Yemala 11/2 AMPS 293; +4 198; +7 210; PMPS 166

Hroswitha

Member Since 2011
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-eyes-pls-yemala-1-11-amps-235-3-246-7-285.205781/

Mala has had a really difficult 24 hours. She stopped eating in the AM of 11/1, and vomited multiple times that day. Her vomit was clear and foamy; by the end of last night, it was slightly greenish, signifying bile. She has had small amounts of diarhhea, dark brown and green, viscous.

We took her to the emergency vet last night, where a blood test confirmed pancreatitis. She received a shot of cerenia and an anti-inflammatory agent. She is now on antibiotics.

Last night and today, we have been feeding her either with a syringe or with a spoon. She received appx. 1 T of blended food this morning, and has kept it down.

More poop this morning, also liquid.

She will be visiting her regular vet today at 3:30 for followup. The vet has the labs from last night.

Under veterinary advice, we reduced her insulin dose to a drop for today. As she's not eating much, we don't want her on too much juice. We will get her through this medical emergency, then start working on her insulin dose again afterwards.
 
Clever Davey. He pulled out the turkey baster and got food down Mala's throat. Not huge amounts - about 2 T. But we're being told, frequent small meals is what we want. So far, no vomiting today. She goes to her regular vet this afternoon.
 
Mala has now started a four days' cycle of cerenia oral, received b-12 shot, got a dose of pain killers, and ...

SHE'S EATING FOR THE FIRST TIME IN 36 HOURS!!!

No antibiotics, though she is on an anti-inflammatory.
 
Back
Top