Xander | PMPS 370 - Shoot early after a stalled AM shot? | AMPS 324 - Worried about DKA. :(

Brianna & Xander

Very Active Member
3/28/25

Bad morning for us here.

I'm worried about DKA. Xander hasn't really eaten in about 13 hours. He's not drinking but that's typical (he seemed to stop drinking entirely so I add water to all of his meals). About an hour ago he vomited clear liquid (because he's not eating).

He ate most of but didn't finish his meals yesterday, and seemed very lethargic and sleepy all day. Today he does seem more alert, but kind of not himself.

I've got a camera on his litterbox waiting to see if he pees so I can test his ketones, but I dunno how likely he is to even go if he's not eating or drinking. He decided to go a little right as I was about to switch the Breeze tray to an empty one (rather than the pee pad) so I have no idea how long it'll be til he goes again.

So far I've been stalling the shot waiting to see if he'd eat. He did finally start licking at his food a little but got suspicious of me when I moved, so he left and hasn't come back. :(

I know it's possible to test ketones in blood but A) we don't have any supplies for that right now and B) we never have luck getting blood anyway, which is why we opted for the pee sticks.

Sigh.

FWIW, we did increase last night to 2.75. Sucks that it's looking like we'll be skipping this shot and lose the depot since he won't eat.

ETA 9:30: We've stalled an hour and he's barely licked his food. Not sure if his numbers are so high that we should shoot anyway or continue to stall for another hour and/or skip.
 
Last edited:
3/28/25

Bad morning for us here.

I'm worried about DKA. Xander hasn't really eaten in about 13 hours. He's not drinking but that's typical (he seemed to stop drinking entirely so I add water to all of his meals). About an hour ago he vomited clear liquid (because he's not eating).

He ate most of but didn't finish his meals yesterday, and seemed very lethargic and sleepy all day. Today he does seem more alert, but kind of not himself.

I've got a camera on his litterbox waiting to see if he pees so I can test his ketones, but I dunno how likely he is to even go if he's not eating or drinking. He decided to go a little right as I was about to switch the Breeze tray to an empty one (rather than the pee pad) so I have no idea how long it'll be til he goes again.

So far I've been stalling the shot waiting to see if he'd eat. He did finally start licking at his food a little but got suspicious of me when I moved, so he left and hasn't come back. :(

I know it's possible to test ketones in blood but A) we don't have any supplies for that right now and B) we never have luck getting blood anyway, which is why we opted for the pee sticks.

Sigh.

FWIW, we did increase last night to 2.75. Sucks that it's looking like we'll be skipping this shot and lose the depot since he won't eat.

ETA 9:30: We've stalled an hour and he's barely licked his food. Not sure if his numbers are so high that we should shoot anyway or continue to stall for another hour and/or skip.
Hi Brianna, let me read your thread. Be right back
 
3/28/25

Bad morning for us here.

I'm worried about DKA. Xander hasn't really eaten in about 13 hours. He's not drinking but that's typical (he seemed to stop drinking entirely so I add water to all of his meals). About an hour ago he vomited clear liquid (because he's not eating).

He ate most of but didn't finish his meals yesterday, and seemed very lethargic and sleepy all day. Today he does seem more alert, but kind of not himself.

I've got a camera on his litterbox waiting to see if he pees so I can test his ketones, but I dunno how likely he is to even go if he's not eating or drinking. He decided to go a little right as I was about to switch the Breeze tray to an empty one (rather than the pee pad) so I have no idea how long it'll be til he goes again.

So far I've been stalling the shot waiting to see if he'd eat. He did finally start licking at his food a little but got suspicious of me when I moved, so he left and hasn't come back. :(

I know it's possible to test ketones in blood but A) we don't have any supplies for that right now and B) we never have luck getting blood anyway, which is why we opted for the pee sticks.

Sigh.

FWIW, we did increase last night to 2.75. Sucks that it's looking like we'll be skipping this shot and lose the depot since he won't eat.

