? Yemala 10/11 AMPS 415; +3 415; +4 435; PMPS 470; +2 412; +5 305 giving up

:cool:

I just can't even. Back in the 400s, a mid-cycle bg the same as the AMPS.

This is just so torti.
 
Thoughts regarding Mala's current dose. Last night, we were thinking that with a cycle in the blue, holding the dose for up to 2 more cycles would be best.

Now, she bounces back into the reds and it's feeling rather hopeless.

To increase or not, that is the question. This AM was the sixth cycle on the .75 dose.
 
I think my husband and I are beginning to suspect that Mala has packed her bags and is getting ready to depart.

No insulin is working. No matter how little carbs we give, her bgs soar.

Combined with the CKD, I think we'd rather let her have a more dignified departure.
 
Today is a pure bounce from what I can see. Patience is hard when you see all those reds.

I don't follow TR....but...the guideline is to hold a dose for 6-10 cycles if getting nadirs under 200. You are on cycle 7. It looks like it may take her a bit to clear bounces as she really likes to go to the clouds. She got close to green last night. I would hold a few more cycles to see if see if she clears that bounce for you. The thing is when they clear...the momentum can take them down quickly and trigger a new bounce because of the rate of decline and the new preceived low. Takes a bit for the body to say...it is ok, this is normal and start levelling out those BG's.

Love the tortie comment...I have a calico...6lbs of pure alligator when you try to do anything with her. Her tail is constantly twitching.
 
The high numbers seem to be affecting her. She walks a few steps, wavers, freezes, and sways. Her appetite is down - yesterday, she was ravenous. Today, she won't eat. She seems confused at times.

I don't know that this is a bounce. I have a vet appointment on Thursday. Depending on how she does, we might have to let her go then.
 
Maybe a pancreatic flare? This process has ups and downs. We've gone through several periods of lethargy and being unwilling to eat for days only to see a turnaround and a great appetite. A couple weeks ago we were having numbers in the reds and now we're blue. It takes awhile. Every dose change puts him into reds and blacks for days before he settles.

Please take a deep breath and try not to look ahead. Best wishes.
 
Don't give up yet, she is bouncing hard. Several people here handled CKD and FD together, some for many years. Heck, Neko had those, with acromegaly being a worse kind of FD, then added heart disease and lymphoma to the picture. It took some juggling on my part, but she still had lots of good times.

Neko felt poorly in high numbers. A good sign is that Yamaha isn't used to high numbers and doesn't like them. Paws crossed she'll slide down overnight.
 
Back
Top