Worst Mom in the World

Status
Not open for further replies.

Diane Tyler's Mom GA

Member Since 2018
I am posting this here I just received this by PM from Paula
Worst Mom in the World

Mark as UnreadStar ConversationLeave Conversation

  1. Paula G
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2022
    I'm just devastated. I feel horrible. My cat was diagnosed with diabestes on 8/17 and I've been giving him one unit injections of Prozinc since then but this morning I noticed the insulin bottle still looked full and I realized you have to tip the bottle to get insulin so he hasn't gotten any insulin this entire time. I even did the 12 hour curve last week where it began 481, 452, 362, 354, 332, 323. This morning he didn't eat much of his Fancy Feast canned food so I gave him some Mirataz. I gave him a couple of Friskies Party Mix treats and he went crazy over them but I don't want to give him too many as I don't know if they are bad for him. He has an appetite but not for his canned food. Please, will things be ok? I don't know what else to do. Any advice would be appreciated


  2. Finn/ Diagnosed 8/17/22 /DOB 3/2016 / Diagnosed 8/17/2022 / SlGS Prozinc 1 unit x2 per day started 8/18/22 / Combo Fancy Feast wet and Iams Urinary Tract dry / Diabetes / No meter yet
 
Last edited:
Have you given him any insulin since you discovered you needed to upturn the bottle?
Try and get him to eat as it’s very important that he eats.
I would check his urine for ketones if he has not been getting insulin. You will need a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy. And follow the instructions on the bottle.
Have you set up a spreadsheet?
Just heading to bed but I will tag @FrostD for you. Also @tiffmaxee
 
ProZinc is a suspension insulin and thus you have to mix the insulin by rolling it between your hands before you draw any insulin from the vial. You have to do this mixing each time you draw insulin out.
 
ProZinc is a suspension insulin and thus you have to mix the insulin by rolling it between your hands before you draw any insulin from the vial. You have to do this mixing each time you draw insulin out.
Thank you, Larry. They did tell me that at the office so I was doing that but I guess they assumed I would turn it upside down. I think my nerves have gotten the best of me and common sense was lacking. This is hard.
 
Lots of us make mistakes at the beginning and look back and think, "duh"!!! Do not beat yourself up. Take a deep breath, give yourself a pass, and move forward. No irreparable harm has been done. And you're right -- this is hard especially in the beginning.

So, going forward, make sure there's insulin in the syringe. Make sure you've measured as correctly as possible. Make sure you inject the insulin into your cat! (That can be harder than expected!) And treat yourself to an adult beverage, chocolate, etc.
 
Lots of us make mistakes at the beginning and look back and think, "duh"!!! Do not beat yourself up. Take a deep breath, give yourself a pass, and move forward. No irreparable harm has been done. And you're right -- this is hard especially in the beginning.

So, going forward, make sure there's insulin in the syringe. Make sure you've measured as correctly as possible. Make sure you inject the insulin into your cat! (That can be harder than expected!) And treat yourself to an adult beverage, chocolate, etc.
 
Thank you so much, Sienne! You just melted my heart. I will never make that mistake again. When I get my appetite back, I will ty the chocolate.
 
(following, just unable to give advice past what's already been given without a spreadsheet/more data)
 
Hey Paula, you are NOT a bad mom!!!

I made a ton of mistakes and still do. I made them show me at the vet how to do all that. then i had issues with the bubble....then testing issues which we all have!

You are doing great! You decided to help your baby get the care he needs :bighug: The diagnosis is hard and getting on here to get help is one of the best steps you can take. It gets easier from here to deal.

Hope prozinc works out well for Finn!
 
Hey Paula, you are NOT a bad mom!!!

I made a ton of mistakes and still do. I made them show me at the vet how to do all that. then i had issues with the bubble....then testing issues which we all have!

You are doing great! You decided to help your baby get the care he needs :bighug: The diagnosis is hard and getting on here to get help is one of the best steps you can take. It gets easier from here to deal.

Hope prozinc works out well for Finn!
Ashleigh, Your response just made me cry tears of relief! Thank you so much. I wish I would have asked my vet to show me how to do it. But you are correct, it should be easier now. So GRATEFUL for this group of awesome pet lovers.
 
