WISHING TO DECREASE DOSE!!!??

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
Studying Corky's spreadsheet, I have noticed that his BG does well under 1.0u rather than 1.25u
his Bg after the AMPS/AMPS shots his BG starts declining rapidly, I have to continue to test almost every hour to make sure it does not get lower than 90G Bg
I someone that knows Corky's history and help me with this decision can help me I would appreciate it; he does not do well with such low BG I notice he he becomes very sluggish, if lower than 100BG
 
Last edited:
It takes a while for cats to get used to lower/normal numbers, if they have been in high numbers for a while. In the beginning, my Neko would hide under the bed when she saw numbers under 100, but play when in the low 300's. Over time that switched, so she didn't do much in the 300's, but started to play in the lower 100's and high greens.

The last time Corky was at 1.0 units, he was seeing more time above 200 and his nadirs were higher than at 1.25 units. Keeping Corky at a dose where he sees some closer to normal numbers will help him get used to them.
 
I have almost no time to even reply right now, but you PMed me saying you wanted to increase the dose. Did you mean decrease the dose?


So I am assuming that you are inquiring about reducing the dose?
1) REMEMBER: Corky is not in danger when he goes below 90. He is NOT in danger, for example today, when he hit 83, he was not in any danger.
2) I actually do NOT advise you to reduce Corky's dose. As Wendy pointed out, Corky's numbers were not as good on the 1 unit dose as they are now on the 1.25 unit dose. We don't want him spending a bunch of time in yellow, it's unhealthy. We would prefer that he stay under 150.
3) You do not need to test him every hour. Today he had a gentle slide down to the 83, and it took him 8 hours to get there. It is a really excellent cycle for ProZinc.
 
Also, I did not see any replies to my posts on your thread yesterday where I laid out a feeding schedule for Corky (although I did hear from several other members who wanted to know more about feeding schedules for their kitties.)

Did you see those messages. I spent quite a bit of time trying to help you. Today, did you give Corky the +2 snack? If we need to (based on his numbers) we can adjust that snack to be 30 minutes earlier. But we need to see how Corkys numbers will do on the feeding schedule that I laid out yesterday in your thread. I do not recommend feeding Corky after +6 except for those little treats when you test him, the +7 or eight feedings are too late for him and I believe you said it was half a can of food, and that is just too much for that time of day
 
Anyway, I have to go now and I will not be back on the board for some hours but I will happily check back in later on in the evening.
Yes I read every one of your messages, I responded but now I can't even find them, and yes I am following everything you suggested by the letter. I know you take special time to assist me thank you so much, and I will also continue the same 1.25u as you say, yes, I was thinking about a reduction, I've seen Corky's numbers for so long in the yellow that I still freak out when they are not, but I want what's best for him not me. thank you:bighug::cat::cat:
My continuous concern is that like right now he is on the mid green when I dose him by 10PM he will be in the 50- it's his pattern, that's why I was talking in the past about 1.0 on his PMPS dose which you mentioned, is not recommended either, but I suppose I can give a minimal less amount? Than not dose?
 
My continuous concern is that like right now he is on the mid green when I dose him by 10PM he will be in the 50- it's his pattern,
He hasn't seen the 50's at night since August, and that was back on 2.5 units, and only twice. I would hardly call that a pattern. Plus patterns can change over time.

Using food, as Suzanne has suggested will help slow down the drops, and prevent those dives to low numbers.
 
One more thing…. And this is specific to Corky only, and is based upon his numbers and spreadsheet data that we have. We need to tailor the guidelines for Corky for what is working best for him. As such, I recommend that we adopt a custom reduction point for Corky of 75 or 80. For example, today he went to 83 eight hours into the cycle. He was very safe and in normal, healthy numbers. If you reduce his dose, he will end up back in the higher numbers :( He is doing very well on this dose as I keep trying to say to encourage you. You are really helping him and keeping such a close eye on him! Well done!
 
He hasn't seen the 50's at night since August, and that was back on 2.5 units, and only twice. I would hardly call that a pattern. Plus patterns can change over time.

