DumpsterKittyMom said:
Spot's double digit reading - 75, was after 4 shots of insulin (I did not realize it was cumulative) Fri nite 3U -- sat am 3U -- sat nite 3U & sun am 3U. Sunday was really his 1st full day of eating.
I believe he was in ketosis because of not eating for so long, but I'm still trying to get another ketostix reading... he's become 'pee shy' LOL.
If you see me either repeating myself, or not answering, please forgive me. I am trying to read and absorb and re read and..... well try to remember how you were when your kitty was 1st diagnosed. It is a lot to swallow.
My 17 yo (avatar) requires a lot of attention too, and now that Spot is feeling better, it is a constant battle of 'who can get Mommy's attention the most".
thanks for the correction on the number of shots given. i'll fix it on my other post.
the action of the two long-acting insulins, lantus and levemir, is cumulative. *usually* we hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days to see what the dose can actually do... unless there are indications a reduction is needed because the dose was set too high or kitty drops below 50 OR an dose increase is needed because numbers are high and flat or in the presence of ketones.
you can read more about the Tight Regulation Protocol here:
Protocol: Tight Regulation with Lantus®or Levemir® for Diabetic Cats.
the American Animal Hospital Association guidelines can be viewed here:
AAHAD Diabetes Management Guidelines for Dogs and Cats.
this is definitely overwhelming... especially at first. you've also been under pressure to get spot to eat coupled with the threat of ketones. it becomes exhausting both physically and emotionally. we understand. in spite of that you're doing great! how's his appetite today? hope he's eating well and on his own.
DumpsterKittyMom said:
BG is 281. I'm thinking about slightly lowering it to 2 1/2 U. I went thru some charts and it looks like his average weight is 23 lbs.
Does anyone have any thought on this?
How often should I be testing his BG?
BG is 281. how many hours after the shot did you get the 281?
lowering the dose to 2.5u sounds reasonable to me, but let's see what kind of results you get on the next ketone test before adjusting the dose.
as far as how often to test goes... you'll have to let the numbers be your guide. you'll want to get random spot checks done to give you an idea where his numbers are headed in that cycle. for example, a +2 with lantus (test taken 2 hours after the shot) will often provide a clue. if the +2 is around the same or lower than the preshot number chances are you'll be looking at an active cycle. an active cycle means that you could see a substantial drop. in that case you may want to test every couple of hours until the numbers begin to rise again. if you post your test results there are many who can help guide you until you get the hang of things.
since we have members from all over the world and we live in different time zones we speak in what we call "plus hours":
amps = preshot number taken in the morning just before the shot
+1 = test taken 1 hour after the shot
+6 = test taken 6 hours after the shot
+9 = test taken 9 hours after the shot... and so on
pmps = preshot number taken n the evening just before the shot
each cycle has 12 hours in it.
edited to add: wow! that's quite a cat pole for such a handsome guy! :mrgreen: