jason bellamy
Member Since 2018
Francis was diagnosed with diabetes 12/11/18 after we took him to the vet because he would not eat or drink.he was in dka he was severely dehydrated and they were worried about his kidneys and put him on royal canin rx until he was better.he came out fine after a almost a week in the vet. we have been giving him prozinc 0.6 units a day and his bg was in the 200-300 range eatjng the young again mature zero. within the last month his numbers have gone to between 400-500. tried to increase to .8 units to bring it down with no result. after a week and a half or so increased to 1 unit. he remains around 400 but now has very little interest in food or water. he is still eating and drinking but very minimal. he has used the litter box 1 time with just a small amount of feces but no urine in the last 3 days. when pinching the tent on his neck he takes a few seconds to go down indicating dehydration. when he was hospitalized the vet offered to sell us lactated ringers to peform at home subq fluids but we were already heavily in debt to them so we declined until it was needed. i tried to get subq fluids today and the vet denied it and wants to see him again. our financial situation is worse now than it was then, what can i do to rehydrate him since they will not approve the rx for subq fluids?
Last edited:

There will be many friends from from the forum there to greet you.