ETA 9:30: We've stalled an hour and he's barely licked his food. Not sure if his numbers are so high that we should shoot anyway or continue to stall for another hour and/or skip.
You’ve never had Dka issue, right?
Do you think you could spoon feed him or syringe Feed him if needed?

You probably would have a little time after you give the shot until the insulin release starts kicking in to get food into him, but you would want to feel comfortable that you would be able to get him to eat.
Is he Sitting in like a loafing position as they say, kinda not really moving and not interested in food??
 
If you think you could get some food into him, you could give him possibly a token dose.
At the moment, his numbers aren’t off the chart high.
But I would want to feel comfortable you think you would be able to get some kind of food into him

Do you have any anti-nausea medication in the house like Cerenia or Ondansetron if needed?

If he is looking like he wants to eat, but then turns away that usually means they are nauseated.
 
You’ve never had Dka issue, right?
Do you think you could spoon feed him or syringe Feed him if needed?

You probably would have a little time after you give the shot until the insulin release starts kicking in to get food into him, but you would want to feel comfortable that you would be able to get him to eat.
Is he Sitting in like a loafing position as they say, kinda not really moving and not interested in food??

Nope, no DKA in the past. I don't think I'd be able to syringe feed him, no. :(

He has been generally in the "standing loaf" position (not fully down, but in the same position with his feet out) some of the time, not interested in food. Other times he's walked around a little (but I think that's because he was nervous about me for some reason, he felt like he had to go somewhere else).

He actually did just FINALLY eat his breakfast though. Still planning to test his urine once he goes, but at least he's done that much.
 
If you think you could get some food into him, you could give him possibly a token dose.
At the moment, his numbers aren’t off the chart high.
But I would want to feel comfortable you think you would be able to get some kind of food into him

Do you have any anti-nausea medication in the house like Cerenia or Ondansetron if needed?

If he is looking like he wants to eat, but then turns away that usually means they are nauseated.

Sorry, didn't see the second response til I already posted the first.

I do actually have ondansetron but it's not a pet prescription, it's mine. :arghh:

He did seem nauseated because if food was in front of him he actively wanted to get away from it.
 
Nope, no DKA in the past. I don't think I'd be able to syringe feed him, no. :(

He has been generally in the "standing loaf" position (not fully down, but in the same position with his feet out) some of the time, not interested in food. Other times he's walked around a little (but I think that's because he was nervous about me for some reason, he felt like he had to go somewhere else).

He actually did just FINALLY eat his breakfast though. Still planning to test his urine once he goes, but at least he's done that much.
Well, that’s good that he ate!!
 
Sorry, didn't see the second response til I already posted the first.

I do actually have ondansetron but it's not a pet prescription, it's mine. :arghh:

He did seem nauseated because if food was in front of him he actively wanted to get away from it.
The dosing is just probably much different than for a human.

I think most people use 2 mg or 4 mg 2 to 3 times a day
 
Well, that’s good that he ate!!

Yes, finally! He normally gets half a FF can (3 oz) at about 5:45 AM and another at PS time. He's actually only eaten all of the 5:45 meal so he's half a can behind. Should it be a token dose (and what would that be?) because of that, or should I shoot the full 2.75?
 
Sorry, didn't see the second response til I already posted the first.

I do actually have ondansetron but it's not a pet prescription, it's mine. :arghh:

He did seem nauseated because if food was in front of him he actively wanted to get away from it.
But it’s interesting that if he seemed nauseated yet he ate his breakfast.
 
It’s actually the same medication, it’s a human medication not actually made for pets
The dosing is just probably much different than for a human.

I think most people use 2 mg or 4 mg 2 to 3 times a day

I was hoping for that but wasn't sure and was afraid to look like an idiot asking lol The pills are tiny and I'm not sure what the dosage is, I'd have to go look. It's possible that I may not be able to split it into doses small enough to work because the pill is sooo tiny.

But it’s interesting that if he seemed nauseated yet he ate his breakfast.

