypoglycemic event. When you dose insulin without testing blood glucose first, you are quite literally "shooting in the dark" - there's no reason to take such a risk; none whatsoever. (If this were my kitty: I would be hightailing it to the nearest Walmart for a Relion meter and learning to do that little ear-poke tonight; seriously, I would.)

Go to catinfo.org - Dr. Lisa Pierson's website - for tons of information on the importance of home testing and how to do it; it's really not that hard to manage it. I was really scared at first, but even with my (rather ill-tempered) kitty, I've become very good at it!:)

You would be surprised at the numbers of veterinarians who are too overbooked with patients to even have time to read the latest best practices in treating feline diabetes; unfortunately, it sounds - from what you've told us here - that your vet is among those. I'm not bashing vets here; it's just that too many of them are too darned busy to keep up with the latest developments in treating all diseases. How could they? There are only so many hours in the day ... So it is up to you to be proactive, do a lot of reading, and learn on your own the best way to treat to keep your kitty safe while using insulin.

One thing you need to know: Cats often spike some significantly higher blood glucose #s at a vet's clinic than they do at home; chiefly because of stress during the time they are there. Cats are more relaxed in their own home environments; hence, you are far more likely to get accurate BG test results at home. (My cat, for example, can spike a BG # during a vet visit that is anywhere between 50-100 points higher than her usual levels because she gets so stressed at the vet's office. We have seen this happen with her repeatedly.) This underscores the need for you to home-test BG levels before giving a dose of insulin to keep your kitty safe.

Again, I'm really not trying to add to your stress; rather, you will find that home-testing will greatly decrease any stress/worry you have about giving your precious kitty insulin. :bighug: Please do read the Vetsulin guide I posted earlier; you'll be glad you did.:)
 
Last edited:
Thanks for the quick reply.
I'm not sure why my vet would give me expensive (Hills) high carb wet and dry and food for my cat??
I'll keep his food the same for now until I can learn to test.

What about the twice a day shots? He is suppose to eat first. What if I can't get him to eat? Is it okay to give him Temptations treats so I give can go ahead and give him the shot?
How much food should he eat before I give him the shot?
Thanks..
 
Thanks> I am on my way to Walmart now. Quick question- what should the readings be on the Relion meter since I am assuming this is a meter for humans. Is there any conversion I need to do. What should the levels be? Sorry I'm in a hurry because his shot is due around 10:30 and I don't have time to look it up.
 
Thanks> I am on my way to Walmart now.
Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!!! I am so happy you're going to Walmart.

The sequence is: Test BG#, feed, then shoot. If you get a BG# that's below 200: You stall for about 15-20 minutes - withholding food (because often anticipating the meal will excite kitty & BG# will continue to rise), then test BG# again. If still below 200, repeat this process. (Can throw off your schedule a little, but it happens.) If after 2 to 3 rounds of stalling the BG# is not at least 200, you may just need to skip that dose to be safe.

Let us know when you're back with the meter - we'll help you as much as we can tonight.:bighug:
 
If you aren't testing Exxons glucose, don't yet change to the wet food. You are giving a relatively high dose at 4.5 u and he's on a high carb food -Hills. If you change to the low carb food all at once his BG may drop drastically and then the 4.5 u will be too much and you risk a hypo episode. Get the meter, learn to test then make the switch. Not all cats show the classic signs of a hypo episode, that's why testing is so important!
I'm not sure about Caninsulin but with Vetsulin I remember Lucy telling me to test feed and wait 20 before giving the injection. Is it the same with Caninsulin?
 
Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!!! I am so happy you're going to Walmart.

The sequence is: Test BG#, feed, then shoot. If you get a BG# that's below 200: You stall for about 15-20 minutes - withholding food (because often anticipating the meal will excite kitty & BG# will continue to rise), then test BG# again. If still below 200, repeat this process. (Can throw off your schedule a little, but it happens.) If after 2 to 3 rounds of stalling the BG# is not at least 200, you may just need to skip that dose to be safe.

Let us know when you're back with the meter - we'll help you as much as we can tonight.:bighug:
I'm not sure about Caninsulin but with Vetsulin I remember Lucy telling me to test feed and wait 20 before giving the injection. Is it the same with Caninsulin?
 
I'm not sure about Caninsulin but with Vetsulin I remember Lucy telling me to test feed and wait 20 before giving the injection. Is it the same with Caninsulin?
This gal is using Vetsulin (which is also known as Caninsulin; it has two brand names is all) and in the guide it says: "Schedule is best with test, feed, shoot, within about 30 minutes."
 
Sure thing, looks like I will be up for a while as Bubba hit 92 @ +3, what a day! :banghead:
Oh, good; thanks! (Yeah, you've had a real day, huh? I am in midst of feeding/getting ready to shoot Bat's dose at the moment; gotta keep an eye out, otherwise she'll scarf it all down in 5 min. flat...Chow-hound kitty.) As I've never used a human meter, I feel better having you around to help her with this first attempt at testing using a Relion.
 
Hey! Sorry for the delay. Just got it done. Bought the ReliOn Confirm meter.
Test came back 76 mg/dl 10:48pm
This is low right?
What do I do?
 
