Won't eat

Status
Not open for further replies.

DebG

Very Active Member
Had to go into a hotel today with Fritz he won't eat. His insulin was due at 7:30 not sure what to do?
 
What is his glucose level?
Has he ever had diabetic ketoacidosis?
Vets may have you give a half or partial dose when fasting a diabetic pre-procedure. If the glucose is at its normal starting level, given a token dose may help keep it from zooming and by bringing the glucose down, may trigger some eating.
 
His glucose level at 7:30 was 354 his amps was 382 No on ketoacidosis
Ok thankfully I finally got him to eat and was able to shoot him the 3.5 units.
Thanks for the quick reply:)
 
Deb, that was a good call. With ProZinc, you can usually give the regular dose if they are eating even a little and continue to offer a little snack after the shot. Only if they are acting really sickly and vomiting, do you worry and maybe reduce the dose by half or so.

We might start thinking about raising by 0.25 if he continues kind of flat and in the pinks - but on a cycle you can sure test a few times. He is still on the steroids? If so, we want to be careful balancing raising with a time he is coming off, while knowing we have to balance a little higher dose while knowing the steroids raise his levels. Another level to this sugar dance.
 
Deb, that was a good call. With ProZinc, you can usually give the regular dose if they are eating even a little and continue to offer a little snack after the shot. Only if they are acting really sickly and vomiting, do you worry and maybe reduce the dose by half or so.

We might start thinking about raising by 0.25 if he continues kind of flat and in the pinks - but on a cycle you can sure test a few times. He is still on the steroids? If so, we want to be careful balancing raising with a time he is coming off, while knowing we have to balance a little higher dose while knowing the steroids raise his levels. Another level to this sugar dance.
Sue thank you! :bighug: and brighter days to you & your DH! I appreciate you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top