Maybe the nausea just wore off? It is weird. I mean it makes sense that he wouldn't be interested for a bit after vomiting, but I don't know if he was nauseated all night (he didn't eat his overnight meal or that 5:45 meal until now).
 
Yes, finally! He normally gets half a FF can (3 oz) at about 5:45 AM and another at PS time. He's actually only eaten all of the 5:45 meal so he's half a can behind. Should it be a token dose (and what would that be?) because of that, or should I shoot the full 2.75?
I’m not really qualified to give dosing advice and I don’t want to steer you wrong. I sure wish there were more qualified people around to help right now.
I think you would have to decide if you think you could get him to eat more after the shot. It’s kind of make up those calories that he hasn’t yet eaten today. I assume, you give him food after his shot as the insulin onsets so that the insulin has something to work with?

I give Ivy a small snacks at +1, 2 and +3.
If you think that you can get him to eat something as the insulin onsets, then you could at least give a token dose.
Would you be comfortable giving half a dose?
I know Wendy always says that cats undergoing anesthesia can have a half a dose of insulin.

But I would certainly try to continue to give him small meals as the cycle continues
Maybe he can handle small feedings if he’s nauseated
 
And if you’re not confident that you could get them to eat a skip is certainly OK if you had to. It’s only one cycle and since he doesn’t have DKA history if you think you could get him back on track eating and figure out what’s going on then that’s always an option too.
 
Tell your vet about this and your concern of him not eating and the need for meds on-hand.

I think EVERYONE here whether they've experienced an episode or not should have pills of Cerenia and Ondansetron, and a tube of fresh Mirataz on hand, at all times.

Whatever is the cause for Kona that put us in the emergency rooms a few times with resulting in nothing other than just getting her to eat again.... now, I manage the episodes completely on my own. It's always a Friday night when it happens :rolleyes:. Just happened the other day, she refused to eat, rubbed her chin into the food. Hit her with the mirataz and cerenia and we got through it within a day or two by hitting it as soon as she started to feel bad, probably nauseous.

Good luck :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I was hoping for that but wasn't sure and was afraid to look like an idiot asking lol The pills are tiny and I'm not sure what the dosage is, I'd have to go look. It's possible that I may not be able to split it into doses small enough to work because the pill is sooo tiny.



Maybe the nausea just wore off? It is weird. I mean it makes sense that he wouldn't be interested for a bit after vomiting, but I don't know if he was nauseated all night (he didn't eat his overnight meal or that 5:45 meal until now).
I am glad to hear that at least he ate so that’s a good thing.

And never be afraid to ask a question even if you think it’s stupid. Believe me we’ve all had to ask stupid questions that turn out not to be so stupid. There’s so much to figure out here and you probably aren’t the first person to ask that question anyway

You would have to look at your pill bottle to see what the dosage is on the ondansetron.
And if you have a pill cutter that can help (That’s what I use if I need to cut a pill)
 
Tell your vet about this and your concern of him not eating and the need for meds on-hand.

I think EVERYONE here whether they've experienced an episode or not should have pills of Cerenia and Ondansetron, and a tube of fresh Mirataz on hand, at all times.

Whatever is the cause for Kona that put us in the emergency rooms a few times with resulting in nothing other than just getting her to eat again.... now, I manage the episodes completely on my own. It's always a Friday night when it happens :rolleyes:. Just happened the other day, she refused to eat, rubbed her chin into the food. Hit her with the mirataz and cerenia and we got through it within a day or two by hitting it as soon as she started to feel bad, probably nauseous.

Good luck :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Jason is absolutely correct!! unfortunately, we all learned the hard way, so learn from all of us who’ve been here longer and muddling along! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m not really qualified to give dosing advice and I don’t want to steer you wrong. I sure wish there were more qualified people around to help right now.
I think you would have to decide if you think you could get him to eat more after the shot. It’s kind of make up those calories that he hasn’t yet eaten today. I assume, you give him food after his shot as the insulin onsets so that the insulin has something to work with?

I give Ivy a small snacks at +1, 2 and +3.
If you think that you can get him to eat something as the insulin onsets, then you could at least give a token dose.
Would you be comfortable giving half a dose?
I know Wendy always says that cats undergoing anesthesia can have a half a dose of insulin.

But I would certainly try to continue to give him small meals as the cycle continues
Maybe he can handle small feedings if he’s nauseated

Yeah, I had been worried that no one was around right now. :( I know it's not generally advised to stall past 2 hours and we're getting there.

I'm not positive I could get him to eat again, but I do give him a meal at what is normally +4-5. I could try giving him some more food earlier than that, like +2-3 from when I finally shoot. I don't think he'd eat again in an hour. It's also possible he'd be more likely to eat one of the yummy 12% foods instead of course.

And if you’re not confident that you could get them to eat a skip is certainly OK if you had to. It’s only one cycle and since he doesn’t have DKA history if you think you could get him back on track eating and figure out what’s going on then that’s always an option too.

I'm reeeally hoping I don't have to skip! :( But thank you for the reassurance that it probably wouldn't be so bad. I hate making these decisions.

And never be afraid to ask a question even if you think it’s stupid. Believe me we’ve all had to ask stupid questions that turn out not to be so stupid. There’s so much to figure out here and you probably aren’t the first person to ask that question anyway

You would have to look at your pill bottle to see what the dosage is on the ondansetron.
And if you have a pill cutter that can help (That’s what I use if I need to cut a pill)

Thank you! I'll keep that in mind.

I just went and grabbed my ondansetron. It's only 4mg, so that's a nice start. I do fortunately have a pill splitter, but the pills really are tiny so we'll see how that goes. Wonder if I could even get it into him if he won't eat (he only takes pills crushed into food). Do you think I should just mix that into his next meal in hopes of keeping nausea at bay for a while in general?
 
Tell your vet about this and your concern of him not eating and the need for meds on-hand.

I think EVERYONE here whether they've experienced an episode or not should have pills of Cerenia and Ondansetron, and a tube of fresh Mirataz on hand, at all times.

Whatever is the cause for Kona that put us in the emergency rooms a few times with resulting in nothing other than just getting her to eat again.... now, I manage the episodes completely on my own. It's always a Friday night when it happens :rolleyes:. Just happened the other day, she refused to eat, rubbed her chin into the food. Hit her with the mirataz and cerenia and we got through it within a day or two by hitting it as soon as she started to feel bad, probably nauseous.

Good luck :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I will! Unfortunately our main vet has been on a leave of absence for a couple of months, so we met a new interim vet who is also now gone and we just got an email yesterday that the original is leaving the practice so now we'll have to meet a third new vet. Not sure when we'd even be able to get in. We do have a tube of Mirataz at least, but it's hard to get him to let us put it on him.

I'll definitely ask for the other prescriptions to have on hand once we finally get established with whoever...
 
Hi Brianna :)
Sorry you're having such a stressful day. Worrying about ketones is my worst nightmare.

You can get pee sticks to test ketones. They're very reliable and that can give you a peace of mind.

If you know how to give SQ that could help as well. Both to revive the energy and also to prevent ketones.

One of the reasons for ketones is not enough insulin so you want to make sure Xander gets his insulin. You can consider a token dose as well.

The dosing for Ondansetron is 1mg per kg of a cat every 4-6 hours. It rally helps Fistuk.

I'd tag some of the experienced folks here to help you out with this @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom

Sending you pawsitive vibes :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yeah, I had been worried that no one was around right now. :( I know it's not generally advised to stall past 2 hours and we're getting there.

I'm not positive I could get him to eat again, but I do give him a meal at what is normally +4-5. I could try giving him some more food earlier than that, like +2-3 from when I finally shoot. I don't think he'd eat again in an hour. It's also possible he'd be more likely to eat one of the yummy 12% foods instead of course.



I'm reeeally hoping I don't have to skip! :( But thank you for the reassurance that it probably wouldn't be so bad. I hate making these decisions.



Thank you! I'll keep that in mind.

