Wider swings with insulin than not

Status
Not open for further replies.
Agreed! :)
If it is black we stick to the 1 drop, same as we did tonight, right?

His urine output must've increased, he had litter on his toes tonight, he hates that...poor guy. Of to napland for the next 5 hours :)
 
Alright, interesting, he was at 187 at 6:00. I had to feed him, he started his usual mischief about 4:30 am...so he must be feeling good!

I gave him his 1 drop of insulin...why don't these insulin mfg's make "drop pens"?? :)
 
KKL said:
...I gave him his 1 drop of insulin...why don't these insulin mfg's make "drop pens"?? :)

Well ... they do, but they are glass lab barreled equipment, reusable, and require an autoclave to reuse. In other words, expensive, not easily available, and breakable.
 
I do have friends that work in the healthcare industry that have an autoclave? BUT I have nerve issues in my hands (neck issues) and I drop things, so glass is bad :(

He's at 160 as of 8:15 am (+2)
 
Good morning! He is looking good today.

I was thinking about you though last night and I wonder if you really are giving 0.1? Here are some pics.. But it doesn't matter as long as you are consistent .. We will see how the one drop goes!

01unit-1.jpg


someinsulin-1.jpg



Also can you get a +4 or +5 today? Want to see how low he goes...

They tend to pee more when over the renal threshold for any length of time (around 270) so the peeing is a result of yesterday's blacks and reds.
 
Morning!
I am headed out onto the road today soon...I won't be home until probably late afternoon. But I can give you a +3 before I leave. I will also give him a "wet food snack" before I head out.

I am not sure that it's even 0.1 unit either. Unfortunately the "0" line on all my syringes is off and that line yields a different amount with each one...GRR...so depressing the plunger has been the only thing giving me consistent amounts...it is a small drop, but seems to be doing something...whereas what I was giving him before was not very consistient...no matter how hard I tried to measure it the barrels and hubs are too different :(
 
I have the same issue with bailey, and call it "one drop".. Sometimes it's enough!

+3 is good and maybe a test when you get home if its more than two hours before PMPS. Maybe leave some food out when you are gone since it looks like it could be an active cycle.


Wendy
 
Ok he is at 136 +3....do you think it is safe to leave him for a few hours? Can't really leave food out (other than dry food) because of the other two vultures :(

I could give him a higher carb treat now...but that might skew things...what do you think? Its almost 930 now, won't be home until at least 4 pm....
 
He will probably be fine but maybe give him a single HC treat to bring him up a little just in case. And test when you get hom eat 4pm.

Wendy
 
Alrighty, he's at 180 at 4pm. I left before you responded so I had given him a small handful of his dry food and 4 HC treats, I figured better safe than sorry. But, this does leave us on track to inject at 6 in another 2 hours as long as he stays above 150, right?
 
Yep at his normal shot time, test him and shoot and feed if over 150. If less than that then stall and come here and ask for help.
 
He ended up shooting up to 487 by PMPS, even after being 180 two hours before. I am guessing this is due to the handful of dry food I gave him when I panicked before I left. At any rate, I fed and gave him his 0.1 drop at 6:20+/-.
 
Could be.. or could have dropped low during the day and "bounced" off it. He seems to bounce quite often when he hits a green in the 60s. ie the 22/23rd june. Anyway can you get a +3?

Bouncing:

When a cat is first diagnosed, the blood glucose has probably been high for a while. As the insulin starts to take effect and numbers start to come down, the liver has to learn to adjust to the lower numbers. We call this "liver training school". But before it relearns that low numbers are ok, when the BG drops to a number lower than the liver is accustomed, or if BGs drop low, or if the BG drops suddenly, the liver”panics” and reacts by releasing counterregulatory hormones and glucagon. This drives the BG back up. This is what we call a "bounce". Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear so we are generally careful about increasing doses during the bounce. Once the bounce clears, then you can see the "real" numbers and determine if the dose needs to go up or down
 
Yea, didn't help that I couldn't be home to see where he was...though I did give him a handful of the dry food which spikes him. Is there anything else I can offer to him to prevent that if I am not home? I have the other two scoundrels to worry about when it comes to leaving food out and Harley doesn't graze, he's seek and destroy with food :)

I can certainly give a +3 and even a +5, or would you prefer to see a +2 and +4?

What is the critical hour tomorrow after his 6am dose? After being slow with work the last two weeks I have another inspection tomorrow so I will have to leave the house by 9am or so and be gone again until 3pm or so.
 
A +3 would be good because you dont do a +3 very often and I am trying to fill up spaces on the chart. Depending on the +3 maybe we get a +5 or + 6.

Tomorrow morning lets get a AMPS and + 3 before you go and see where he is. He seems to nadir around + 6 so thats noon.. any chance you can pop home at lunch?

Otherwise maybe we have to do the same as today ( but say half the amount of dry food you gave?).


Wendy
 
AT +3 hes 453 :(

Grr regretting giving him that handful of dry food :*( I will test again at +6 and see where we are.

I will be about an hour away tomorrow so no. But I can try to coordinate to give it to him at 6, take it at +3 and again at +9.
 
He might be coming down a little but its slow so he might not be much lower at +6 so... I would skip the +6 and get a test somewhere between + 8 and +10 if you can. If not because you need to sleep then no worries the AMPS is fine.

Dont beat yourself up - this could also be a bounce. And be glad there isnt a black!

