Pixelcatz
Member
Hello all,
So it's been a little over a month since I found out my seven year old cat, Tokie, is diabetic. He was never overweight just muscular and then started to rapidly lose weight... the vet determined he had diabetes and to start him on 1unit twice a day.
Tokie was golden for about a week BG reading 120mg/dl and then slowly his appetite started to wane and the bg numbers creeped up... He now refuses to eat anything except canned food and has started losing a lot of weight since stopping the raw just when he was gaining.
We are now at 3units and the numbers won't budge from 470-430mg/dl range. He's lost so much weight and I can't help but cry looking at him because I don't know what to do. The vet just says raise the dose but it hasn't helped. What should/can I do?
So it's been a little over a month since I found out my seven year old cat, Tokie, is diabetic. He was never overweight just muscular and then started to rapidly lose weight... the vet determined he had diabetes and to start him on 1unit twice a day.
Tokie was golden for about a week BG reading 120mg/dl and then slowly his appetite started to wane and the bg numbers creeped up... He now refuses to eat anything except canned food and has started losing a lot of weight since stopping the raw just when he was gaining.
We are now at 3units and the numbers won't budge from 470-430mg/dl range. He's lost so much weight and I can't help but cry looking at him because I don't know what to do. The vet just says raise the dose but it hasn't helped. What should/can I do?