I just went and grabbed my ondansetron. It's only 4mg, so that's a nice start. I do fortunately have a pill splitter, but the pills really are tiny so we'll see how that goes. Wonder if I could even get it into him if he won't eat (he only takes pills crushed into food). Do you think I should just mix that into his next meal in hopes of keeping nausea at bay for a while in general?
I would think it can’t hurt if you think he’s nauseous. You could start with 2 mg if you can cut it and see if that does anything, and if it doesn’t after around eight hours, I think you could give another dose and (you could try 4 mg if you think the 2 mg didn’t cut it).

And sure give it to him in a teaspoon of 12% if you think he will eat it that way, however you have to get it into them.
We do whatever it takes
 
I would think it can’t hurt if you think he’s nauseous. You could start with 2 mg if you can cut it and see if that does anything, and if it doesn’t after around eight hours, I think you could give another dose and (you could try 4 mg if you think the 2 mg didn’t cut it).

And sure give it to him in a teaspoon of 12% if you think he will eat it that way, however you have to get it into them.
We do whatever it takes

Okay, I can do that. Thank you!

I guess since I'm not positive I can get him to eat a whole lot (but might be able to get him to at least go for a little of the 12% or higher and mix the ondansetron into it) I'll give a half dose. Better than nothing at least.

Thank you for your help, Staci! I appreciate you!
 
Vets might put a fight... but you got to tell them, you're only looking for a one-time script for just a few pills of each med to have on hand in case of an emergency and it's a Friday night. Time is of the essence when we are shooting, have already shot, and numbers are dropping with no food in their stomachs. You can't and don't want to wait in some emergency vet line just for them to send you home with the same meds. Not to mention costing you several hundreds or maybe more.

I want to be clear, I'm only talking about getting through that first night or the day or two of them just not wanting to eat to see if things subside, they start eating again and feeling better again. Of course if it goes on for more than a day or two and there are other symptoms, you'll want to engage with a vet asap.

Your description of having issues with vet availability and them coming and going, is EXACTLY, another reason you should bring up when asking for these meds to have on-hand.

Just calmly slip it in during your next check-in visit when you can... that's how I do it.
 
Hi Brianna :)
Sorry you're having such a stressful day. Worrying about ketones is my worst nightmare.

You can get pee sticks to test ketones. They're very reliable and that can give you a peace of mind.

If you know how to give SQ that could help as well. Both to revive the energy and also to prevent ketones.

One of the reasons for ketones is not enough insulin so you want to make sure Xander gets his insulin. You can consider a token dose as well.

The dosing for Ondansetron is 1mg per kg of a cat every 4-6 hours. It rally helps Fistuk.

I'd tag some of the experienced folks here to help you out with this @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom

Sending you pawsitive vibes :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Shelly,

We do have the pee sticks, but unfortunately he hasn't been wanting to pee. :rolleyes: We've got a camera set up to see if he goes to his litter box though so that I can grab it then.

I have no idea how to do SQ unfortunately.

Thank you so much for responding! :bighug:
 
Vets might put a fight... but you got to tell them, you're only looking for a one-time script for just a few pills of each med to have on hand in case of an emergency and it's a Friday night. Time is of the essence when we are shooting, have already shot, and numbers are dropping with no food in their stomachs. You can't and don't want to wait in some emergency vet line just for them to send you home with the same meds. Not to mention costing you several hundreds or maybe more.

I want to be clear, I'm only talking about getting through that first night or the day or two of them just not wanting to eat to see if things subside, they start eating again and feeling better again. Of course if it goes on for more than a day or two and there are other symptoms, you'll want to engage with a vet asap.

You description of having issues with vet availability and them coming and going, is EXACTLY, another reason you should bring up when asking for these meds to have on-hand.

Just calmly slip it in during your next check-in visit when you can... that's how I do it.

That's great advice and makes total sense. Thank you! I will do exactly that!
 