We wont know if its a bounce or not until you can be home one day when he is doing this. Be glad its not the other way round where he is low at night and you need to stay up for more tests ;)

Wendy
 
Good Point I have seen worse numbers!! :)
I don't sleep well, so I don't mind testing him at night...though I do worry more when I am on the road and can't test him :( I have been so slow with work that I had been able to monitor him well the last two weeks. Let me know what points you'd like to see and I'll try to fit them in :)
 
:) Try not to worry , although its not impossible, its unlikely he would have a hypo on such a low low dose. But ECID and he does look like he is a microdose cat.

Ok then a + 9 or +10 would be great. Again I am trying to fill in the blanks a bit.

When will you be home for the day again?

and what kind of dry is it that you have?

Wendy
 
I have to leave by 9:00-10:00 am and will be home somewhere between 3:00-4:00pm.

We have Blue Buffalo Basics Turkey/Sweet Potato dried food (that's what he used to solely eat). I gave him a handful of that AND 4 temptations treats. I tried buying him fancy low carb no grain freeze dried and jerky treats, he just turns his nose up at it and walks away BUT those unhealthy treats he goes nuts over...stinker :(
 
Whoops, yep, I was getting ahead of myself...I can do a +9 tonight then tomorrow a +3 and a +9 before PM feeding.

Yea, it's the weirdest thing, he loves dry food and his canned food but could care less about other foodstuffs...or healthy treats. He really doesn't care much for tuna either. What if I mixed a drop of Karo and a few dry kibbles with his wet food snack before I left?

Our other cat (hyperthyroid) will eat anything and by that I do mean ANYTHING...he will attempt to eat anything that he can fit in his mouth-whether he should or not....grapefruit, popcorn, melon, etc. He's nuts.
 
Wow you have your hands full with those two then ;)

Syrup brings them up fast but also wears off fast. Better off giving a little dry mixed with some low carb wet.

Ideally you pick up some medium carb food which you can put in a timed feeder that he will be able to access mid cycle... Or freeze it and let it slowly defrost.. Assuming the other cat doesn't eat it before he does.

Later on you might be able to give a temptation treat as a reward for testing but we need to work out first if that spikes his blood sugar and by how much.. Some cats are very carb sensitive.
 
That is my guess (that he could be carb sensitive). I will give him 1/3 of the dry food I gave him today (no treats though) mixed in with some wet food before I leave tomorrow morning.

I will have to get 3 timed feeders. Granted Harley is the "boss" but his minions will want food too...and with Smokey's history of crystals and Allergen's history of Hepatic Lipidosis (which Harley has a history of too) I feed them all the same wet food because we've had good luck with it not disrupting their individual balances when they play musical bowls. We mostly put them in separate rooms to eat (mostly to make sure Harley gets his full ration) but they always have to see what is left over in who's bowl.

I'll report back at +9 with a reading! :)
 
Just like Goldilocks! This one is too dry. This one has too much water. This one is just right.
 
Haha, yes that is Harley! :)

Alrighty, I got a +6 reading of 406...I did give him a spoonful of wet food as a "snack" just now too (that does seem to drop his BG some)

I will try to get up in a few hours (3am) to get a reading...but didn't sleep well last night so we'll see :) Either way I'll be up for his 6am test/reading...
 
Eh I wouldnt bother.. hes coming down but its slow. He probably will be yellow at best tomorrow morning - if he is mid to high yellow or above I dont know if I would give the dry either - maybe some wet and couple of temptations treats before you leave.

If he drops after food thats a good sign that his pancreas is still working! Very optimistic.

Wendy
 
Ok, he's at 430 as of 6am AMPS...I'll check back in with either a +2/+4 or +3 before I leave...
 
That's my gut feeling too...I suspect he might be very carb sensitive and he hadn't had that much dry matter in well over a month...I think his system went nuts with it.
 
+3.5 he's at 331, headed out...gave him some wet food and will test when I get back home.
 
He's at 420 at +10....will test again in 2 hours at PMPS...but I am guessing we will definitely be doing his shot. Just wish I hadn't given him all that dry food yesterday....
 
Don't think it's the dry.. A bounce can last up to 72 hours.. Let's wait for it to clear and go from there. Hopefully soon.
 
Yes let's give it the full three days. Now if he is still high then we can discuss an increase. On June 30th you gave 0.2.. Can you get a dose between that one and the one drop?
 
I am going to have to play for consistency. I am sure the 1 drop is maybe 1/2 to 1/4 of the 0.2. I may have to be creative to increase :)
 
Ok time to start playing with a syringe and some food coloring and a white surface to see if you can get an in between dose ;) maybe play with the firmness at which you press the plunger.. Or by twisting the plunger..
 
Then it was a bounce.. Let's see how low he goes. You may be dealing with a low preshot again tomorrow morning.. U in work?
 
Alrighty, how often do you want me to track him? We are due to go over to a BBQ tomorrow afternoon (we were supposed to be out of town this week but cancelled due to Harley). Otherwise I am working from home in the morning, also my husband has off Friday even if I have to go on the road in the morning.
 
You know I don't even know your name?!

Tonite can you get a +5?

Tomorrow lets see where he is preshot. Keep with the one drop though for now. Usual rules apply regarding shooting depending on preshot level.
 
It's Kris. From an older post.

Re: HELP is Lantus or new meter?? Give insulin or not

Postby KKL » Mon Jun 24, 2013 10:01 am

Oh SORRY :) It's Kris and thank you ALL for your help!! :)
 
Oh whoops, yes it's Kris :)
I can certainly do another reading at +5...

how do i handle pushing back or skipping
a shot if we get hung up in traffic tomorrow?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top