Hey guys, I am waiting to retest Bubba again and thought I would check on you. Looks like Exon's Dad was successful in testing, Yeah!!
 
Hey! Sorry for the delay. Just got it done. Bought the ReliOn Confirm meter.
Test came back 76 mg/dl 10:48pm
This is low right?
What do I do?
You SKIP the dose entirely! That is a fantastic number! Just go ahead and feed the usual meal - NO insulin tonight!
Hooray for your kitty!

P.S. As there is NO way that you're going to get him up to 200 on his own. You really do not want to feed and test BG after food because the food artifically raises blood glucose #. You always want an accurate # as regards to his blood glucose BEFORE eating - otherwise you can give too much insulin.
 
I am soooooo happy you got a meter and tested you cat!!!!!! It could have been a disaster. Tell that to your vet!! I gotta go test Bubba again.
 
Amen! Thank you so much!!!! You guys are great!
My name is Steve by the way.
I will go ahead and feed him.!

I will retest him in the morning.
Fortunately I had an extra set of hands to hold Exxon while I was doing the ear prick.
Took a couple of tries but I finally got it!

If he tests below 200 in the morning should I skip that shoot too?
Again I can not thank you guys enough!
 
Aren't you glad you got that meter?:)
We see this all too often: Vet prescribes a dose of insulin based on in-clinic BG levels alone, discourages home blood glucose testing ... and then a kitty winds up having a hypoglycemic event because he was getting too much insulin. It will be very interesting to see what Exxon's pre-shot number in the morning is (we call that AMPS/ the night cycle pre-shot test is the PMPS).
Please tell me: What time will you be testing him in the morning to see if he can have a shot? (Meaning the time in your Eastern time zone.)
 
Last edited:
If he tests below 200 in the morning should I skip that shoot too?
Steve! Good name! Ok, in the morning: Do not feed in the 2 hour window before a preshot test, as food will affect the accuracy of that #.
When you test, if you're nearer 200 (say 170s or so), you would "stall" for a bit: Keep withholding food, wait 15 -20 minutes (as anticipating a meal can excite kitty & BG will often rise more this way), then test again. If your schedule allows, you may have to repeat this stalling 2 to 3 rounds. If the number still doesn't rise to 200, you'll skip the dose again. (And here's the good news: If Exxon keeps popping you #s that are too low to shoot, you're in a very good place, indeed!:D)
 
And one more thing: Given this low PMPS # you just got, even if he's at 200 or above in the morning, I'd highly recommend you significantly lower that dose - again, read through that guide on using Vetsulin. It is always better to start at a low dose, and only increase dosage when you have enough BG#s in your spreadsheet (including some mid-cycle #s to see how low he goes on insulin) that indicate a higher dose is needed. And when you start your kitty on insulin, this is especially important if you cannot be home to monitor for the low point in his 12-hour cycle (the nadir).

I'm suspecting that the dosage your vet sent you home with may have been more than Exxon needs ... and as we so often say around here: "Is better to be too high for a day, than too low for a moment."
 
Last edited:
I am soooooo happy you got a meter and tested you cat!!!!!! It could have been a disaster. Tell that to your vet!!
@Bobbie And Bubba - Right on, Bobbie!:D
@cetrax - Hey, Steve - Ok, now it's "Joke Time" ...

Q: What time is it?
A: Time for a new vet!:p


Before my old brain forgets again: What time, in your time zone, is your morning pre-shot test? Will try to be awake for it, even though I'm on Pacific Time (3 hours behind you; but I bet Bobbie will be around, as she's in your zone, too).

Also, Steve - Please start a new thread in the morning on the Main Health forum - title it something like "Need Vetsulin Dosing Advice" because you'll get a lot of eyes on your question that way. You did FANTASTICALLY tonight; I'm so proud of you!!!:bighug:- Robin
 
Snapchat-2068700516521494012.jpg
Exxon says please excuse his shaved paw (lol) and thank you !!!!!!!!!!!!! He's still getting over the bug that sent him to the vet in the first place....
 
Aww ... look at that little shaved paw! He's TOO adorable, Steve! Am so happy to see him walking about. Noticing the ear tufts: Is he part Maine Coon?
 
Hi Steve. Thank heavens you got the meter and tested before you gave Exxon his evening shot!!!

I use Vetsulin, which is just Caninsulin under a different name, made by the same same manufacturer. 4.5 units as a starting dose is awfully high, it's been my experience that most vets start out around 1 to 1 1/2 units. I believe that's also what the manufacturer recommends, but don't quote me on that. Anyway, 4.5 is a high dose no matter how you look at it. If you have any questions about Vetsulin/Caninsulin I'll try to help you, to the extent of my knowledge. I'm usually on and off here all through the day, so just tag me!

ETA: Exxon is such a cutie! Hope he feels better soon, poor boy!
 