I'm so sorry that Xander is feeling bad. Understandable that it is stressing you out.
Not sure how often you have dealt with nausea before but for Noogi (and my previous cat who suffered from it a lot) the telltale signs were the tense crouched loaf position as Staci mentioned, hiding away from me, and also repeated licking of the lips.
Glad he ate a bit and hoping that will make him feel better.
Sending healing throughs to you and to Xander :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Okay, I can do that. Thank you!

I guess since I'm not positive I can get him to eat a whole lot (but might be able to get him to at least go for a little of the 12% or higher and mix the ondansetron into it) I'll give a half dose. Better than nothing at least.

Thank you for your help, Staci! I appreciate you!
Of course, no problem Brianna. I would Try to offer him a teaspoon here and there and see if you can just get a little bit in at a time. Maybe don’t overwhelm him with a lot of food but little bits over the course of a few few hours.
 
Please keep us posted and let us know what’s going on as the day progresses so that you get more eyes on what’s happening and keep posting for help if you need it don’t hesitate to do so.
We’re all sending you positive energy for Xander

and I have to second with Jason said again that it’s so important to have those meds on hand. Frankly, I would think of calling your vets office and try to get this prescription ASAP and not even wait until who knows whenever your next scheduled regular appointment is explained to them what happened that he’s diabetic and that you can’t risk him not eating and being nauseated

Chewy is one place that carries the Cerenia, and the ondansetron, as you know, you can get it at your local pharmacy and it’s very inexpensive
I got a prescription for 30 Ondansetron.
(I’d rather have more than I need).

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm so sorry that Xander is feeling bad. Understandable that it is stressing you out.
Not sure how often you have dealt with nausea before but for Noogi (and my previous cat who suffered from it a lot) the telltale signs were the tense crouched loaf position as Staci mentioned, hiding away from me, and also repeated licking of the lips.
Glad he ate a bit and hoping that will make him feel better.
Sending healing throughs to you and to Xander :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I'll keep those signs in mind, thank you so much!

I'm hoping I can get him to eat a tsp of the 12% he really likes with some ondansetron mixed in to hopefully help out for later meals.
 
Please keep us posted and let us know what’s going on as the day progresses so that you get more eyes on what’s happening and keep posting for help if you need it don’t hesitate to do so.
We’re all sending you positive energy for Xander

and I have to second with Jason said again that it’s so important to have those meds on hand. Frankly, I would think of calling your vets office and try to get this prescription ASAP and not even wait until who knows whenever your next scheduled regular appointment is explained to them what happened that he’s diabetic and that you can’t risk him not eating and being nauseated

Chewy is one place that carries the Cerenia, and the ondansetron, as you know, you can get it at your local pharmacy and it’s very inexpensive
I got a prescription for 30 Ondansetron.
(I’d rather have more than I need).

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Will do! I just gave him 1.25 units (half would've been 1.37 and I really tried for that but hard to do even with half unit markings, especially when the needles are continuously off). I did my best though.

I'm going to try to get him to eat a tsp of the 12% with some ondansetron mixed in at the +1 mark and hopefully that'll make him more likely to eat the next snack. I'll do what you said and try not to overwhelm him with too much food (maybe a tsp every hour for a few hours?)

I'll see if I can leave a voicemail for the vet and ask for the meds so hopefully they can prescribe on Monday. I worry that the new vet would want to meet him first and we'll have to wait for that to even be possible... Ugh. Everything all at once.

What is the Cerenia and how is it different from ondansetron? Should both be used at once or is it just an alternative?
 
I'll see if I can leave a voicemail for the vet and ask for the meds so hopefully they can prescribe on Monday. I worry that the new vet would want to meet him first and we'll have to wait for that to even be possible... Ugh. Everything all at once.

I left a message requesting the new prescriptions (and specifying "even if it's just a small amount, for emergencies" as @Jason - Kona's Dad advised)! Hopefully they'll see that first thing Monday morning and that we won't have any problems between now and then.
 
Will do! I just gave him 1.25 units (half would've been 1.37 and I really tried for that but hard to do even with half unit markings, especially when the needles are continuously off). I did my best though.

