Don & Xena
Member Since 2023
So at 38 Units she stayed in the green for a bit, and went back up, kind of the same as she has done numerous times before.
I originally did not want to go up higher than 33 Units, because I can only get the Lantus once/month with the coupon I use... AND the dose is so high as it is. However Seeing thos green numbers gave me hope that just MAYBE we were near the magic #, so I DID increased her a couple more times, but things were basically the same.
I felt like...If her numbers are the same at 40 Units as they were at 20, why not just keep her at a lower dose. Also, like i said... if I am going to be able to give her any Lantus at all I have to keep it under a certain amount, and I was getting close to using too much.
When I Got down to 33 Units her BG came down to the low Blues. I don't know if it will continue, but I don't know how to continue, because it is counterintuitive. If per se, she goes real low, do I drop her dose? I mean if dropping it caused her BG to drop will dropping it make it even worse? It's like a paradox.
I remember when I accidentally gave her a Fur Shot, her #'s dropped which was strange to me.
Did I increase her too fast maybe. The vet I spoke with on the phone (the same one who suggested trying to drop her dose by 8 or 10 units to see what happens, said something I thought was strange something about..."maybe her dose is too high, and her body is reacting by bringing her BG up, making sugar like crazy"... but I thought..."If that was possible, wouldn't a cat's body just do THAT when they went Hypo, if it were possible?" but I know Every Cat Is Different ECID, but it seems crazy.
I am basically like in uncharted waters here. I am pretty much playing it by ear (no pun intended). It's got me scratching my head.
Maybe someone else has seen this??
Any and all advice is appreciated.
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
Most Recent Post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-30-xena-amps-177-4-226-7-222-pmps-208.283081/
I originally did not want to go up higher than 33 Units, because I can only get the Lantus once/month with the coupon I use... AND the dose is so high as it is. However Seeing thos green numbers gave me hope that just MAYBE we were near the magic #, so I DID increased her a couple more times, but things were basically the same.
I felt like...If her numbers are the same at 40 Units as they were at 20, why not just keep her at a lower dose. Also, like i said... if I am going to be able to give her any Lantus at all I have to keep it under a certain amount, and I was getting close to using too much.
When I Got down to 33 Units her BG came down to the low Blues. I don't know if it will continue, but I don't know how to continue, because it is counterintuitive. If per se, she goes real low, do I drop her dose? I mean if dropping it caused her BG to drop will dropping it make it even worse? It's like a paradox.
I remember when I accidentally gave her a Fur Shot, her #'s dropped which was strange to me.
Did I increase her too fast maybe. The vet I spoke with on the phone (the same one who suggested trying to drop her dose by 8 or 10 units to see what happens, said something I thought was strange something about..."maybe her dose is too high, and her body is reacting by bringing her BG up, making sugar like crazy"... but I thought..."If that was possible, wouldn't a cat's body just do THAT when they went Hypo, if it were possible?" but I know Every Cat Is Different ECID, but it seems crazy.
I am basically like in uncharted waters here. I am pretty much playing it by ear (no pun intended). It's got me scratching my head.
Maybe someone else has seen this??
Any and all advice is appreciated.
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
Most Recent Post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-30-xena-amps-177-4-226-7-222-pmps-208.283081/