Willow almost hypo: AMPS 129 / +3 56 / + 5 53 / +6 60 / +9 95

cabreu

Member Since 2020
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ine-amps-592-4-234-7-61-9-90-pmps-120.240167/

Willow started taking cabergoline this week and the effects are noticeable! Hypo was avoided today with gravy after +3 and +5, but I'm not sure how much to reduce tonight's dose in order to sleep peacefully. I am thinking of going down to 8 units but still am not sure if this will be enough of a reduction. Overnight testing is hard for me, although I can set an auto-feeder. Any tips appreciated.
 
You are also seeing the effects of a 10 unit depot. The larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. One way to help drain the depot is to intentionally do what we call a BCS (big chicken shot) or 1/2 dose for one cycle, then continue with the regular reduced dose the next cycle. So maybe tonight do that 1/2 dose, so you can sleep, then go to a new regular lower dose, maybe 9 units? tomorrow. Or try 8.5. At this point, listen to your gut. Then revise upwards if that doesn't work.
 
You are also seeing the effects of a 10 unit depot. The larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. One way to help drain the depot is to intentionally do what we call a BCS (big chicken shot) or 1/2 dose for one cycle, then continue with the regular reduced dose the next cycle. So maybe tonight do that 1/2 dose, so you can sleep, then go to a new regular lower dose, maybe 9 units? tomorrow. Or try 8.5. At this point, listen to your gut. Then revise upwards if that doesn't work.
Thanks for the tip Wendy! I will do 5 units tonight.

Knock on wood that Willow does as well as Marvin, but I'm still amazed at his SS. The reductions are very sudden-- going from 6 units to 1 unit (and even then alternating with no shot) within a week! I'm not sure if my gut can guide me there! Whatever they did worked though, and he didn't even go hypo! Did he just stop needing/noticing the insulin?
 
Marvin was unusual, but also the first kitty we saw here on cabergoline so we didn't know he was unusual until later. :p He basically just kept on earning reductions until he needed none. He stayed off insulin, but sadly passed a few years later due to a heart condition. But until then, apparently it was like Nat had her old cat back. :) Nat didn't do it on her own, she posted for help. And if she had to go to work or be out of the house, she skipped or did a reduced dose to make sure he was safe.
 
Marvin was unusual, but also the first kitty we saw here on cabergoline so we didn't know he was unusual until later. :p He basically just kept on earning reductions until he needed none. He stayed off insulin, but sadly passed a few years later due to a heart condition. But until then, apparently it was like Nat had her old cat back. :) Nat didn't do it on her own, she posted for help. And if she had to go to work or be out of the house, she skipped or did a reduced dose to make sure he was safe.
How unusual was Marvin? Was it the speed he went to remission, or the effect of cabergoline overall? I'm hoping Willow will follow in his pawsteps, and I agree that even a few years left with my old cat would be great!
 
We've had 3 cats go into remission from cabergoline. 1 sadly passed not long after from cancer. :( The other one I don't know, her caregiver wasn't a regular poster. The other two also took longer to go down the dosing scale. For Marvin, it was how quickly his dose was reduced that was unusual.
 
Back
Top