I'm going to try to get him to eat a tsp of the 12% with some ondansetron mixed in at the +1 mark and hopefully that'll make him more likely to eat the next snack. I'll do what you said and try not to overwhelm him with too much food (maybe a tsp every hour for a few hours?)

I'll see if I can leave a voicemail for the vet and ask for the meds so hopefully they can prescribe on Monday. I worry that the new vet would want to meet him first and we'll have to wait for that to even be possible... Ugh. Everything all at once.

What is the Cerenia and how is it different from ondansetron? Should both be used at once or is it just an alternative?
Cerenia is for anti vomiting and nausea as well. It can be used with Ondansetron. Cerenia is 1x a day.

Since your practice has Xander’s records, you could explain that you really just need to have the meds right away. Instead of just going to meet the new vet for no other reason.
It’s worth a try.

Yes, I’d try a little bit of food every so often to see if he’s interested.

Paws crossed he feels better quick and this was just a fluke. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Cerenia is for anti vomiting and nausea as well. It can be used with Ondansetron. Cerenia is 1x a day.

Since your practice has Xander’s records, you could explain that you really just need to have the meds right away. Instead of just going to meet the new vet for no other reason.
It’s worth a try.

Yes, I’d try a little bit of food every so often to see if he’s interested.

Paws crossed he feels better quick and this was just a fluke. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Ah, understood. Thank you!

Okay, I'll do my best with that. Advocating for myself isn't my strong suit but maybe for Xander I'll manage to be a little more forceful lol

Thank you again for your advice! I'll keep everything updated and hope that this was just an off couple of days for him. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm on my phone and I haven't been able to properly read the whole condo, so apologies if I ask the same questions again or repeat what others have already said.

Ondansetron is the same drug for humans and pets. You can give it as often as every 8 hours, if required. What is Xander's weight? I would give Bandit 2mg and she was around 11lbs.

I think Xander has no history of ketones and DKA? Try and get him to eat. Even if the food is not low carb. Add some water to the food for hydration.

The recipe for ketones/DKA is not enough food&water + not enough insulin + any infection etc. How long is it since you gave him the shot? It's good you gave something but the full dose would have also been okay.
 
Ah, understood. Thank you!

Okay, I'll do my best with that. Advocating for myself isn't my strong suit but maybe for Xander I'll manage to be a little more forceful lol

Thank you again for your advice! I'll keep everything updated and hope that this was just an off couple of days for him. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
You’re doing great. It’s a steep learning curve around here. But you have lots of great helpers here with tons of experience, so lean on them and keep learning.

We learn to advocate for our kids (furry or human). They can’t do it for themselves

I’ve learned to be much more forceful after a lot of experience over the years. I’m sure I was pretty timid with my first round of cats in my 20s.

I hope it was just a bad day and he will feel much better by tomorrow!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm on my phone and I haven't been able to properly read the whole condo, so apologies if I ask the same questions again or repeat what others have already said.

Ondansetron is the same drug for humans and pets. You can give it as often as every 8 hours, if required. What is Xander's weight? I would give Bandit 2mg and she was around 11lbs.

I think Xander has no history of ketones and DKA? Try and get him to eat. Even if the food is not low carb. Add some water to the food for hydration.

The recipe for ketones/DKA is not enough food&water + not enough insulin + any infection etc. How long is it since you gave him the shot? It's good you gave something but the full dose would have also been okay.

Hi Bhooma! Thanks for checking in.

Xander is between 11-12 lb, closer to 12 last time we checked.

Correct, he has no history of DKA. I haven't actually checked him for ketones myself but the vet didn't mention any when she did urine tests.

I do add water to all of his food because he literally doesn't seem to touch his water dish anymore, so we've got that going for us at least. He does have some tooth resorption that (at the time) the vet said didn't need attention right away, but eventually. Last time he was looked at they didn't say anything about needing to move that up sooner so it seems like he's okay for now (not that we won't take care of it, but y'know).

I'm going to give him a tsp or so of 12% (that he's always excited about) in about 10 minutes with some of the ondansetron mixed in.

