Chester’s Dad
Member
My special boy Chester, who just turned ten, has been fighting diabetes since his diagnosis in late January. His symptoms, as you might expect, were weight loss accompanied by an obsession with water.
His diet consists of Purina DM dry food and a half-can of Purina Pro grain free, morning and night. Occasionally we trade one of the Purina Pro cans for a Fancy Feast flavor high in protein and low in carbs.
My wife and I started him on 1 unit of Vetsulin immediately after diagnosis. Glucose curves at the vet showed little improvement; he was consistently showing in the high 400s, with a nadir around 350. After several steady increases, we started conducting our own glucose readings at home for Chester, to account for stress, and found the numbers to be slightly lower—typically a high around 400 and a nadir around 275.
He’s now been increased to 5 units as of last week. A reading this evening (around hour 8 in the curve, or 4 hours before next injection) showed him still to be in the 350 range. The takeaway seems to be that no matter how much we increase the Vetsulin, it’s not really pushing his curve down substantially. His symptoms remain virtually the same.
I should add that he’s had a rough go of things in the dental realm since diagnosis as well, having lost three of his canines in just five months. We’ve had him treated with an antibiotic each time for about ten days. I recognize this might have affected insulin treatment for those windows of time, but the last round was perhaps two months ago.
Is there sufficient cause for concern that Vetsulin is not going to work for Chester, and we will likely be looking at an insulin change? It’s concerning at least in part because the price of an alternative like Lantus ($300+, as opposed to $55 for Vetsulin) borders on the obscene.
Thanks!
His diet consists of Purina DM dry food and a half-can of Purina Pro grain free, morning and night. Occasionally we trade one of the Purina Pro cans for a Fancy Feast flavor high in protein and low in carbs.
My wife and I started him on 1 unit of Vetsulin immediately after diagnosis. Glucose curves at the vet showed little improvement; he was consistently showing in the high 400s, with a nadir around 350. After several steady increases, we started conducting our own glucose readings at home for Chester, to account for stress, and found the numbers to be slightly lower—typically a high around 400 and a nadir around 275.
He’s now been increased to 5 units as of last week. A reading this evening (around hour 8 in the curve, or 4 hours before next injection) showed him still to be in the 350 range. The takeaway seems to be that no matter how much we increase the Vetsulin, it’s not really pushing his curve down substantially. His symptoms remain virtually the same.
I should add that he’s had a rough go of things in the dental realm since diagnosis as well, having lost three of his canines in just five months. We’ve had him treated with an antibiotic each time for about ten days. I recognize this might have affected insulin treatment for those windows of time, but the last round was perhaps two months ago.
Is there sufficient cause for concern that Vetsulin is not going to work for Chester, and we will likely be looking at an insulin change? It’s concerning at least in part because the price of an alternative like Lantus ($300+, as opposed to $55 for Vetsulin) borders on the obscene.
Thanks!