Steve, just an aside re: sick kitties - When Bat-Bat lost remission last February, she had a severe urinary tract infection, elevated liver enzymes and anemia in addition to high BG#s (almost in the 500s). She's what vets call a "fractious cat" - so difficult to handle that the vet said, "If she were any other cat I'd hospitalize her immediately, but I'm afraid she'll do even worse here." So sent my very-sick kitty home with me - with antibiotics, insulin, instructions to syringe-feed if necessary - and he was not at all optimistic about her recovery. (Said, "Don't get your hopes up; we'll know within the week ...") Fast forward to Sept: ALL blood tests normal; NO anemia or high liver enzymes, no UTI, perfect lab results! Diabetes well-controlled on a very dinky dose of insulin now. Glowing with health - and she's 11 years old. (Still a cranky girl with anyone but me, but that's just her personality!:rolleyes:)

And I could not have accomplished that without the help of the wonderful members of FDMB! So I've little doubt that your Exxon will recover & do well, too - as is obvious how much you love him!:)
 
Hey thanks! I'm not sure what kind of cat he is. He looks a lot better than this when he's 100%.

Exxon is difficult to handle too. He only likes me lol and he's very squirmish. Which makes giving shots and ear pricks a little difficult.

The vet said when his level was over 400 they gave him a unit every couple of hours and it took 4.5 units to get his levels down to normal.

The vet recommended this type of insulin because she has had the most success with it. Whatever that means. Lol.
 
The vet recommended this type of insulin because she has had the most success with it. Whatever that means. Lol.
Well, that's not to say it's a "bad" insulin. We've had other cats go into remission on Vetsulin. Lucy's cat, Squallie, is doing well on Vetsulin.
The vet said when his level was over 400 they gave him a unit every couple of hours and it took 4.5 units to get his levels down to normal.
Well, he was also fighting a "bug," too, during the week he was in-hospital; inflammation and/or any type of infection can help spike BG#s considerably. What kind of bug is Exxon fighting, btw? Is he on antibiotics at home right now? (Is important we're aware on the forums of any other health problems & medications you have him on.)
 
Hi. He was in the hospital from Monday to Monday. Picked him up Monday at 4 pm. He is on no medicine now and has received two 4.5 shots since leaving the vet . One Monday night and one Tuesday morning. The vet said he was on antibiotics the entire time via iv.

They said it looks like a bug that just needs to run its course. Sneezing and coughing. Before I took him to the vet I thought he was dying. Alot of what I would call drool was streaming out of him non stop, wouldn't eat, etc. It was rough stuff.

He's still sneezing and coughing a bit but looks 100 times better than he did a week ago but he's still not 100 %. If I had to classify it I would say he's around 75 % right now.
 
Hey thanks! I'm not sure what kind of cat he is. He looks a lot better than this when he's 100%.

Exxon is difficult to handle too. He only likes me lol and he's very squirmish. Which makes giving shots and ear pricks a little difficult.

The vet said when his level was over 400 they gave him a unit every couple of hours and it took 4.5 units to get his levels down to normal.

The vet recommended this type of insulin because she has had the most success with it. Whatever that means. Lol.
Sounds like he experienced a lot of "vet stress", which can really drive BG up, sometimes as much as 100-200 points! Add to that any type of infection, and it's a perfect recipe for high BG. Exxon must have been so glad to come home!

This type of insulin is harsher than a lot of others. A lot of people don't like to work with it because of this. It is also a non-depot insulin, meaning it doesn't stay in the system as long, so you don't get any carryover from shot to shot, and it frequently seems to have a duration that is shorter than twelve hours. However, having said all that, it's not impossible to work with, and some cats, my own included, do quite well on it!

I don't like to speak ill of anyone's vet, but I will say I'm surprised at some of her choices and decisions. I had to find a new vet after Squallie was diagnosed; my vet didn't support home testing, and insisted that I keep feeding him high carb "prescription" dry food, even after I tried to explain my reasoning for no longer using it. That, coupled with a few previous calls that I found questionable (one of which actually brought about the euthanasia of a beloved kitty who I later discovered could have been treated and been with me potentially for many more years) made up my mind for me. In many ways I was sorry, because I had used her for years and liked her personally, but professionally I felt like she really dropped the ball. So if you feel you can't always trust your vet, or are always question or second-guessing her decisions, it might be time to find a vet you're more comfortable with!
He's still sneezing and coughing a bit but looks 100 times better than he did a week ago but he's still not 100 %. If I had to classify it I would say he's around 75 % right now.
Glad to hear he's on the road to recovery! One of mine has a vet appointment on Thursday for a cough with a wheeze, and occasional sneezing. Fingers and paws crossed that it's nothing too serious!
 
Glad to hear he's on the road to recovery!
Ditto!
One of mine has a vet appointment on Thursday for a cough with a wheeze, and occasional sneezing. Fingers and paws crossed that it's nothing too serious!
@cetrax , @Squalliesmom - Here's hoping both kitties have a speedy recovery from their respiratory "bugs." Many healing vibes to both of them ... and on that note, I'm hopping off to head for dreamland. Have a good night!:)
 
Good Morning,
I just did the test 3 times in a row with the three different strips from the same ear prick.
Here are the results:
1st read: 67
2nrd read: 84
3rd read: 61

I'm assuming I shouldn't give him a shot this morning either.
I am using a human meter.
The Reli On Confirm meter
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top