Yemala 10/4 PMPS 135; +1 112; +2 68; +2.5 62; +3 66 +3.5 62; +4 66; +5 70

Hroswitha

Member Since 2011
Per advice, given that Mala didn't really clear the bounce, we have increased the dose to .75.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...stion-for-experts-please.204145/#post-2264908

I am linking yesterday's convos to this one. I have changed the signature to read TR rather than SLGS.

I didn't see the advice from Gill and George until after we had done our AM shot, so we're doing the .75. She's in the yellows afterwards - no blues yet - and we'll watch her carefully. I believe we can get a +6 this cycle, and can work on getting mid-cycle readings this evening as well.

Cross paws, this will all go well and we'll start to bring her down, then decrease dosage as necessary.
 
I didn't see the advice from Gill and George until after we had done our AM shot, so we're doing the .75. She's in the yellows afterwards - no blues yet - and we'll watch her carefully. I believe we can get a +6 this cycle, and can work on getting mid-cycle readings this evening as well

I would have gone for the dosecrease this morning to, that yellow amps was high yellow so he was probably rising.

an encouraging slide down today, I wonder where she will be at midcycle?
 
She got her first .75 dose this AM. She started in the yellows, came down by +3, now she's in the very low blues.

I'm unclear where we go from here. I know we don't change doses quickly, that I should be holding the dose for several cycles to see how it shakes out, but I'm worried that IF her PMPS is at or under 100, a .75 will be too powerful.

Is this the "active cycle" predicted yesterday?
 
Nice blue.

Yes I did thinkk she was going to do this last night.

This is good these are the numbers you want to see.

By the time you hit pmps she may well be on the rise.

I would get a +11 to see where she is at, then you can tell whether her PS is flat/,,rising or dropping.

If she's flat or dropping tonight you would need to be watchful in the first part of cycle start by getting a +1, certainly no later than a +2. If she continues to drop or +2 is almost the same then cycle will most likely be active.


Have you thought about what the lowest number you would be comfortable shooting?

On TR we work our way to shooting anything above 50. But we try to do that gradually building confidence.
You've shot a 128, and had a great cycle.

I will not be about at your shot time, midnight here so I have to go to bed. If you get a +11 and it's looking like she is going to be low at PS change the title to reflect situation, write help and use ? Prefix, that should get eyes on you.

Promising start on the new dose.

What z difference a day makes!
 
Thank you for weighing in.

We'll try to get a +11, but I'm not home until after 8 PM, which would be an hour after her PM dosing time. My husband will be there at roughly +12 and can test, feed, and dose, but there wouldn't be time for an adjustment if needed.

We have not yet had a lot of experience shooting at low BG. Anyone who looks at the numbers she gave in 2011 will see that we moved very quickly down in doses, then weaned her off. when she was first diagnosed in '06, we had some close calls and nearly lost her, but we worked through them.

For those who have more experience with this, how low is too low to shoot? I am willing to test early, middle, and late cycle, as I don't work tomorrow, and I have materials on hand to get her through anything too low.


Recommendations?
 
Ive put out a call for some experienced folk to look out for your pmps post.

If that pmps is low blue or green, post the number, do not feed and stall for 20.

I suggest you read the sticky on shooting and handling low numbers.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tight-regulation-shooting-handling-low-numbers.147/

I can't stay with you so if you don't get any help, perhaps you could skip if you are not comfortable shooting a low blue or green. It would be best if there could be someone experienced with you for support.
 
Let's see where she's at when it's PMPS time (how long until then? In number of hours? Giving a time doesn't help much since we're all in different time zones)

As Gill said, if you're unsure about shooting the number you get, DON'T FEED and wait 20-30 minutes and test again. If you do decide to stall, while you're waiting those 20-30 minutes, it'll help if you'll edit your subject line here and put something like "PMPS ###...STALLING NEED HELP" to hopefully get someone's attention.
 
Just switched to TR this morning. Increased dose from .5 to .75. PMPS 135; should we shoot .75, decrease the dose, stalling
 
It looks like you got ( or hubby got ) a PMPS of 135. You did shoot a 128 PM of 9/30 with .50 dose. Can you monitor? Do you have plenty of supplies and higher carb food?
 
Since you just increased this AM, I do not think that increase of .75 could have done anything yet as it takes 4-6 cycles to fill in the depot. You might want to just shoot the old dose of .50 again. @Chris & China , what do you think?
 
I have higher carb food, but she doesn't like or eat kibble. I have honey and corn syrup, I have ice cream. I have been there before.