Using food, as Suzanne has suggested will help slow down the drops,and prevent those dives to low numbers.
I actually meant that if he is in the low 100's at PMSP shot he will definitely end up by +10 evening last test and meal at a very risky number for the rest of the night by the AMPS dose, which has been my concern all along he after +10 numbers, I've tried to express this over and over again and I understand all of you know best and more than me but going to sleep with Corky on a 2 digit BG, just keeps from sleeping at night and testing him every hours and his poor ear, can take so much since I cannot draw any blood no matter what I have tried from that ear, and I feel bad for him, and no, I will not do his paw, is bad enough that when I adopted him at 6 months he was declawed in the front and his paws are very sensitive, but I do understand really what all of you are saying , I'm just having a really hard time programming myself, to what it has to be to what it was at the beginning I was so traumatized, with the Libre2 and the alarm going off in the middle of the night showing his BG under 60 and me running around the house like a chicken without a head, and sleepless night after night, that I am a little scarred over that still
 
Hi Maria! We are not going to let Corky get into dangerous numbers. First, let me mention one thing, when you say +10 I think you are meaning 10 p.m. o’clock, right? I’m hoping I can explain this properly. In your case, +10 would actually be at 4 a.m. in the morning! Because your shot time is at 6 p.m., ten hours after that would be 4 a.m. So I think what you are trying to say is that by ten o’clock in the evening you test Corky and you are worried and get really anxious about his blood glucose levels? Is that right? I think you had a scary experience with Corky in the past and you still get really frightened for him.
 
He is rarely in a two digit number at 10 o’clock p.m. (+4 which means 4 hours after his shot). The last time was December 8. He was 95, which is a very long way away from any dangerous hypoglycemic number. And Corky was fine. The only lime green number that I see on Corky’s spreadsheet where he went below 50 was August 29! And he was on a higher dose at that time.
 
Hi Maria! We are not going to let Corky get into dangerous numbers. First, let me mention one thing, when you say +10 I think you are meaning 10 p.m. o’clock, right? I’m hoping I can explain this properly. In your case, +10 would actually be at 4 a.m. in the morning! Because your shot time is at 6 p.m., ten hours after that would be 4 a.m. So I think what you are trying to say is that by ten o’clock in the evening you test Corky and you are worried and get really anxious about his blood glucose levels? Is that right? I think you had a scary experience with Corky in the past and you still get really frightened for him.[/QUOTE
I’m so glad you can read between my lines and gibberish that’s exactly what I meant to say yes, I want so desperately to be able to relax about his 10PM test that drives me insane I am sleep depredated, and I am not even a big sleeper I just don't sleep well when he deeps that low,
and actually you have been the only one that has been there for me and actually understand my stupidity at times and ease me thru it. Corky and Coco are the world to me, my family only family, and I don't want to fail him. and yes that FreeStyle2 monitor scared the craps out of me every single night for almost 2 months every night detecting low, low BG's and being new to this whole thing was even scarier, if you look back on my first few post, you would see that I would ask for help sometimes even in the middle of the night, but I blindly trust your judgement and willing to do whatever, even if it is uncomfortable for me for a while


Hi Maria! We are not going to let Corky get into dangerous numbers. First, let me mention one thing, when you say +10 I think you are meaning 10 p.m. o’clock, right? I’m hoping I can explain this properly. In your case, +10 would actually be at 4 a.m. in the morning! Because your shot time is at 6 p.m., ten hours after that would be 4 a.m. So I think what you are trying to say is that by ten o’clock in the evening you test Corky and you are worried and get really anxious about his blood glucose levels? Is that right? I think you had a scary experience with Corky in the past and you still get really frightened for him.
 
It’s not stupidity. I can understand how the Libre alarm going off all the time would be frightening. You are dedicated to Corky and Coco. I admire that very much. He hasn’t been anywhere near hypoglycemic numbers for a long time and we are going to take very special care of him and be very careful with doses. You take care of the hard part— that is all the testing and feeding. You can do this.
 
I’m so glad you can read between my lines and gibberish that’s exactly what I meant to say yes, I want so desperately to be able to relax about his 10PM test that drives me insane I am sleep depredated, and I am not even a big sleeper I just don't sleep well when he deeps that low,
and actually you have been the only one that has been there for me and actually understand my stupidity at times and ease me thru it. Corky and Coco are the world to me, my family only family, and I don't want to fail him. and yes that FreeStyle2 monitor scared the craps out of me every single night for almost 2 months every night detecting low, low BG's and being new to this whole thing was even scarier, if you look back on my first few post, you would see that I would ask for help sometimes even in the middle of the night, but I blindly trust your judgement and willing to do whatever, even if it is uncomfortable for me for a while
It’s not stupidity. I can understand how the Libre alarm going off all the time would be frightening. You are dedicated to Corky and Coco. I admire that very much. He hasn’t been anywhere near hypoglycemic numbers for a long time and we are going to take very special care of him and be very careful with doses. You take care of the hard part— that is all the testing and feeding. You can do this.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I’m so glad you can read between my lines and gibberish that’s exactly what I meant to say yes, I want so desperately to be able to relax about his 10PM test that drives me insane I am sleep depredated, and I am not even a big sleeper I just don't sleep well when he deeps that low,
and actually you have been the only one that has been there for me and actually understand my stupidity at times and ease me thru it. Corky and Coco are the world to me, my family only family, and I don't want to fail him. and yes that FreeStyle2 monitor scared the craps out of me every single night for almost 2 months every night detecting low, low BG's and being new to this whole thing was even scarier, if you look back on my first few post, you would see that I would ask for help sometimes even in the middle of the night, but I blindly trust your judgement and willing to do whatever, even if it is uncomfortable for me for a while
If you haven’t already then go to bed. It’s after 11. I see you tested Corky and he is in yellow. No worries. Rest peacefully. Tomorrow is another day.
If you haven’t already then go to bed. It’s after 11. I see you tested Corky and he is in yellow. No worries. Rest peacefully. Tomorrow is another day.

