Yemala 9/30 Need advice AMPS 199; +4 181; PMBG .101; +2 128; PS 114; +1 80; +2.5 73; 3.5 69

Hroswitha

Member Since 2011
Last night's bg was not a fluke! Little Mala is suddenly coming down nicely.

Still hanging steady on .5 units 2X daily.
 
Hi. Please post test results after insulin as AMPS or PMPS. The BG is used around here if no shot has been given. When looking at the Board it gets confusing otherwise. Thanks and I’m glad the numbers are coming down.
 
PMPS is now 101. I'm about to feed, and the food is definitely low carb.

I'm hesitating on whether to give her any shot at all. Need advice.
 
Hey there, sorry no one responded. Can you monitor closely tonight and have plenty of supplies, and higher carb food? If so, I would shoot. Start by getting a +1 and +2.

ETA: Yes, I can see your SS. Good job with sharing it.
 
Mala doesn't like higher carb food, so that's a no-go. All the indoor kitties are on low carb pate, but she was eating low phosphorus food for CRF. The Science Diet k/d was too high in carbs, which sent her back into sugar-town.

I can monitor, but not all night. And I have some syrup and such, but would really rather not put her through that. She once had a severely low bg and went into seizures, we nearly lost her.

I'm inclined to hold off on the shot for tonight, and start again tomorrow. If anyone thinks differently, please convince me. I'm open to consideration, but I don't think I've ever given her a shot when she's under 150.
 
You hold the syringe, and it's your call. If it were me, I would retest, and she is probably higher now than 45 minutes and I would shoot as this is the numbers you have been waiting for. REmember, Lantus is not good at pulling high numbers down rather it is better at keeping lower numbers flat.

If you have syrup and or MC food and you are comfortable shooting, go for it. As I said before, start with a +1 and then a +2 . If the +2 is the same as the PMPS or lower, then it is likely to be an active cycle and more testing would be necessary. If you are going to shoot, please post and I will hang with you to assist.
 
128 about 1.5 hours after eating. I have syrup, I will try to shoot a skinny .5.

Here goes nothing.
Please post your +1 for me. I will be looking out for you. It is unspoken when one of us encourages you to shoot , we stay with you to make sure kitty is safe.
 
This is why you are all the best, kindest, most wonderful people. Folks on this board saved Mala's life at least twice before. I bow before you - I am not worthy.
 
1 hour post shot, she's at 114. She was at 128 right before the shot. I will check again at 9:30.
Thanks, it could be an active cycle since there was not a food bump at +1. So, this is the 4th cycle of you shooting .50 twice a day and the depot is filling so that is why we are seeing this nice drop into blues. Let's see what the +2 show. Please post, I will be looking for you.
 
I'll post again at 9:30.

So glad someone who has been through this before knows what's going on. Lord knows, the vet doesn't. We would have been shooting 2u bid, had I followed his instructions...
 
Made the adjustments to the chart as recommended. Added the 80 into the +2.

Mala is eating now, low carb chicken and chicken liver food. It's stinky, but man she loves it.
 
Mama, Daddy, who needs the labels?

Mala is an ecumenical torti murph machine.

But yea, this is Renee. Davey is the testing master and the god of skinny shots. I tend to be the reporter and food manager.
 
Mala is now at 73. She's also eating what food she left in the dish before.
 
Last edited:
Okay, she is surfing in a nice slow pace, so that is good. Give another bit of LC food to keep her surfing as she hasn't gotten to nadir yet. Get another test in 30 minutes and we'll know how much more you need to test tonight. Are you doing all right?

How much LC did you give? If you could track the amount in either the cell with the 80 BG and now the 73 ( that is what I do as it is easy to see what the carbs did to the number) or some peeps put it in the comments section. That will really help you later to know what the response to the food was and what it did to the numbers.
 
Charting Mala's intake is hard. Since she was first diagnosed in '06, she's a nibbler who won't eat an entire meal in one sitting.

She is eating 5 oz. packages of food listed as having 6% carbs. She eats about half at breakfast, finishes it at or around noon; same with dinner. She was a light eater with dinner, didn't finish the food, but is now eating what she didn't eat then.

We have to warm it every time we present it, and because she's a little prima dona, she will eat delicately for a few bites, walk away, then suddenly rediscover the food. Like, "Oh, look. Someone left this tasty food for me. I think I'll eat some now." Three bites later, she walks away again, but pauses before she gets too far and find the food.

She's doing that even as I speak. Shall I mention that Mala - and ONLY Mala - gets to eat on the dining room table? She knows she an empress.
 
69 now. that would be a +3.5.
Give a little more LC to keep this nice surf going. Just saw your above post about her not wanting to eat much more. Even a tsp or 2 would be good. How much longer can you be up to test? It is 11:47 PM EST here , but if you need me to stay with you I will. She hasn't hit nadir yet so we want to make sure she stays safe.
 
Last edited:
I can try. It's 11 PM here, and I have to be up at 6, but it's not atypical for me to be awake until after 1.

I hope you're not having to stay up, though.

Will try to get her to eat just a little more.
 
I can try. It's 11 PM here, and I have to be up at 6, but it's not atypical for me to be awake until after 1.

I hope you're not having to stay up, though.

Will try to get her to eat just a little more.
I would get another test in at 11:30 your time. From your SS from before it looked like her nadir was around +5 but that is subject to changing because, well, she's a cat.....and they can change the rules anytime they want to! Please post, I will hang with you. I need to feed Bubba and his brother around then anyway .
 
61 now and she's eating. Again. I was wrong about not being able to get another snack in her. She LOVES this food.

Too bad it's discontinued and I only have roughly 3 weeks of it left.
 
I like the nice slow surf. So, that is +5. Have you got one more test in you?

Bummer about the food being discontinued. Hope you can find another one she will like.
 
Working on it. Weruva might be an option, but it's up to her.

One more test at midnight. She's getting pretty annoyed, but she also tolerates sub-q fluids every other night, so this just adds to her minor irritations.
 
We'll be up again for feed, test, and shoot around 6/6:30 tomorrow. If she's under 100 tomorrow morning, I don't shoot. I won't be home from 8 until 3, and no one can monitor.

If it's under 150, I'm really torn. This is, as you say, a nice long slow surf. Tomorrow, who knows?
 
We'll be up again for feed, test, and shoot around 6/6:30 tomorrow. If she's under 100 tomorrow morning, I don't shoot. I won't be home from 8 until 3, and no one can monitor.

If it's under 150, I'm really torn. This is, as you say, a nice long slow surf. Tomorrow, who knows?
With not being around to monitor tomorrow from 8-3, I understand your predicament. Chances are she could bounce from being in these nice greens for 4 hours so far.

See you in about 30 minutes before we call it a night.
 
The food has worked. Yemala is now at an 80. I feel like I can breathe again.

And she wants more food.
Wonderful! I think she is at a nice safe place for the night.

Tomorrow, if she is high enough for you to be comfortable to shoot and you could get a + 2 in to see how the cycle could go. You could leave her some food to help keep her safe. But , you'll have to see what the number looks like .


You did great tonight! Get some sleep!
 
I may be able to get my son to take a +2, but I'll have to make him set an alarm. It can be done.

Thank you for everything. Little girl is coming through beautifully. I have hopes we'll wean her off the insulin soon.
 
:D:D:D:D
Beautiful cycle.
Congrats on the reduction, since she is doing SLGS and dropped below 90, she earned that reducie.
If I missed at some point that you decided to swap to TR then you would hold the dose.
 
Back
Top