Cara and Wynken (GA)
Member Since 2012
ran home at lunch and HAVE to go back to work. I will come home early if you guys think I should. Take a look... Usually nadir at +9... I better pretend to get sick and come home, right? Advise?
Yes, I had already left for work when I got your messages, but no big deal! I did not leave out any food, because I want to see what he does. I usually don't get home till +10 at the earliest… Or more usually at +11. I think I'll go back to my desk and stay for about an hour and then invent some excuse why I need to leave. That will put me home right about at +8. I don't expect him to dive in the next hour and a half, do you? Honestly, I suppose I could turn around go back home right now… What do you think?Looks like you have to go back to work so I would leave out some food and try to get home early. He should be fine but if his pancreas is helping out, it is hard to know.
You might invest in an automatic feeder that you could set to feed every 2 hours on days like this. He seems to eat anything he sees, so that would spread it out.
My gut also tells me this, so thanks for looking at his numbers and corroborating what I feel. It's actually a beautiful sunny day in the sunporch that they live on is really nice and feels good. Besides checking his blood sugar we also played with the Mousey on the wand and he and his sister had a fabulous time!I am guessing he will be fine. His pattern has not been to drop fast but to have a gentle drop until he is lower at nadir, or to nadir around +6 and then go back up. Either of those scenarios would keep him safe.
Yes he does!Sir Wynken seems to like extremes.....
Will watch for the pmps.
469quite the roller coaster ride today, Cara.
Oh, bless you for rescuing this poor abandoned baby - I hope she calms down. How long will she be with you?Yup.And there's more....
This evening I got involved in rescuing a "dumped " DECLAWED cat at a low-income apt complex. It's supposed to get down in the teens tonight. Soooo... I'm suddenly missing almost 2 hours of my life! But the kitty is safe in my outbuilding which is warm, and she now has everything she needs. I hope she settles in. She seemed very afraid although I tried to get to know her while she was still in the carrier. Makes me mad... She is not feral! And I'm pretty sure that at one time she was cared for… ((sigh))
I built lots of spots for her with soft beds and once she explores she'll find she has a pretty good set up!
I know it happens thousands of times a day, but how can people declaw a cat? And then just abandon it in the outdoors in the winter?
This "crazy cat lady crap" is not for the weak of heart!
Lol. Furever.Oh, bless you for rescuing this poor abandoned baby - I hope she calms down. How long will she be with you?
Well, I don't have any plans to keep her. Just to make sure that she's safe and warm. I really have far too many cats! And once I take one on, they're with me "furever" as Carl said. I have successfully found homes for many cat over the years. I am left with a lot of kitties that became mine, primarily because they were unadoptable. What no one really understands as they are the most perfect cats!Oh, bless you for rescuing this poor abandoned baby - I hope she calms down. How long will she be with you?
Here she is, Rachel! She hid all night and wouldn't come out this morning or at lunch when I buzzed home to check Wynk's BG. But tonight I woo-ed her out and she is SO SWEET!! I could just kill whoever abandoned her.Oh Cara, thank you for taking care of that sweet baby! People who declaw cats just make me so mad...and then to just leave them at the mercy of the wild! Without their natural defenses! Grrrrr
Sharon, we must share a gene. I had 14 cats for many years... Lost 3 last year and then took on what turned into a "foster failure." So I have 12 currently with 5 being 17+.She's beautiful!!! I too have rescued lots of kitties through the years(have 14 now) so I know how hard it is to find good homes. Good luck!
Twenty three! WOWZA. That is impressive (and wonderful!) I hear you about finding good homes. There is not a terribly strong spay-neuter awareness here in NW Ohio and there are many that are dumped or unwanted in the shelters. (((sigh))). Once they are under my control, though, they either get a good home, or I keep them.My oldest is 23.

I am a big fan of two shootable numbers a day too. That's why I feel that the sooner a caregiver gets comfortable with shooting lower numbers with a lower dose, the better. As far as when nadir happens, we can't control that. Given that the rate of insulin absorption can vary by up to 50% on any given cycle, and lots of other factors like food timing, amounts, carb content, what the pancreas is doing or not doing, etc?... nadir timing can be influenced, but not controlled.His amps looks fine - only 20+points since the last two days. Your 1.8 looks good. Hope we can hold it for a few cycles and see if he settles in.