It's been about 54 minutes since I gave him the shot.
 
He does have some tooth resorption that (at the time) the vet said didn't need attention right away, but eventually. Last time he was looked at they didn't say anything about needing to move that up sooner so it seems like he's okay for now (not that we won't take care of it, but y'know).
Is it possible the tooth is acting up and that's why he's not eating? Just thinking aloud.
 
@Brianna & Xander Sorry I'm just seeing this now. Insulin does more that combat the carbs in food. He was high enough at shot time so the fully dose would have been ok to give. Once when Cleo was first diagnosed, she had a stint of vomiting and diarrhea. She wouldn't eat and I was petrified (sound familiar). I ended up giving her the full dose and was so glad that I did. Right at onset, she was hungry and went straight to her bowl for food. I fed her small portions but often.
I am glad you gave him some insulin. That's important, especially if you're worried about DKA.

Try to offer small amounts of food every 30-40 minutes.
 
@Brianna & Xander Sorry I'm just seeing this now. Insulin does more that combat the carbs in food. He was high enough at shot time so the fully dose would have been ok to give. Once when Cleo was first diagnosed, she had a stint of vomiting and diarrhea. She wouldn't eat and I was petrified (sound familiar). I ended up giving her the full dose and was so glad that I did. Right at onset, she was hungry and went straight to her bowl for food. I fed her small portions but often.
I am glad you gave him some insulin. That's important, especially if you're worried about DKA.

Try to offer small amounts of food every 30-40 minutes.

That's okay, it happens. I appreciate that you're here now! And now I know for next time (it'd be nice if there weren't a next time, but there probably will be).

I just gave him a tsp and a half of 12% (figured he'd be more likely to want that). I would've only given a tsp but it wasn't enough to really mix the ondanestron into. Fortunately he ate all of it immediately so either my choice was a good one or he's not nauseated anymore. Hopefully the ondansetron will prevent him from getting nauseated again.

I'll offer him a tsp at a time of his normal food like you said! At what point should I offer him a full meal (1.5 oz) instead? If he's feeling better I don't want him to have only small amounts and be hungry, obviously.
 
t'd be nice if there weren't a next time, but there probably will be)
If (and hopefully not when) there is a next, a pink ps is a safe number to shoot the full dose.
I just gave him a tsp and a half of 12% (figured he'd be more likely to want that). I would've only given a tsp but it wasn't enough to really mix the ondanestron into. Fortunately he ate all of it immediately so either my choice was a good one or he's not nauseated anymore. Hopefully the ondansetron will prevent him from getting nauseated again.
Happy Dance!
I'll offer him a tsp at a time of his normal food like you said! At what point should I offer him a full meal (1.5 oz) instead? If he's feeling better I don't want him to have only small amounts and be hungry, obviously.
If you can monitor him and you're around, offer small amounts like you did with the 12%. See if he'll eat his normal LC food, if not then go with the MC. We want him to eat his normal caloric intake for the day but spread out.
 
If (and hopefully not when) there is a next, a pink ps is a safe number to shoot the full dose.

That's a perfect guideline, thank you so much!

If you can monitor him and you're around, offer small amounts like you did with the 12%. See if he'll eat his normal LC food, if not then go with the MC. We want him to eat his normal caloric intake for the day but spread out.

Yup, I'll be here. I'll do exactly that. Thank you again!
 
Well, he ate all of his food the first 2 times but this last one he probably only ate 2/3 of and I'm supposed to be giving him some more in about 2 minutes.

He still seemed off before but at least better. Now he seems to not feel very well again. :(
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
You're doing great. Just keep offering him little bits at a time. He ate some which is great and he has the Ondansetron!
 
I just thought that you gave his shot about 2 hours late, correct?
So you will want to walk back his shot times over the next few days to get back on schedule since you’re now off schedule.
So I’d think you could give his shot 15 minutes earlier each cycle starting tonight. And repeat that until back on schedule.

You don’t want to give his shot 2 hours early tonight.
Angela may want to double check what I’m saying here.
 
Back
Top