One last question to round all my concerns: IF Corky's BG on the PMPS dose in under let's say 120- or even in the 2 digits would I follow the ProZinc rule not to dose or yours Suzanne to dose less that 1.25u? I also noticed When I went to fill the syringe I had filled the cup with different sysinges, 1-2-3-4-5- very thin and longer needle, I might of dosed a bit less, by error, I filled it to the 1 line + a bit more, was that right?
 
I’m so glad you can read between my lines and gibberish that’s exactly what I meant to say yes, I want so desperately to be able to relax about his 10PM test that drives me insane I am sleep depredated, and I am not even a big sleeper I just don't sleep well when he deeps that low,
and actually you have been the only one that has been there for me and actually understand my stupidity at times and ease me thru it. Corky and Coco are the world to me, my family only family, and I don't want to fail him. and yes that FreeStyle2 monitor scared the craps out of me every single night for almost 2 months every night detecting low, low BG's and being new to this whole thing was even scarier, if you look back on my first few post, you would see that I would ask for help sometimes even in the middle of the night, but I blindly trust your judgement and willing to do whatever, even if it is uncomfortable for me for a while



One last question to round all my concerns: IF Corky's BG on the PMPS dose in under let's say 120- or even in the 2 digits would I follow the ProZinc rule not to dose or yours Suzanne to dose less that 1.25u? I also noticed When I went to fill the syringe I had filled the cup with different sysinges, 1-2-3-4-5- very thin and longer needle, I might of dosed a bit less, by error, I filled it to the 1 line + a bit more, was that right?
I am not sure about the syringe question. You seem to have several different types of syringes. I would have to see a photo. @Shelley & Jess?
 
One last question to round all my concerns: IF Corky's BG on the PMPS dose in under let's say 120- or even in the 2 digits would I follow the ProZinc rule not to dose or yours Suzanne to dose less that 1.25u?

The ProZinc dosing guidelines are good for people to follow in the beginning m, but as data is gathered through testing, we can customize them. The goal is to be able to shoot lower preshot numbers as we test and find how he responds. The guideline at first is to not shoot below a 200 preshot test, I believe — well, it says to post for assistance. You have already shot below 200 and much less. So we are gradually working on knowing how much to give Corky when he has a lower than expected preshot number.
 
I am not sure about the syringe question. You seem to have several different types of syringes. I would have to see a photo. @Shelley & Jess?

1-2-3-4-5-

3/10 cc (.3ml) U40 syringe with full unit markings
upload_2023-12-16_2-58-33.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-16_2-58-33.png
    upload_2023-12-16_2-58-33.png
    164.2 KB · Views: 375
I saw Corky’s spreadsheet today. He’s having another great cycle. I just wanted to check in and make sure you were not scared for him. He is very safe. Hopefully you gave one of his small meals at +6. He should hopefully keep surfing in green for a while before going back up to blue.
 
I saw Corky’s spreadsheet today. He’s having another great cycle. I just wanted to check in and make sure you were not scared for him. He is very safe. Hopefully you gave one of his small meals at +6. He should hopefully keep surfing in green for a while before going back up to blue.

Ye Suzanne I am very happy and easing off on this cycle. and a small meal on +6, we are doing great,Thank you.:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Defenately, I am happy, and so is he that I’m not over him every hour or so, I get used to changes quit quickly, this one was a tough one but I’m more at ease now to see he’s getting the color he needs to be safe, I was amazed this AMPS, don’t know if you noticed I did dosed him /25u less on last nights PMPS and it worked you are the best I am learning so much from you and your kindness to check on my Corky is so sweet. You give me the confidence I needed. I’m very confident but this diabetes thru me off a loop:bighug::cat::cat:
 
Defenately, I am happy, and so is he that I’m not over him every hour or so, I get used to changes quit quickly, this one was a tough one but I’m more at ease now to see he’s getting the color he needs to be safe, I was amazed this AMPS, don’t know if you noticed I did dosed him /25u less on last nights PMPS and it worked you are the best I am learning so much from you and your kindness to check on my Corky is so sweet. You give me the confidence I needed. I’m very confident but this diabetes thru me off a loop:bighug::cat::cat:
It’s okay. I see that you are gaining confidence. That is so good! But please keep checking in here with questions or concerns or just to tell us how Corky is doing!
 
