Yemala 10/01 AMPS 323; +4 413; +5 407; +6 412; +PMPS 459; +2 456; +4 463

Hi guys,
Woaaaaa Mala, get yourself of that trampoline, we all prefer to see you on that surf board.

It looks like she may have bounced from all that time in green, her body has probably got used to being in those icky pink numbers, and her liver has 'panicked' when she's got down into those nice greens, because her body is not used to these greens it perceives them as too low, this 'perceived' low can result in the liver dumping glucose into the blood stream causing the BG to spike, you will see a high flat curve for at least one cycle and the bounce may last up to 6 cycles but may clear earlier.

Sometimes when we feed extra food, in particular if it's higher carb later in the cycle, we can end up shortening the duration, this can see the numbers spike at PS but in contrast to a bounce you find that the numbers drop back down once the shot onsets.
Time and data will tell which it is, my guess is bounce, since from your notes it doesn't seem like you hit her over the head with carbs. ECID so it will depend on her sensitivity.

Will shoot the usual dose of .5.
BTW the ss says 5u:eek:, guessing this is a typo, I nearly keeled over:joyful:
On SLGS, she should have had a reduction, as she dropped below 90 and that is the reduction point for SLGS.
With bouncy kitties, we can sometimes shoot through the bounce as this can help them back on track more quickly, but we don't know yet if she is bouncy or not.

On TR you would be fine holding the dose, the reduction point being 50, and you guys are testing enough to do TR. It's best not to mix the two methods.

That said, given that Mala is out of remission, what we have found is that it is not unusual for folk to have to take a tighter hold on those numbers and be more aggressive with the dosing (within the guidelines) if they want to achieve regulation or even remission again. In my mind TR would offer you (from your posts it seems like you are hoping for another remission) the best chance of that as this protocol pushes kitty into the healthy range 50-80 and tries to keep them there, and we know that achieving this tight glycaemic control quickly, is what gives them the best chance of remission. In my opinion this is evidenced by the fact that more TR kitties go into remission than those on SLGS, doesn't mean it can't happen, it does, but it generally takes longer and fewer numbers achieve it.
Just my thoughts.

I was thinking when I looked at the ss this morning that 'I bet you're glad you didn't go with the 2u BID that the vet suggested:eek:'

The Empress is looking great, you must be relieved to see those greens last night.
 
I just looked at the SS and saw the 5.00 unit too . Typo right??? :eek:

Yes, she is bouncing from the nice green surf last night. Yawn.......are you as tired as I am??? At least I got to go back to bed for another 2 hours. Refresher about bouncing, we give it 6 cycles or 3 days to clear and hopefully she will be back in greens again.

Glad Gill pointed out the SLGS reduction point as compared to the TR reduction point. I had commented on a previous post of yours that when remission is lost it is harder to get them back , but TR can do it faster. As long as you can test AM pre- shot once in the middle of the cycle and PM pre shot and a test before you go to bed you could follow TR. As of the data on your SS since 9/29 you test enough for TR.
 
I will review the TR guidelines today, and figure out with my husband how to work this in to our schedules. Yes, I want her back in remission, if it can be done. At age 19, OTJ is the way.

And yes - it was a typo on the dosage this morning. Corrected. Thanks for letting me know - tells you how my mind works after a long night and not enough coffee.
 
So if we switch entirely onto TR, I think we would first alter the dose slightly.

Mala's recent weight was 7.75 lbs; kg 3.51. That would mean dosing around .87u. I am still looking for syringes that will let me dose more accurately at low levels, but we can manage.

We would then test PS every day, schedule shots roughly 12 hours apart, test at +5/6. I'm not entirely clear on when she would earn a reduction, or when an increase would be warranted.

I think that falls under the "ask advice early and often" category.
 
Okay, little girl has bounced hard into the red zone.

Davey says no snack, and we'll check again when I get home to see where she is.
 
Mala's recent weight was 7.75 lbs; kg 3.51. That would mean dosing around .87u. I am still looking for syringes that will let me dose more accurately at low levels, but we can manage
I think with last night's cycle and hitting those nice greens, I would hold this dose of. 50 as her low was 61 which does not give a lot of wiggle room to increase and keep her safe. Now, unless she decides not to make it back into the greens again in 6 cycles or 3 days after the bounce has cleared, then you would increase to .75 of a unit. If you follow TR then the reduction point is under 50.

Walmart has syringes ( Relion brand) that have 1/2 unit markings which helps when you are in these in between doses. The are about 13 bucks for a box of 100.


ETA: We increase and decrease in increments of .25 of a unit.
 
463 at +4

*sigh*
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Davey says no snack, and we'll check again when I get home to see where she is.
I'm not sure what you mean by this. But I would feed your girl her usual amount of food, the food won't be impacting her BG, with this bounce it's her 'panicky liver' that's responsible for dumping all that glucose into her blood stream, once it gets over itself you will see her clear the bounce.

We typically expect them to clear a bounce within 6cycles, though she may clear it earlier. You'll know if she's intending to clear a bounce if you catch a lower BG(I would say if you suddenly see a yellow, that a little sign to pay attention), at the moment the high flat reds is just her bouncing.
Do remember that the numbers can bobble about a bit when they are bouncing.

Try not to worry about the bouncing, it's part of the process, we ignore the numbers in the bounce and just look to the nadirs for the dosing decisions. The bounce will pass and then you will look to see where that takes her. Some kitties can gather quite a bit of momentum when they clear a bounce particularly if that happens round about shot time. If she drops out of red and you see a yellow PS, then I would be watchful in the early cycle, getting spot checks early on, and even feeding extra snacks to slow her down.
 
Back
Top