Ashleigh, Your response just made me cry tears of relief! Thank you so much. I wish I would have asked my vet to show me how to do it. But you are correct, it should be easier now. So GRATEFUL for this group of awesome pet lovers.
Just noticed in your signature you have Human Meter Alpha Trak ?
The Alpha Trak is a pet meter
If you are using the pet meter you can delete human meter from your signature
I can ask Bhooma
@Bandit's Mom to set up your spreadsheet if you want to
 
. I gave him a couple of Friskies Party Mix treats and he went crazy over them but I don't want to give him too many as I don't know if they are bad for him. He has an appetite but not for his canned food
The Friskies Party mix is too high in carbs
Try sprinkling freeze dried treats on the wet food
Break them up into tiny pieces
You can give her any freeze dried treats for a snack
most members give freeze dried treats , they are low carb, you can probably find them in some local pet stores also
I did a search for you on here and copied what some members said they use,

When testing you can give them a treat so they will associate after testing they will get a reward, any freeze dried treats are ok such as
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P





Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

freeze dried minnows, made by Vital Essentials. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dried minnows for cats. just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same ,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces
.

You can Google freeze dried treats and see what other ones there are and different flavors
Just make sure that is the only ingredient in them meaning turkey, chicken, minnows etc

Here is another one , I see you can get these in different flavors also just look
You may have to break any freeze dried treats in half if they are too big
https://www.amazon.com/Vital-Essent...ocphy=9003521&hvtargid=pla-630511512365&psc=1

Flavor Name: Duck Liver
Ahi Tuna
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Giblets
  • Chicken Hearts
  • Duck Liver
  • Minnows
  • Rabbit
Here is another one
You can give her any freeze dried treats for a snack
most members give freeze dried treats , they are low carb, you can probably find them in some local pet stores also
I did a search for you on here and copied what some members said they use,

When testing you can give them a treat so they will associate after testing they will get a reward, any freeze dried treats are ok such as
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P

Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

freeze dried minnows, made by Vital Essentials. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dried minnows for cats. just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same ,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces
.

You can Google freeze dried treats and see what other ones there are and different flavors
Just make sure that is the only ingredient in them meaning turkey, chicken, minnows etc

Here is another one , I see you can get these in different flavors also just look
You may have to break any freeze dried treats in half if they are too big
https://www.amazon.com/Vital-Essent...ocphy=9003521&hvtargid=pla-630511512365&psc=1

Flavor Name: Duck Liver
Ahi Tuna
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Giblets
  • Chicken Hearts
  • Duck Liver
  • Minnows
  • Rabbit
Here is another one Halo Live A Littles
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=halo liv a littles&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIqM3npIiF-AIVEYnICh2PtQK6EAAYAyAAEgL--PD_BwE&hvadid=176944855419&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&he

https://www.amazon.com/Halo-Littles...ords=halo live a little&qid=1653847544&sr=8-1

Looks like they have other flavors also
If they like any of the treats you can buy the same ones for dogs more for your money, just break them up into smaller pieces


sprinkle bonito flakes or Parmesan cheese on the wet food

The Iams Urinary Tract formula has approximately 33.3% carbohydrates on an as fed basis or 36.20% on a dry matter basis.
Too high in carbs

Just saw you deleted the Iams from your signature
 
Last edited:
Just noticed in your signature you have Human Meter Alpha Trak ?
The Alpha Trak is a pet meter
If you are using the pet meter you can delete human meter from your signature
I can ask Bhooma
@Bandit's Mom to set up your spreadsheet if you want to
You are so right! I just updated it. Thank you! I've viewed several spreadsheets from members and it looks so confusing. I don't understand them at all with all the abreviations. I'm not that savvy but I appreciate it. I have fibromyalgia so I suffer from brain fog...
 
The Friskies Party mix is too high in carbs
Try sprinkling freeze dried treats on the wet food
Break them up into tiny pieces
You can give her any freeze dried treats for a snack
most members give freeze dried treats , they are low carb, you can probably find them in some local pet stores also
I did a search for you on here and copied what some members said they use,

When testing you can give them a treat so they will associate after testing they will get a reward, any freeze dried treats are ok such as
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P





Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

freeze dried minnows, made by Vital Essentials. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dried minnows for cats. just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same ,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces
.

You can Google freeze dried treats and see what other ones there are and different flavors
Just make sure that is the only ingredient in them meaning turkey, chicken, minnows etc

Here is another one , I see you can get these in different flavors also just look
You may have to break any freeze dried treats in half if they are too big
https://www.amazon.com/Vital-Essent...ocphy=9003521&hvtargid=pla-630511512365&psc=1

Flavor Name: Duck Liver
Ahi Tuna
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Giblets
  • Chicken Hearts
  • Duck Liver
  • Minnows
  • Rabbit
Here is another one
You can give her any freeze dried treats for a snack
most members give freeze dried treats , they are low carb, you can probably find them in some local pet stores also
I did a search for you on here and copied what some members said they use,

When testing you can give them a treat so they will associate after testing they will get a reward, any freeze dried treats are ok such as
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P

Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

freeze dried minnows, made by Vital Essentials. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dried minnows for cats. just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same ,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces
.