I am a big fan of two shootable shoots a day with a normal nadir time. So much easier to deal with than a late nadir, stalling and then having to skip. Hope this pattern continues.
Yes, Cindi she really is! I already love her. You can't rescue them all, but you can rescue some!!Bless you for rescuing that so very adorable kitty. She is so precious.


You could have. In fact, although we probably don't realize it, we do that every time we give insulin. We always know that the number will be higher, due to food, by the time the insulin kicks in 2 or 3 hours later. We just don't think about it when we see a "normal shootable number" at AMPS or PMPS.Now how come I can't assume (or check) that his blood glucose is higher in 20 minutes after I feed him and inject the insulin then? He is eating like a horse. His plate will be clean in about 4 minutes
Exactly. Because the food pushes the number up, gives you a higher number that has got no insulin working against it, and next morning you see the effect of no insulin for 24 hours.I really don't get the technical reason for it - because every time I skipped shooting in the evening he's sky high later that nite and seriously high for the next AMPS.
1.8 wasn't "too much", or at least you don't know that for sure. "Too much" would have been a dose that dropped him under 90, or under 68, or whatever number you decide is "under normal". SLGS says on an AT meter, you reduce the dose by default if a cat drops below 90. If you were following tight regulation for Lantus you'd reduce automatically if below 68 on an AT meter. Not sure what number gets an automatic reduction if you were following the TR protocol for Prozinc/PZI because nobody really follows that protocol here. Wynk might have gone lower in between +5 and PMPS, or he might have reached nadir at +12. No way to know for sure.Thanks for reminding me I did 1.8u this morning. I won't do that again, but just 1.6 for that range.
Interesting that Sue mention this, and she is right that when a cat is close to going OTJ, it's a technique that some people use. Rather than wait until 12 hours later, people will determine that at some time after +12, when a cat reaches a specific BG number, they will give insulin before the number goes higher. They might end up shooting every 18 hours instead of every 12 hours, using small doses to keep the BG in low number ranges. Eventually, then don't need to shoot any more."Chasing" the number is a way to be more aggressive with ProZinc.
Agree, sort of. If you were to do that, you'd be shooting at +14 instead of at +12. But you DON'T need to wait until 12 hours later, or create a "new" shot time the next shot. You can test at the normal shot time, and if the number is high enough, you could shoot. Technically, that would be at +10 from the previous shot, but it would be back to your "normal" schedule. There is no rule that says that you have to shoot Prozinc every 12 hours. It is supposed to last, according to the manufacturer, between 10-14 hours. Not 12. Today's cycle looks like it ran longer than 12 hours. Some cycles you might see it "poop out" and last only 10 hours. That doesn't mean you have to wait to shoot on the long cycles. And it doesn't mean you have to wait 12 hours to shoot on the short cycles. There isn't an insulin in the world that lasts 12 hours exactly for any cat. The primary reason behind a 12/12 cycle is because it works best for "human schedules". It inserts a degree of control and regularity into the diabetes treatment routine, it splits the day in half, and it helps us to evaluate the whole thing with some degree of control over what we are seeing.If you didn't have to work tomorrow, I'd advise waiting 2 hours after he eats and if he is 150+, then give him a token dose. Then tomorrow, you'd need to check 12 hours since this new shot time and shoot when he is high enough.
Ok, I'll try not to!It's not a huge setback. What you lose is "momentum". Sort of two steps forward, one step back, but not back to square one. Every day is a learning experience, so don't worry about it![]()
Thanks Rachel, that does help. I may try what Cindi talked about but only on a day I am home all day.Cara, if it helps to know, I would have skipped the dose too. On an AT, I would never have shot at the numbers you got.
Thanks Carol... I may start doing that in the evening if he's close to shoot able.. But only if I think I can drag myself out of bed to check him in the nite.Hang in there, Cara. Back when I thought I could get Murphy regulated, these were the worst of the worst for me - low pmps and wondering what to do I would usually give a token dose after he ate
How can she do that if she is using a scale for dosing? Which dose would you pick?Cara, if it helps to know, I would have skipped the dose too. On an AT, I would never have shot at the numbers you got.
I think Sue is saying that Wynk may need the dose to remain the same for a few cycles. Some cats need a few cycles to let the dose really start to work and bring them down. Again, it's an ECID thing...but something you could try.