Will shooting this result in another bounce, even worse one?
 
I would be more comfortable shooting the lower dose, but I'm willing to be guided.
If it were me, I would shoot the .50 again. She might be one of those cats that take longer than 6 cycle to clear a bounce. Bounces happen until they stop. I am not trying to be flip with you, but the answer is who knows if she will bounce again. My guess, is probably. They usually do until they start to get use to being in normal numbers.

Can you get a +1 test and a +2 and go from there? I will circle back in an hour. Much past that I won't be online, was gone all day hiking and I am exhausted.
 
Last edited:
If you're going to be home and able to test tonight and have plenty of supplies, I'd go ahead and repeat the .75 and make sure to get a +1 and +2 so you can intervene early if you need to

Some cats do react sooner than others to an increase and shooting lower Pre-shots is usually exactly what you should be doing.

But if you're not sure, there's no reason you can't shoot the .5 again....at this point it's all data-gathering and you'll see what happens
 
I totally understand, and you can only do what you can do.

We've agreed to shoot the .5, then test again. If she bounces, we'll deal with it.

The past two times she was on insulin, getting her into remission was a breeze. She's older now, and I guess it will be harder.
 
PMPS was 135; stalled half an hour; retested & got 132. Gonna shoot .5 & feed. All phalanges crossed.
 
Which is why we tend to suggest being more aggressive the 2nd (and 3rd and 4th and ….) time
I hear what you are saying. Where I was coming from was a 1 time new dose . Guess I haven't been on the board long enough to see a remarked reaction to a new dose in the first cycle. I learn something new every day. Thanks Chris for your insight.
 
PMPS was 135; stalled half an hour; retested & got 132. Gonna shoot .5 & feed. All phalanges crossed.

You can take the 911 down now...we usually save that for medical emergencies like hypo's and just edit the subject line (like you did) and add the ?

Once you have eyes on you, you can remove the special prefixes so IF you need to add it again later, we won't think it's the same one

GMTA @Bobbie And Bubba
 
Just saw the +1 so it's lower than the PMPS. Looks like this could be another active cycle like PM 9/30. Go for the +2 test and if she has dropped into a green number, give her a little bit of LC food, just a tsp or so to help her surf. Do you remember the drill from the other night to keep her surfing? I need to sign off. @Chris & China will you be able to look in on Mala and Renee?
 
OK.....go ahead and give her a couple of teaspoons of her regular low carb food and test again in 30 minutes
 
Last edited:
That's OK....she's still in safe numbers.

The trick now is to feed her just enough to keep her from falling too much further, but not feed her so much that if you need her to eat later, she's full

Another teaspoon of food now and test again in 30
 
Also, something to keep in mind....it looks like she might be one of those kitties that needs more than 6 cycles to clear her bounces, so in the future, you might want to plan on holding the dose for a minimum of 8.

This is why we test and gather data!! There's always a kitty out there that doesn't read the manual!! ;)
 
Have already fed her about a table spoon of lc food. She wants more, but I'll hold off until at least 10:30. If her bounces take longer than 6 cycles, we can work with that. Data is a wonderful thing.
 
Nice +3!!

Keep on surfing safely Yemala!!
surfing cat cartoon (Mobile).png
 
She just ate again, and is happily growling at one of the civvie cats who really wants to eat when she does. Mala is never more satisfied than when she can put another cat in his place.

Castor deserves it. There are reasons why he thinks his name is "Dammit Castor!"
 
66 at +4. I think she'll be okay for tonight.

Question is, does she bounce tomorrow? I hope the greens and blues continue on.
 
She scoffs at your warnings. This is a cat who is happy to nip my nose when she doesn't get exactly what she wants when she wants it. Even when she's purring, she'll nip.

She's a sweet n sour kitty, a true torti, utterly contemptuous of all things that aren't about her.

I will check again at +6
 
So quick question, then I'll let you be.

In general, when a cat is bouncing into the highs out of a green period, are the subsequent bounces lower in numbers? In other words, does the curve flatten over time, or should we expect to see reds if she bounces again? Or is that something that fall into the ECID realm?

We plan to shoot a .5 unit tomorrow, and keep that dose for at least 8 cycles per the TR protocol. I appreciate your reminder of how this all works.
 
The "idea" is that the more time they spend in normal numbers, the more likely their body is to re-learn that it's OK to be there and the bounces gradually don't bounce as high and don't last as long.

Some cat's pancreas learns this faster than others....and some never do.....but we've also had cats that bounced all the way to OTJ!
 
Back
Top