You can Google freeze dried treats and see what other ones there are and different flavors
Just make sure that is the only ingredient in them meaning turkey, chicken, minnows etc

Here is another one , I see you can get these in different flavors also just look
You may have to break any freeze dried treats in half if they are too big
https://www.amazon.com/Vital-Essent...ocphy=9003521&hvtargid=pla-630511512365&psc=1

Flavor Name: Duck Liver
Ahi Tuna
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Giblets
  • Chicken Hearts
  • Duck Liver
  • Minnows
  • Rabbit
Here is another one Halo Live A Littles
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=halo liv a littles&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIqM3npIiF-AIVEYnICh2PtQK6EAAYAyAAEgL--PD_BwE&hvadid=176944855419&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&he

https://www.amazon.com/Halo-Littles...ords=halo live a little&qid=1653847544&sr=8-1

Looks like they have other flavors also
If they like any of the treats you can buy the same ones for dogs more for your money, just break them up into smaller pieces


sprinkle bonito flakes or Parmesan cheese on the wet food

The Iams Urinary Tract formula has approximately 33.3% carbohydrates on an as fed basis or 36.20% on a dry matter basis.
Too high in carbs

Just saw you deleted the Iams from your signature
This information is absolutely amazing! Thank you so much. I will discontinue the dry food and treats immediately. I really do appreciate all the time you spent to help Finn and I. Thank you so much!
 
You are so right! I just updated it. Thank you! I've viewed several spreadsheets from members and it looks so confusing. I don't understand them at all with all the abreviations. I'm not that savvy but I appreciate it. I have fibromyalgia so I suffer from brain fog...
Hi Paula, I can help you set up the spreadsheet. Will send you a PM with the details I need. Look for it in the Inbox at the top right corner of this page.
 
This information is absolutely amazing! Thank you so much. I will discontinue the dry food and treats immediately. I really do appreciate all the time you spent to help Finn and I. Thank you so much!
You are very welcome just be sure to test him often since you are cutting out the dry food because it can drop the BG by 100 points
@Paula G
 
Thank you! I've viewed several spreadsheets from members and it looks so confusing. I don't understand them at all with all the abreviations. I'm not that savvy but I appreciate it. I have fibromyalgia so I suffer from brain fog...
Hi Paula
About our spreadsheet
The spreadsheet is easier than it looks we track our cats BG to see how the insulin is working and how low she's dropping so we can follow along in case you need help with dosing

Just some info about the spreadsheet

About the spreadsheet
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced

Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave
+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing

+1 same as you do for AM cycle

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers
We can help you, just keep asking questions :cat:

@Paula G
 
Last edited:
Hi Paula
About our spreadsheet
The spreadsheet is easier than it looks we track our cats BG to see how the insulin is working and how low she's dropping so we can follow along in case you need help with dosing

Just some info about the spreadsheet

About the spreadsheet
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced

Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave
+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing

+1 same as you do for AM cycle

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers
We can help you, just keep asking questions :cat:

@Paula G
That makes sense to me now. Thank you, Diane!
 
Last month Finn weighed 10.7 lbs and now he only weighs 9.4. Since he wasn't getting the insulin for the past month, due to me messing up, I'm sure that's why but now that I've started the insulin on sunday, he is starving and wants to eat all the time. He'sstarted eating 3 Fancy Feast canned food a day but wants more. Do I give him more and let him free feed it until he's regulated? Poor little guy just can't get enough.
 
Last month Finn weighed 10.7 lbs and now he only weighs 9.4. Since he wasn't getting the insulin for the past month, due to me messing up, I'm sure that's why but now that I've started the insulin on sunday, he is starving and wants to eat all the time. He'sstarted eating 3 Fancy Feast canned food a day but wants more. Do I give him more and let him free feed it until he's regulated? Poor little guy just can't get enough.
unregulated diabetic felines cannot process nutrients from food properly so they are always hungry but can't gain muscle mass or fat stores. As Finn spends time in the lower BGs, and gets regulated, he will gain.
I would let him eat a little more if he wants to.
Most of us feed the bigger meal first thing in the morning after you test Finn,then smaller meals maybe at +2 (2 hours after giving insulin, then at +4 ( 4 hours after giving insulin ) then at +6
Same goes for the night cycle
Did you get Bhooma's (Bandit's Mom )message about starting a spreadsheet
I would definitely start one so you can track Finn's BG and see how the insulin is working for him and how low he's dropping
We base how many units are given by how low they are dropping ,not based on the Pre Shots
Finn's a handsome boy
The Fancy Feast that you are feeding is it low carb such as the Pates?
Do you have the U-40 syringes with the half unit markings , I ask because we increase or decrease the dose by 0.25 units , even though the half unit syringes only adjust by 0.5 it's much easier to use them when you adjust the dose by 0.25 unuts
@Paula G

You can read all about Prozinc here ,especially the Dosing Methods which will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed. You don't have to pick one right now but eventually you will need to follow one and can add it to your signature
Read all the yellow stickys
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/
 
Last edited:
Part of that process is getting a feel for basic concepts:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Make sure you have a hypo kit set up in case Finn ever drops too low and you need to bring his BG back up to safe numbers Such as

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
And some honey in the house

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.
 
