Ellen and Woody
Member Since 2013
After trying just a diet change for 5 days (even tried 48 hours of nothing but cooked chicken) and not budging Woody off the 300 BG range, our mountain vet still wants to try diet change only since Woody is under 400. That is their protocol before starting "Pro-Zinc" insulin. They do not recommend Lantus. Our desert vet (Woody's main vet) did not agree so she called in a RX for 1 unit of Lantus twice a day. We were so relieved to start insulin and give Woody his first 1 unit shot last night.
This morning's pre-shot, pre-food test has him at 131! Based on what I read here, newbies should NOT give insulin when BG is below 200. So we did NOT give Woody any insulin. DID WE DO THE RIGHT THING? We plan to test him again (pre-food, pre-shot) this evening.
We are now feeding only canned: Wellness grain-free turkey, BG 96% turkey, BG 96% beef and Evo 95% chicken & turkey. Is it OK to vary these on different days for variety?
I leave Saturday for a 15 day, off-the-grid backpack trip, leaving my hubby alone with all this. I need advice on the safest, easiest protocol for him. When I return, we will re-familiarize ourselves with curves and tight regulation. But for now, what are some basic rules since it is hard for hubby to always test pre-shot. But he is home most all the day and can keep a sharp eye on Woody with karo syrup handy. Current Rx is 1 unit Lantus twice a day.
I am SOOOO glad that the FDMB exists! I have learned so much here and appreciate the emotional support!
This morning's pre-shot, pre-food test has him at 131! Based on what I read here, newbies should NOT give insulin when BG is below 200. So we did NOT give Woody any insulin. DID WE DO THE RIGHT THING? We plan to test him again (pre-food, pre-shot) this evening.
We are now feeding only canned: Wellness grain-free turkey, BG 96% turkey, BG 96% beef and Evo 95% chicken & turkey. Is it OK to vary these on different days for variety?
I leave Saturday for a 15 day, off-the-grid backpack trip, leaving my hubby alone with all this. I need advice on the safest, easiest protocol for him. When I return, we will re-familiarize ourselves with curves and tight regulation. But for now, what are some basic rules since it is hard for hubby to always test pre-shot. But he is home most all the day and can keep a sharp eye on Woody with karo syrup handy. Current Rx is 1 unit Lantus twice a day.
I am SOOOO glad that the FDMB exists! I have learned so much here and appreciate the emotional support!