worried about hypo - transport cat - MC +5 57, +7 45, +8 100

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sarah and Velcro, Oct 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sarah and Velcro

Sarah and Velcro Member

copy pasted from pzi thread...........

I have tried to find a thread about MC (Mama cat) but have not been successful.

Tom's MC is staying with me overnight and then she will head to her new home tomorrow afternoon. I'm a rookie with PZI but I have numbers and feel I must report them. I'm worried since MC isn't eating and I don't know if my version of 0.5u is the same as Tom's.

no am shot - due to transport
    10/20 - 8pm - BG 489 and gave .5u of 100u, gave food
    10/21 - +4 - BG 155 - MC has not eaten any of her food, added cheese to food.

+5 - BG 55, put maple syrup on her nose, she licked a few times.
    +5.5 - BG 47, more maple syrup, made sure to apply to gums.

new problem... i have 1 test strip left. suggestions on when to test next.

+7 - BG 45 - maple syrup her, i think i got more in her than before. :D
    off to store

MC has some cooked ground beef next to her now. bought a meter with test strips and me a bag of candy. :D

+8 - bg 100 - YAY - she didn't eat any beef :\

2. Pumbaa

Pumbaa Well-Known Member

Re: worried about hypo - transport cat - MC +5 57

I'm no expert, but with one test strip left, it's going to have to count.

I'd keep giving her maple syrup on her gums and getting her to eat some high carbed food for the next hour. The maple syrup will only last short term, but the higher carbed food will stay in her system longer and hopefully prevent a hypo.

Is there anyone nearby that can run to any store and pick up a new meter that comes with some test strips? (The pharmacies here have the test strips behind the counter, you can't even purchase them off the shelf. That may be different where you are, but it's time to call in some favors from friends. *LOL*)