onemorejennifer
New Member
Hi! This is my first time posting here but I could sure use some thoughts/advice from cat people a little more experienced in dealing with feline diabetes than I apparently am! I'll try my best to keep this really short and to the point but it seems like a lot has happened over the past week.
Our cat Tyler is 14 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes over a year ago. He gets one unit of Humulin N twice a day. We do not monitor BG at home but have had no problems/issues until recently.
Last Wednesday evening Tyler exhibited many classic symptoms of hypoglycemia (restlessness, head tilting, shivering, turning in circles, problems with eyesight, vomiting, disorientation and finally seizures) so we gave him karo syrup and rushed him to the nearest emergency vet. He wasn't seizing anymore when he got there about midnight. BG was 68 and potassium was low. It looks like a few of the other blood tests results were abnormal but I'm not sure what the abbreviations stand for. In addition to the hypoglycemia, we found out he has hyperthyroidism. Stayed overnight for IV and observation. BG was 184 at 5:15 am.
We took him straight to his regular vet from the emergency clinic. His BG there was 169. We were advised to skip his morning insulin but continue with his normal dose in the pm. Also given pills to take 2x day for the hyperthyroidism.
We were *very* nervous about giving him a full dose of insulin Thursday night so we only gave him about 25%. About 2-3 hours later he was acting funny and twitching/jerking quite a bit. We again gave him some karo and coaxed him to eat and he came out of it. Friday and Saturday he seemed OK - we continued to give him a fraction of his regular dose of insulin. Sunday night he had seizures again. Karo syrup and food stopped them.
Called his vet on Monday and were advised to feed him as usual Monday & Tuesday but discountinue all insulin, and bring him in this morning. So after two days with no insulin his BG level this morning was 90. Vet wants us to give no insulin the rest of the week and bring Tyler in for another BG check on Saturday morning.
We are so confused about this whole situation and have so many questions we're just not sure where to begin. We've read about the "honeymoon" that some cats experience but were under the impression that such a period usually happens shortly after diagnosis - not over a year later. We have talked about the possibility of problems stemming from a pancreatic tumor but are unclear what this actually means in terms of diagnosis/treatment/prognosis, etc. I really think we need to monitor BG at home but our vet does not seem very supportive.
Anyone have any thoughts or experience that may help? We sure would appreciate it!
Jennifer
Our cat Tyler is 14 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes over a year ago. He gets one unit of Humulin N twice a day. We do not monitor BG at home but have had no problems/issues until recently.
Last Wednesday evening Tyler exhibited many classic symptoms of hypoglycemia (restlessness, head tilting, shivering, turning in circles, problems with eyesight, vomiting, disorientation and finally seizures) so we gave him karo syrup and rushed him to the nearest emergency vet. He wasn't seizing anymore when he got there about midnight. BG was 68 and potassium was low. It looks like a few of the other blood tests results were abnormal but I'm not sure what the abbreviations stand for. In addition to the hypoglycemia, we found out he has hyperthyroidism. Stayed overnight for IV and observation. BG was 184 at 5:15 am.
We took him straight to his regular vet from the emergency clinic. His BG there was 169. We were advised to skip his morning insulin but continue with his normal dose in the pm. Also given pills to take 2x day for the hyperthyroidism.
We were *very* nervous about giving him a full dose of insulin Thursday night so we only gave him about 25%. About 2-3 hours later he was acting funny and twitching/jerking quite a bit. We again gave him some karo and coaxed him to eat and he came out of it. Friday and Saturday he seemed OK - we continued to give him a fraction of his regular dose of insulin. Sunday night he had seizures again. Karo syrup and food stopped them.
Called his vet on Monday and were advised to feed him as usual Monday & Tuesday but discountinue all insulin, and bring him in this morning. So after two days with no insulin his BG level this morning was 90. Vet wants us to give no insulin the rest of the week and bring Tyler in for another BG check on Saturday morning.
We are so confused about this whole situation and have so many questions we're just not sure where to begin. We've read about the "honeymoon" that some cats experience but were under the impression that such a period usually happens shortly after diagnosis - not over a year later. We have talked about the possibility of problems stemming from a pancreatic tumor but are unclear what this actually means in terms of diagnosis/treatment/prognosis, etc. I really think we need to monitor BG at home but our vet does not seem very supportive.
Anyone have any thoughts or experience that may help? We sure would appreciate it!
Jennifer