Xena 11/11 AMPS 129 , +4 156, +7 136 / PMPS 148

Don & Xena

Member Since 2023
So at 38 Units she stayed in the green for a bit, and went back up, kind of the same as she has done numerous times before.
I originally did not want to go up higher than 33 Units, because I can only get the Lantus once/month with the coupon I use... AND the dose is so high as it is. However Seeing thos green numbers gave me hope that just MAYBE we were near the magic #, so I DID increased her a couple more times, but things were basically the same.
I felt like...If her numbers are the same at 40 Units as they were at 20, why not just keep her at a lower dose. Also, like i said... if I am going to be able to give her any Lantus at all I have to keep it under a certain amount, and I was getting close to using too much.

When I Got down to 33 Units her BG came down to the low Blues. I don't know if it will continue, but I don't know how to continue, because it is counterintuitive. If per se, she goes real low, do I drop her dose? I mean if dropping it caused her BG to drop will dropping it make it even worse? It's like a paradox.
I remember when I accidentally gave her a Fur Shot, her #'s dropped which was strange to me.
Did I increase her too fast maybe. The vet I spoke with on the phone (the same one who suggested trying to drop her dose by 8 or 10 units to see what happens, said something I thought was strange something about..."maybe her dose is too high, and her body is reacting by bringing her BG up, making sugar like crazy"... but I thought..."If that was possible, wouldn't a cat's body just do THAT when they went Hypo, if it were possible?" but I know Every Cat Is Different ECID, but it seems crazy.
I am basically like in uncharted waters here. I am pretty much playing it by ear (no pun intended). It's got me scratching my head.
Maybe someone else has seen this??
Any and all advice is appreciated.
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom



Most Recent Post:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-30-xena-amps-177-4-226-7-222-pmps-208.283081/
 
Maybe someone else has seen this??
It's called insulin resistance, the source of which is yet to be determined. The lower numbers you saw yesterday into today could be caused by the larger dose depot. After a reduction, the depot can influence 4-6 cycles, longer with a higher dose. Lately you've been dosing all over the place, which can also cause wonky numbers. Time for patience, hold the dose for long enough for the depot to settle and see what a particular dose is doing.

You are not in uncharted territory. I've seen plenty of cats on higher doses, though typically at this point the caregiver has tested for secondary conditions that can mean a cat needs higher doses. Without test results, we can only speculate on the why something is happening. Knowledge provides power and some answers. And the possibility of treatments. But even then, things can be happening inside the cat that we can't directly observe.
If per se, she goes real low, do I drop her dose?
If you are following TR, you reduce the dose when they go under 50. Lately her nadirs aren't near that.
 
It's called insulin resistance, the source of which is yet to be determined. The lower numbers you saw yesterday into today could be caused by the larger dose depot. After a reduction, the depot can influence 4-6 cycles, longer with a higher dose. Lately you've been dosing all over the place, which can also cause wonky numbers. Time for patience, hold the dose for long enough for the depot to settle and see what a particular dose is doing.

You are not in uncharted territory. I've seen plenty of cats on higher doses, though typically at this point the caregiver has tested for secondary conditions that can mean a cat needs higher doses. Without test results, we can only speculate on the why something is happening. Knowledge provides power and some answers. And the possibility of treatments. But even then, things can be happening inside the cat that we can't directly observe.

If you are following TR, you reduce the dose when they go under 50. Lately her nadirs aren't near that.
I don’t understand why the depot would affect the numbers more when you reduce the insulin. What I’m saying is I’m giving her 30 units now. I was giving her 40 units not that long ago and her numbers were higher, so wouldn’t the higher dose along with the depot affect her numbers more than a lower dose with the depot? why do they drop when you drop their dose? When I said uncharted waters, I wasn’t actually referring to the higher doses… I meant that her glucose is dropping when I dropped her dose, and I meant it was new to me. Also, the secondary testing not being done is not by choice, as I’ve mentioned before. I’m trying to do the best with the means that I have.
 
I'm just dropping by to wish you and Xena well. Has Xena been tested for acromegaly? It doesn't say on your spreadsheet so, just wondering.
 
I was giving her 40 units not that long ago and her numbers were higher, so wouldn’t the higher dose along with the depot affect her numbers more than a lower dose with the depot?
You never held the doses in the 40's long enough for the depot to build and there is also the New Dose Wonkiness factor that can cause temporary higher numbers in the first few cycles after an increase. I really urge you to pick a dose, and hold it for at least six cycles, unless she goes under 50. With doses moving around all the time, and the influence of the depot, it's hard to know what dose is responsible for the numbers you are seeing.
why do they drop when you drop their dose?
Influence of the depot. Having too high a dose has a certain look on the spreadsheet. Even if they temporarily "make sugar like crazy", they do eventually drop down low. Other than a few cycles where you don't have second tests, there is no evidence of this happening.

As for the secondary condition testing, I understand why you haven't done it. Just letting you know that without that testing, we are speculating as to the "why" of things. I can think of additional possible reasons for the numbers doing what they are doing, but they depend on knowing why she needs a higher dose. As Jodey has discovered, even the need for a dental can have a influence on size of dose needed.

There are trade-offs if treatment can be done. If cabergoline lowers the dose, then the cost of cabergoline might be offset by the cost of using less insulin.
 
I'm just dropping by to wish you and Xena well. Has Xena been tested for acromegaly? It doesn't say on your spreadsheet so, just wondering.
Thank you. She hasn’t been tested yet. It’s not possible right now. Hopefully I will be able to manage it at some point.
 
Back
Top