And yes, I noticed how last night you gave 1 unit with only a small reduction. I was proud of that. It looks like he probably would have been okay with the regular dose though.
 
And yes, I noticed how last night you gave 1 unit with only a small reduction. I was proud of that. It looks like he probably would have been okay with the regular dose though.

what do I do for the PMPS dose??? so I'll hold off the dose until I test him and feed him?? low carb as usual?
 
@CORKY you are concerned about his PMPS? Let’s wait and see where he is a 6 p.m. Eastern, okay? Then we will decide. Promise to post here and don’t stress out about it. Okay?
 
One week ago in the evening cycle, you gave the full 1.25 unit dose and Corky did well. You have basically the same number tonight. I believed Corky will be safe if you feed his regular low carb and shoot the 1.25 dose.
 
One week ago in the evening cycle, you gave the full 1.25 unit dose and Corky did well. You have basically the same number tonight. I believed Corky will be safe if you feed his regular low carb and shoot the 1.25 dose.
We'll do if he spirals down crazy at his 11:30PM small meal I'll just throw in a few dry pellets, is that ok? you are the best, thank you so so much I'll post his outcome:bighug::cat::cat:
 
We'll do if he spirals down crazy at his 11:30PM small meal I'll just throw in a few dry pellets, is that ok?
I don’t know what you mean by spirals down. Please feed him small amounts of food. Let him eat now. If you want, give a teaspoon LC at +1, again at +2 and again at +3. Look at how much he went up by PMPS time. Can you start recording in the notes/comments section of his spreadsheet what you are feeding and when? That would help us to see how he responds to food.
 
I don’t know what you mean by spirals down. Please feed him small amounts of food. Let him eat now. If you want, give a teaspoon LC at +1, again at +2 and again at +3. Look at how much he went up by PMPS time. Can you start recording in the notes/comments section of his spreadsheet what you are feeding and when? That would help us to see how he responds to food.

I fed 2 TSP of LC and just tested and is 361????:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
2 tsp of his FF seafood soft food I always add water it was left over from 6pm meal in the fridge
Okay. So if he has had nothing but LC all evening, then I think he may just be starting a bounce from his long string of greens today. Don’t worry. He doesn’t usually stay high for too long.
 
Okay. So if he has had nothing but LC all evening, then I think he may just be starting a bounce from his long string of greens today. Don’t worry. He doesn’t usually stay high for too long.

you think it might go higher?? Should. Still feed his 11:30pm small meal??
 
I would say it’s okay to feed him that small LC meal if he’s hungry— if not, don’t worry about it.
Again thank you for being here my heart is pounding, but I’ll just give him like a tsp as Well do with Coco they are usually hungry by then, I have them on an ever 6-7 hours schedule 4x a day two reg and two small
Have a good week :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Again thank you for being here my heart is pounding, but I’ll just give him like a tsp as Well do with Coco they are usually hungry by then, I have them on an ever 6-7 hours schedule 4x a day two reg and two small
Have a good week :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Don’t worry! Corky is doing so well.
 
Starting the morning alright, I thought his BG was going to be in the +400 waking up, he threw up, some yesterday and this morning, I think is the meat FF that upset his stomach, I gave him 1ml o elixir paregoric, it's for upset stomach and digestion very mild, I used to give to my teacup yorkie, she passed away at the age of 16, she was so tiny and gorgeous she died in her sleep but this paregoric always worked.it also works on my babies, hopefully today we will get back on track
:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Also, I did not see any replies to my posts on your thread yesterday where I laid out a feeding schedule for Corky (although I did hear from several other members who wanted to know more about feeding schedules for their kitties.)

Did you see those messages. I spent quite a bit of time trying to help you. Today, did you give Corky the +2 snack? If we need to (based on his numbers) we can adjust that snack to be 30 minutes earlier. But we need to see how Corky's numbers will do on the feeding schedule that I laid out yesterday in your thread. I do not recommend feeding Corky after +6 except for those little treats when you test him, the +7 or eight feedings are too late for him and I believe you said it was half a can of food, and that is just too much for that time of day

Yes I did read it thanks, We discussed dose reduction and you strongly suggested not to, so I took your advise, of course, no increase or reduction until you feel is needed. :bighug::cat::cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top