Last edited:
Part of that process is getting a feel for basic concepts:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Make sure you have a hypo kit set up in case Finn ever drops too low and you need to bring his BG back up to safe numbers Such as

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
And some honey in the house

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.
This info is so helpful! Finn is eating the pates only now. I bought some freeze dried treats too and he loves them. I did get the spreadsheet from Bhooma and added to my signature. My syringe is the U-40 1/2ml29G1/2. I don't see any indications but only full units. The markings say 5,10,15,20. Testing is very difficult as he does not let me prick him easily. I have it set at 2.5. I usally have to prick him 4-6 times before I can get any blood. Poor little guy.
 
This info is so helpful! Finn is eating the pates only now. I bought some freeze dried treats too and he loves them. I did get the spreadsheet from Bhooma and added to my signature. My syringe is the U-40 1/2ml29G1/2. I don't see any indications but only full units. The markings say 5,10,15,20. Testing is very difficult as he does not let me prick him easily. I have it set at 2.5. I usally have to prick him 4-6 times before I can get any blood. Poor little guy.

just a heads up Paula, when u move to LC foods, they tend to not poop easily until their body gets used to it. best thing i found for that is sprinkle lil pinch of psyllium husk on food about 3x a day. This is cat specific so u will need to adjust to what Finn responds to, i just wanted you to not have a full blown constipation on your hands after taking away kibble. its possible he wont have any trouble.
u can find the psyllium in a big bag on amazon, it will last you years...
 
[QUOTE="Paula G, post: 3003865, member: 36ulticare-u40-pet-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit
g the pates only now. I bought some freeze dried treats too and he loves them. I did get the spreadsheet from Bhooma and added to my signature. My syringe is the U-40 1/2ml29G1/2. I don't see any indications but only full units. The markings say 5,10,15,20. Testing is very difficult as he does not let me prick him easily. I have it set at 2.5. I usally have to prick him 4-6 times before I can get any blood. Poor little guy.[/QUOTE]
I don't see your spreadsheet at all
The syringes you need are
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/18553/ulticare-u40-pet-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit

Or
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/18570/bd-pet-syringes-u40-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit

Or
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/16363/carepoint-vet-u-40-syringe-29g-half-unit

DIA10
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order!
 
Testing is very difficult as he does not let me prick him easily. I have it set at 2.5. I usally have to prick him 4-6 times before I can get any blood. Poor little guy.
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming

I have never used that lancing device
Here is a video that one of our members did
How to test your cat's blood sugar
 
just a heads up Paula, when u move to LC foods, they tend to not poop easily until their body gets used to it. best thing i found for that is sprinkle lil pinch of psyllium husk on food about 3x a day. This is cat specific so u will need to adjust to what Finn responds to, i just wanted you to not have a full blown constipation on your hands after taking away kibble. its possible he wont have any trouble.
u can find the psyllium in a big bag on amazon, it will last you years...
Thank you Ashleigh! Good to know.
 
[QUOTE="Paula G, post: 3003865, member: 36ulticare-u40-pet-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit
g the pates only now. I bought some freeze dried treats too and he loves them. I did get the spreadsheet from Bhooma and added to my signature. My syringe is the U-40 1/2ml29G1/2. I don't see any indications but only full units. The markings say 5,10,15,20. Testing is very difficult as he does not let me prick him easily. I have it set at 2.5. I usally have to prick him 4-6 times before I can get any blood. Poor little guy.
I don't see your spreadsheet at all
The syringes you need are
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/18553/ulticare-u40-pet-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit

Or
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/18570/bd-pet-syringes-u40-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit

Or
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/16363/carepoint-vet-u-40-syringe-29g-half-unit

DIA10
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order![/QUOTE]
OK,Thank you!
 
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming

I have never used that lancing device
Here is a video that one of our members did
How to test your cat's blood sugar
Very helpful video I just wish my cat was chill. That's my struggle. In time maybe but I will keep trying. Again, thank you so much for all the tutoring. We really do appreciate it!
 
Well, I thought I added it to my page but now I don't see it. Like I said, I'm not very good with computers. I will see if I can find Bhooma's message and try to add it again but, I haven't had time to input anything yet. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top